Yahoo Messenger ver 8.1

satria_95

I downloaded it. Was thinking to install it but something made me cancelled the installation.

When I tried to Custom Install it, I am NOT allowed to choose which folder to install it to. It will default the installation directory to c:\program files\yahoo messenger. I want to install it at another folder.

Does anybody know how to make it such that I can choose which folder to install it to? Any experiences? Thanks.

And I can't find answers or find the messenger help support e-mail too. Just as technology improves, support becomes a piece of shit.

erm after u install , cut and paste the folder to the folder u wanna install in initialy ?

infernal,
I don't think that will work because microsoft application installations will involve the registry. sigh.... i dislike applications that doesn't allow personal selections of installation directories.

no need to worry bout installation registry , id even successfully copy and past few GBs of data - counterstrike game ar not porn from 1 pc to another.oh goodtimes - refering to counterstrike game ar like how cybercafes do it lol.

btw forget bout the registry and just do it lol.

same thing right ? ur just shoving it to the right place after installation , its already in ur registry , but in ur desired folder

infernal,
Sometimes, the application work when being copied like this. Some yes, some no. So I'd rather just stick to what I have now and NOT install YM8. haha

So, anyone has been using it until now? I'm sticking to the v7.0 because 7.5 and 8.0 seemed to have problems with stealth mode. I do made a group for some annoying friends. It turned out that they can see me even I set them as permanently offline.. lol. Reverted back to v7.0 and it works just fine.

well, I can't still get a fix for the custom folder installation so I'm just sticking to v7.5

Here's what I think... you can do this manually

1. Install the new ym8.1 normally.. as the installation directory would be 'c:/program files/yahoo...' till complete
2. Copy the whole ym folder to all new folder that you desired
3. Go to .. start menu > run
3. Type 'regedit' in the 'run' typebox.
4. Once registry editor windows is opened.. press control+F .. search for 'yahoo' and rename every single registry key that has 'c:/program files/yahoo...' to the new chosen directory. Press F3 to find the next key.
5. After finish, check again whether you've change everything.
6. Try to run YM

p/s - do at ur own risk. I never do it and I oso want to know the outcome.. l bet you got the time.. lol..

Dremel,
I thought of that too but somehow, since windows is not all that stable, I figured I'd not do it that way. Plus, when I want to uninstall it, there'll be problems because the uninstall log files are pointing to the original "meant to be installed in folder" locations are there. So it'll look back for it's original locations. hehehe Mar fan ler... hehe