when to change rubber bushes?

sky : u shud let a experienced mech check out ur steering rack..coz hopefullly that's not the prob...coz if it is..habis.i tarak duit wanna change mine..:_:

Fluffy said:
sky : u shud let a experienced mech check out ur steering rack..coz hopefullly that's not the prob...coz if it is..habis.i tarak duit wanna change mine..:_:
i told the mech about the noise and ask him to try but he said cannot hear any noise... hmm, mayb that time problem was minor... now the sound getting louder and louder... gonna get it checked....

louder and louder?aikz.but if ur steering doesnt feel lose of shakey then i think u can rule out ur steering rack.

Fluffy,

My car's steering wheel is not shakey-shakey, but got a lot of free play. Why ar? izit becoz of worn bushing?

ken yeang said:
i think ppl normally change the bushing in sets, considering the labor can cost more that the bushing itself. It least that was what my mechanic adviced me the other day.......oso said that the replacement of bushing can last abt 10-15 years...again depends on the driving style lor...
Right, but I would like to know if it makes any difference in my ride noise and also how much will it cost me to change in sets(inclusive of labour charges)? :)

Fluffy said:
louder and louder?aikz.but if ur steering doesnt feel lose of shakey then i think u can rule out ur steering rack.
nope... no feeling lose or shakey... i guess jz some worn out bush lar... hopefully not steering rack problem... if not wallet bleeding....

ken yeang said:
Fluffy,

My car's steering wheel is not shakey-shakey, but got a lot of free play. Why ar? izit becoz of worn bushing?

a lot of free play mean ur steering cushion koyak already. My friend used to had this problem. Go buy this cushion at spare part shop for rm5/cushion (saga price) u need 2 cushions n its located at steering rack. u can DIY or send to mechanic for labor cost about rm10-15.

ntahapahapantah said:
a lot of free play mean ur steering cushion koyak already. My friend used to had this problem. Go buy this cushion at spare part shop for rm5/cushion (saga price) u need 2 cushions n its located at steering rack. u can DIY or send to mechanic for labor cost about rm10-15.

Uish!?? what's a steering cushion? I went to ask my mechenic and he said he donno le.......Can anyone tell me what is a steering cushion? izit the bushing becoz bushing is also another form of cushion, right?

wats rubber bushes anyway? one thing im sure is that i got the same problem too.. whenever i started my car, n turn my steerin wheel while cruisin slowly, the squeeky noise will be very loud! super irritating,anyone wats the problem im encountering here?

ken yeang said:
Uish!?? what's a steering cushion? I went to ask my mechenic and he said he donno le.......Can anyone tell me what is a steering cushion? izit the bushing becoz bushing is also another form of cushion, right?

emm u may call that type of bushing. if u ever change ur steering rack then u know u have to buy the cushion. its like the 'C' type rubber. i remember change mine for rm50/pair(sighhh.. daihatsu price always like that)

err try to go to other mechanic who know a lil bit more bout stering rack :_: .

i changed my engine bushing before, and it costs me around RM2k !! hahaha it's a mivec engine though, but i assume it's the same with other proton engines. After changing the bushes, no more vibrating from the car

umm.. talking about PU and rubber and all..

im dealing with OEM quality suspension parts.. frankly, rubber bushings are most suitable for daily used cars.. PU bushings are harder than ruber bushings. as u know, the harder the bushings are, the rougher ur ride is and the faster it'll wear off your suspension part joints. PU bushings were designed for racing and rally purposes where the suspension parts are sponsored to be replaced from time to time.. ;)

fyi.. suspension parts with rubber bushings averagely wear off about 3-5 years time after installation.. where the joints of the parts wear off about the same time as the bushings..

Weshen, what u say it true.....the downside of pu bushing is that it gives rougher ride, but pu bushing gives a sharper handling of the car.....

yeah.. if u are hardcore racer and stuff.. go for it.. i also suggest it.. but.. casual driving and comfort.. always choose RUBBER.. ;)
somehow explains why durex din make a PU series.. LOL..

lolz... PU for condom... long lasting... can use few times...

yah, for daily driving and comfort, get rubber bushes...
if performance where wear and tear is great, get PU ones...

hahahah...pu material for condom? Performance ensured, better control, sharper handling. *ahem*

garanteed satisfaction!!

well, 4x4 trucks last time used to show of the coloured bushing as the bushing can be easily seen from the jacked-up vehicles...