Which better to mod

so...if wanna change engine so better prefer supercharger ar?
supercharger & 20v wif wan better?
any opinion?

I using supercharge.also had test wif vtec.also menang not far.but wif 20v aar..many tiang wo..

Originally posted by dreamy@Jan 6 2005, 19:01
so...if wanna change engine so better prefer supercharger ar?
supercharger & 20v wif wan better?
any opinion?
depends pretty much on you. Do you prefer more torque so you can burn rubber? or do you like to hear the engine screem at 10k rpm?(if you have the money for lighter engine internal that is...) :lol:

if you like the feel of g force when you accelerate, then supercharge will suit you more. Its easier for amature driver(like me) to go faster around the track or on the road since the power come pretty soon.

but if you have force-induction-phobia ( :ph34r: i made that one up myself), or you want to let the world know that 5" 12k rpm tacho isn't just for show, then 20v (or 16v na) is your only choice, not to mention they sound nicer with quad throttle (to some people).

for what i know, the more you mod the gze (with oversize puley and stock supercharger), the less you can rev; the more you mod an NA 4ag (be it 20v or 16v), the more you need to rev to get the power.

This is because the supercharger got its limit, the bigger the pulley the faster the supercharger will spin and reach its limit faster, thus slower the engine can rev for effective power.

The NA counterpart of 4ag can produce more HP than the supercharge, although less torque. With 16v 4ag goes as high as 240hp like the one used in formula atlantic (20v 4ag can't reach that high tho...). But you need camshaft with whoopin high duration, which mean you can forget about taking your gf to the shoping mall with it (and stuck in traffic jam). You probably won't get power under 6000rpm.

thats about what i understand, got few more point but any longer ppl will ignore my post. i'm no expert, still learning, so i could be wrong...

deciding which one to mod is up to one self, but if that doesn't concern you and your main priority is to tapau vtec, with 20v as MCSB engine and heavily tuned one don't have low end power, best bet.. i mean the only bet.. is to go for supercharge (or throw away the supercharger and pasang a big siput :lol: ). I don't see an easy way to beat a b16 engine with 4ag, unless they come up with a VVTLi 4ag.

if only honda are still using ZC engine then 4ag might still be able to beat them...

When we r using superchrage engines wat r the consequences we muz face ah?
Izit juz almost the same wif turbo engines? Or supercharge engine giv less problems? ;)

i understand jor thx rolla kid sifuzz
thx for ur opinion :lol:
it is a very long & very understanding topic u hav written...
yea...

Originally posted by dreamy@Jan 6 2005, 21:58
i understand jor thx rolla kid sifuzz
thx for ur opinion :lol:
it is a very long & very understanding topic u hav written...
yea...
:blink:
me not sifoo lar later real sifoo come see this i kena kau kau :ph34r: need 10 more years baru can become sifoo i think...

Originally posted by kher@Jan 6 2005, 21:36
When we r using superchrage engines wat r the consequences we muz face ah?
Izit juz almost the same wif turbo engines? Or supercharge engine giv less problems? ;)
compare to turbocharger, supercharger don't have lag, as i'm told, like the turbocharger will. this is because supercharger is running on belt, which mean the power is constant. Unlike the turbo, supercharger would start to pump air as soon as the engine is started, or normally at 1500rpm. Becasue you don't feel turbo lag like engine with the siput have, driving a supercharged car will fill like driving a car with a bigger engine.

turbocharge however, you won't feel the power if you only run your car most of the time under 2500rpm (like my dad, shift at 2000-2500rpm). Depend on the size of the turbine, some of them the boost will come quite early at 2000+rpm but some might need you to rev until 4000rpm. When the boost kick in, you will feel a sudden increase in g-force and the car feel damn more powerfull. i never drive one but i sit in some before.

another thing i know by reading some article online, and from some sifoo here in ZTH, is that there isn't too much thing you can do about the respondsiveness of a supercharged engine. changing to lightened flywheel won't do much good because the supercharger will still slow down the engine. ceremic coated gze piston is also a plus! since ceremic don't absorb heat well (i think), more power would be transfer to the turbocharger (if you dump the supercharger for the snail).

more than that about supercharger vs turbocharger is general information on automotive. can be easily find on the web. and thats pretty much all i know, more of that you have to page all the sifoo master in the forum already.

want to know more about supercharge or turbocharge go page for TE27levin he knows alot...

ask someone who own a supercharger and turbocharge car is better than asking those who don't own them. i only know the theory...

got any good links to read n learn bout superchargers or mainly on toyota supercharge engines??? ;)

those wif diagrams 1 like how i learnt bout turbocharger 2 years back in form 3.

tq sifus... :lol:

Today I have the opportunity to test drive an AE101 4A-GZE belonging to our member Shamburke.

Have to admit that I loved the Torque Pull specially at 2nd, 3rd and 4th gear. no delay in boosting delivery. Cun one.

pity that the 4A-GZE is having some problem with fuelling which I hope to be able to help Shamburke out.

I using supercharge.also had test wif vtec.also menang not far.but wif 20v aar..many tiang wo..
ahman, de vtec is ori, i know tat s.charger can get 20v easier, but i saw vtec bit my fren 3sgte, 1.5bar :o

4agze just something like u playing B16A. easy to get more power.
oversize cam pulley for higher boost is cheap.
bigger throttle body + custom intake to feed supercharge will free around 5hp some more.
upgrade intercooler more top end.
higher lift, duration cams is cheaper then 20v.

deeper wallet can sell the supercharge to those GTi and get turbocharge will make the engine scream.

u can put b16a at a side cos they will shot u, N/A vs FI not fair. but no replacement for deplacement, it will run 70/30 4AGZ/TE with B20B

20v will need more money for power.

Do u mean those 4A engines can be turbocharged also w/out changing the internal parts?

N do the 4A supercharged engines dealing VVTi or they're w/out that system?

Originally posted by kher@Jan 7 2005, 11:42
Do u mean those 4A engines can be turbocharged also w/out changing the internal parts?

N do the 4A supercharged engines dealing VVTi or they're w/out that system?
4agze do not need to change the internal, since you only change the way they pump in air. I'm told that the gze internal is perfectly safe for boosting under 300hp.

the standard 9.4:1 4ag from ae86, with malaysian's RON97 petrol, should be able to run a low boost, probably only a few psi. But thats theory, i dunno for sure but i sure won't recomend it. The piston is not forged and you will risk blowing your engine. and if you are to run 3psi to 4psi with it you better tune it in NA..

and i don't think 4agze deal with vvt.. they are only found on 20v