ZTH MINI Club!

• Thread starter skyline86
  • Start date
  • Replies 3K
  • Views 264K
volvo,

yes you better get it soon i guess.

I have a 9 row oil cooler installed in my car.

fastclubman

Does the oil cooler help to reduce the temp ?? where did you installed it ?? the front at the back of the grill ?? by the way your mini airconditioning ?? where you installed your aircon condenser ?? someone suggest to me to have the condenser installed at the back next to exhaust area, can't seem to get it visualise...anyone here done it ??? where is the usual place to put the condenser lar..

volvo740modified said:
Does the oil cooler help to reduce the temp ?? where did you installed it ?? the front at the back of the grill ?? by the way your mini airconditioning ?? where you installed your aircon condenser ?? someone suggest to me to have the condenser installed at the back next to exhaust area, can't seem to get it visualise...anyone here done it ??? where is the usual place to put the condenser lar..

my a/cond is very cool............my condenser put behind the front grille..........

volvo,

its mounted at the back of the grill. Yes it reduces the engine oil temperature but not so much for water temp. It helps but not a great deal. You only need an oil cooler if you do a lot of modification as higher compression and wilder cams tend to run your engine much hotter thus affecting the viscocity of the oil. This can cause gears being harder to engage as the oil has become too hot and thin. On a std 850, 998 or 1275 oil cooler is not required. The 1275 S came standard with oil cooler though but it had higher power output as well.

My mini is not air conditioned, thought about it but I am just kidding myself! I suggest you get a complete set from the japanese mini's as they will fit perfectly in the already tight engine bay. The condenser for this will be in the engine bay on the left hand side (facing the car). You will need to cut out some of the inner arch to fit the condenser and fan unit. I have seen condensers (other car's make) being fitted under the rear subframe but honestly this is not a good solution. Minis are already low and it is very susceptible to being punctured by stones and other debris on teh road.

fastclubman

Hi, clubman DF9818, thanks for your input, errrr do you have a pic of your engine bay so I can get a clearer idea of aircon condenser location of your mini...if you don mind lar...sorry to trouble

By theory if the engine oil gets cooler, the weter temp should by right reduce a bit if not drastically. I am aware of the mini water temp tend to boil during heavy traffic, that is why I am getting it ready ahead for my Mini project....

fastclubman... me too have the same thinking about the damage that the condensor is facing when put under the car.

volvo,

the water will not boil during heavy traffic. The water temp will go up a little but thats quite normal, but from my experience using standard engine this is not a problem at all as long as ur ignition timing and air fuel mixture is correctly set. Of course radiator condition and sometimes the type of fan used is a factor as well.

As this is a problem due to the lack of airflow into the radiator many of us fit a secondary fan (usually electric) on the outer side of the radiator ie on the inside of the wheel arch. This fan is usually switched on by a switch in the cockpit or some is thermostatically controlled. This helps to cool down the car especially during heavy traffic on a very hot day.

fastclubman

O I See..so the electric fan is a MUST lar...than I will hv to look for an electric fan as well. I just confirmed a piece of original mini wood steering from Japan at RM320 per steering, just need some sanding and new clear paint.

hey fastclubman ,

ask u something...ur interior..how much uput the carbon fiber ? at the door panel ? and where to fix it

mini_cooper,

cost me quite a bit, cant remember how much already. My previous mechanic had some contacts on some one who did cf stuff, thats how i got it. My mechanic is no longer running his own shop. Has moved on to a different type of work.

fastclubman

volvo740modified said:
O I See..so the electric fan is a MUST lar...than I will hv to look for an electric fan as well. I just confirmed a piece of original mini wood steering from Japan at RM320 per steering, just need some sanding and new clear paint.

not MUST la..............
i oso got install electric fan inside my LH fender...........but i never use it........even i go up 2 gotong jaya genting oso din water boil.............

hi volvo! on mine, temp was always going up and the installation of a secondary fan (RM80) inside the fender solved the problem. Or you could go the fastclubman way - install a big AD Resort radiator that is as wide as your front grill!

On the aircon front - err .... Mokey uses natural air! can't help you there!

I hope my Mini will not give me such headache as my experienced with my father perviously owned Woseley was bad...I will definately add a stronger fan from inside of the fander.

volvo740modified said:
So what is the secret to Clubman DF9818...a larger radiator ??? a good coolant may be....

secret???
haha.........dont have any secret la........all mine is just ori parts........

volvo740modified said:
I hope my Mini will not give me such headache as my experienced with my father perviously owned Woseley was bad...I will definately add a stronger fan from inside of the fander.

Hi volvo740modified

Do you still have the wolseley? Is it the Hornet version?

Running on 850cc engine rite (same with mini 850)?

Hi Guys

There are plans to organise a fun day for MINI ONLY (NEW MINI) trackday @ Sepang.

Date : To be advised. Subject to the consensus here and track availability.

Time: It will be a halfday event, either 9am to 12 pm, 1pm to 4pm or 4pm to 7pm.

Fees: RM250

Track preference: Would you prefer half track or fulltrack?

Minimum Participants required: 20 pax

Please take into consideration usually it will cost at least RM10,000.00 for halfday track rental AND even with 30 cars present not all will be on track at the same time therefore the track will practically be empty for you to try it out on your own if you so wish. This a great opportunity to drive in Sepang without pressure from other car makes 'cucuking' you.

If any of you interested, please indicate and i will try asking the organiser to add in the classic mini as well

Hi Guys

There are plans to organise a fun drive for MINI ONLY (New Mini) trackday @ Sepang.

Date : To be advised. Subject to the consensus here and track availability.

Time: It will be a halfday event, either 9am to 12 pm, 1pm to 4pm or 4pm to 7pm.

Fees: RM250

Track preference: Would you prefer half track or fulltrack?

Minimum Participants required: 20 pax

Please take into consideration usually it will cost at least RM10,000.00 for halfday track rental AND even with 30 cars present not all will be on track at the same time therefore the track will practically be empty for you to try it out on your own if you so wish. This a great opportunity to drive in Sepang without pressure from other car makes 'cucuking' you.

If any one interested please respond in this forum and i will try and ask the organiser to add in CLASSIC MINI