Your Idea of Improved Waja

alexz

Proton has proven that they can build good cars in savvy and satria neo. it seems proton old cars like the waja has missed out on the improvements. Supposedly there will be no waja replacement model in the near future, Proton should do a major facelift to the waja (something like what perodua has done with the kancil round light facelift). There are other car manufacturers like proton doesnt have lots of budget to put a new model every 5 years. Subaru is a good example. The new impreza, which was launched in 2001, was facelifted 3 times and there are no signs of a new one coming (unlike the evo).

So enough of those bashing and lets see what are your creative (and of course logical) ideas

let me get the ball rolling...

i would love to see a new front panels and lights, with a theme more intergrated with the gen2 and Satria Neo; new front and rear bumper. wheel arch add on cladding similar to the colt ralliart to add "curves" to the waja's flat sides. a new dashboard and interior if possible. and maybe a 1.8 mitsubishi engine to get it in par with the new civics and corollas. good quality (no more broken power windows) 1.8 improved waja with around RM68k price. Discontinue 1.6 versions as this would clash with the rumored "sedan" gen-2.

rollakid said:
i want to see factory FR units.. but i guess thats next to imposible..

yeah, maybe they can plonk in the rear floorpan of EVO 6 into the waja, and make it FR... maybe 150 units limited edition? << just my heart blurting out loud hehe

i don't expect much from them.

removing the 'trademark'ed hood nose at the grille would do.

yeah, the front could well use some facelift.... the suggestion given by alexz is very interesting and i should say those ideas may just might be able to increase the sales of wajas...

somehow i dun wanna let them too happy yet, praise them by just come out 2 car with so called ok, meet requirement or maybe good enough...this will make them too proud and stop at the current level forever dunno how to make improvement d....thats why i believe anything else there is alwiz still got the room to improve...

proton should had done a facelift for waja in 2002 or 2003, becoz that's the normal practise for any manufacturer to maintain strong sales. and by right, all new waja already replaced the old one at least this year. 6 years after introduction of old one in yr 2000.

maybe proton management had forgotten they have one model called waja in their stable. ha ha ha

anyway, other than Waja 1.8 and Waja EV, proton had introduced waja campro with minor dashboard revision.
recently, waja got minor cosmetic changes again - this time to the front and rear lamps. not a creditable effort though. waja is getting more and more boring.

front.jpg

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i317/loveplay/rear.jpg

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i317/loveplay/Copyofheadlamp.jpg

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i317/loveplay/Copyoftaillamp.jpg

First, sort out the build quality. Inside and out. C'mon, it is a family saloon car. People are carting their family aroud. The important things are 99.99% reliability, decent ride and decent performance with decent fuel economy with plenty of useful room.

Second, give a bigger engine option, either 1.8 or 2.0.

Third, get some guys who actually know design to give it a facelift. Not the idiots who did the original one.

Fourth, have clear separation between the Waja and Gen 2. Make the Gen 2 cheaper and the Waja slightly more expensive.

silverfish, you definitely got the third point correct and on the spot. No doubt about that. hehe...

kinda dun like de new waja backlights.. doesn look right wif de car.. i suppose backlights like those toyota vios has would look superb on waja.. besides tat proton should oso provide bigger n sportier rims for waja. since de car is big it would certainly look nicer wif bigger rims n lowered suspensions.. perhaps VIP styled car look alike then..

si|verfish said:
First, sort out the build quality. Inside and out. C'mon, it is a family saloon car. People are carting their family aroud. The important things are 99.99% reliability, decent ride and decent performance with decent fuel economy with plenty of useful room.

Third, get some guys who actually know design to give it a facelift. Not the idiots who did the original one.

Fourth, have clear separation between the Waja and Gen 2. Make the Gen 2 cheaper and the Waja slightly more expensive.
i do wish that they could let the public send in their dream waja's design, but ofcourse throw away all bat mobile design lar.. they could design one based on a trend the majority likes, or maybe just as a market research.

but then i'm also worry that proton will got lazy and mold all designs together, a rojak design.. proton waja + rojak = proton wajak :fear:

but then.. i really want a R3 waja, 150 FR turbocharged unit, and call it R3 drift-spec

We need keywords...
Reliability, Build Quality, Fuel Efficency, Comfortable, good ride..

rollakid said:
but then.. i really want a R3 waja, 150 FR turbocharged unit, and call it R3 drift-spec
possible.... as a prototype car.... if make it in production to sell it in market, kinda hard ler.... u know la, proton.... never expect them to jump so high.... i'm already impressed with the NEO quality.... and that quality is jz a basic requirement for other non-national car standard....

si|verfish said:

Great ideas there and i was also thinking along similar ideas.

Proton need to have clear differences between its models. Maybe facelift waja with bigger (and more reliable than the previous 1.8 renault) engine than the gen2 and position it as an elantra, corolla or civic (cheaper)alternative. Leave gen2 and its proposed sedan variant below 1.6 and as a vios and city alternative.

I love the way subaru facelifted the GDB impreza. Same chassis with very different exterior look during every facelift. Proton should take some cues form that IMO.

And of course without saying that quality of the car is very important and the lack of it is clearly it is the most noticable complains of the current waja.

its not diffcult for proton to change the grille and bumper design.

to make the car as different as it shoud be, proton should give the waja a new nose job(bumper, grille, headlamp and/or bonnet)

redesigned bootlid with number plate located in the bumper. taillamp...maybe rounded type ala skylines

if cant provide bigger engine then at least charge it. choose either turbo or super to produce similar power output of 1.8

alexz said:
Great ideas there and i was also thinking along similar ideas.

Proton need to have clear differences between its models. Maybe facelift waja with bigger (and more reliable than the previous 1.8 renault) engine than the gen2 and position it as an elantra, corolla or civic (cheaper)alternative. Leave gen2 and its proposed sedan variant below 1.6 and as a vios and city alternative.

I love the way subaru facelifted the GDB impreza. Same chassis with very different exterior look during every facelift. Proton should take some cues form that IMO.

And of course without saying that quality of the car is very important and the lack of it is clearly it is the most noticable complains of the current waja.
And that's only the tip of the iceberg. Proton has serious problems with product placement. A lot of their OWN products compete/overlap with each other in terms of pricing and even in terms of target customers. They need to identify which model appeals to what price bracket and market segment and stick with that. There should be clear separation between them.

So other than creating a bigger gap between the Waja and Gen 2, they need to do something about the old warrior the Wira. Either drop it entirely (something they should have done to the ancient Saga a long time ago) or use it to replace the Saga as the budget family saloon.

Write your reply...