Whats the problems with Proton?

i've heard from a friend who's in one of those cawangan for car design in proton (not exactly proton, some sub-company of sorts). he said the deal between proton with lotus was "what's lotus, stays at lotus". thus the technology transfer and stuff can be said to be nil as we basically do not have a technology transfer thing going on. it's just that proton owns lotus, but lotus doesn't work for proton. that's why we see so little "lotus tuned" on proton cars. those models that were did tuned by lotus, might have been done on project basis. if lotus works for proton, do you think we'll only have "SUSPENSION TUNED BY LOTUS"? we'll be getting a freaking elise-looking four-seater neo-style car liao lorrrrr.....!!!

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/7/16/nation/14853750&sec=nation

crying for help eh ?

I think proton should just close shop and stop producing cars. just be service centers and parts centers. now they feel the suffering due to lack of quality control.

How can they be a car manufacturer while they can't even assemble a car properly?!
To me, they will be better of as a car assembler rather than a car manufacturer.

Proton : 20 years experience in Car Manufacturing. but still produce "SUCK n Problem" car in market. Somemore selling price very high. Gen 2 1.6AT_RM57K++, Kampro Waja_RM59K++

At thailand, 51K can get Honda City liao.

Honda City_510,000BhaT (RM51K), Bolehland city_RM80K (after giving G tax)
Jazz_530,000BhaT
Civic_760,000BhaT
CRV_760,000BhaT
Altis 1.6_700,000BhaT
Avanza_390,000BhaT
Wish_102,000BhaT
Sunny Neo(Sentra)_700,000Bhat

Closed shop lah proton.~ enough la

GTR2579 said:
Proton : 20 years experience in Car Manufacturing. but still produce "SUCK n Problem" car in market. Somemore selling price very high. Gen 2 1.6AT_RM57K++, Kampro Waja_RM59K++

At thailand, 51K can get Honda City liao.

Honda City_510,000BhaT (RM51K), Bolehland city_RM80K (after giving G tax)
Jazz_530,000BhaT
Civic_760,000BhaT
CRV_760,000BhaT
Altis 1.6_700,000BhaT
Avanza_390,000BhaT
Wish_102,000BhaT
Sunny Neo(Sentra)_700,000Bhat

Closed shop lah proton.~ enough la

i belive the thai gov accepeted the jap companies to build assembly plants there , hence the respective prices .

imagine proton did not existed and we had those companies set foot here . ill be most likely strike fear into the hearts of rempits driving one of those toyota pickups that common in thailand . lol

proton ah wat 2 say it is really S**K le as everythin bout the car are all useless as bolehland are really efficient of manufacturing cars...

ok guys, since u all talk a lot of bad things of proton, i hav a question 2 ask u all
"Did u own a proton?"
if u did, plz juz keep silence, y?
coz that means u onli can affort proton...
if u didn't, shout out all da way

people dont buy what they want. people buy only what they can afford. sadly, many people have been priced out of owning a quality car of any other make. i have owned an iswara, satria and waja but have since broken free from their stranglehold. would rather own an older 2nd hand honda than a new proton.

duck_killer99 said:
ok guys, since u all talk a lot of bad things of proton, i hav a question 2 ask u all
"Did u own a proton?"
if u did, plz juz keep silence, y?
coz that means u onli can affort proton...
if u didn't, shout out all da way

woot
guess u're a proud owner of not a proton?
i've got a story to tell...i told it earlier
my uncle has a Volvo XC90, CLK, and Alfa Romeo GTV
and he bought a proton perdana for his wife, and he's pissed with the perdana.
can afford other makes but decided to SUPPORT the malaysian brand, he's regretting it now.
u wana tell him to stuff it?

EcstacyElmo,
Let `im have it, dude! *noises of carrying and putting down heavy boxes* Here's more ammo. My quad-chamber twin-barrel mounted chain gun is on it's way. Make do with these ammo first. I'm going back to get the Apaches. muahahaha Oh yeah, and somebody borrow my trolley and didn't return it yet. Can't recall who was it la... hahaha

I thought silly empty headed non thinking bafoons are near non existent anymore cos most of the thread seems to be without them. Then suddenly, POOF, out comes one of them from dunno-where-he-come-from-also land. And to think this was going as a casual discussion thingy.

Duke Red said:
people dont buy what they want. people buy only what they can afford. sadly, many people have been priced out of owning a quality car of any other make. i have owned an iswara, satria and waja but have since broken free from their stranglehold. would rather own an older 2nd hand honda than a new proton.

My family owned a Saga when I was 3 and after that, no more national cars. I would rather buy a second-hand Japanese model at a cheaper price for it's reliability.

imoloq said:
My family owned a Saga when I was 3 and after that, no more national cars. I would rather buy a second-hand Japanese model at a cheaper price for it's reliability.

well, technically all protons are "secondhand" japanese cars! ha ha.

buck-7 said:
well, technically all protons are "secondhand" japanese cars! ha ha.

hahaha...come to think of it, you're right.

but after go tru proton dunno what happen, maybe the test driver simply drive, then easy to break down lol.

haha, i m also a proton owner, not 1 but 2....
ok, 1st thing i could say "onli can affort that price tat i willing 2 buy a new, but not 2nd hand"
2nd thing "i onli pay 4 RMXXk, and not expect 2 get the quality like benz, or even toyota or honda"
3rd thing "since i know proton is like tat, i still make da decision, one word 'affortable price'......"
guess wat, am i saying right??

duck, i don't think Proton cars are cheap. Why we feel its cheap & affordable because the government makes those imported cars' price sky high thus making it "look" expensive & unaffordable. Try to think like this, IF the government really decided to impose no tax for imported cars and Proton still sell their cars with the same price as now, you won't say its affordable & cheap.

The government is forcing ppl to buy Proton by making imported cars' price higher than KLCC....giving us less choices.

well, after the experience of buying a brand new proton in hopes of not having problems like a second hand car and talking to second hand car dealer friends, a second hand car does not have as much defects as a brand new proton.
of cos we dont expect the quality of a benz, not with that LOW a price for a brand new car. don't even expect such quality in a second hand car. but i would still be more satisfied knowing its a second hand car i like.
so that is why go around telling friends and the occasional person wanting to buy a car "SAY TAK NAK TO PROTON"
my gen-2 is 55k
i'd rather have used 10k on a beetle or some other reliable classic car, but hey, its my parents money right? so i have no say, all i can do is choose a car that they can pay off the loan easier. and not too cramped for me, but still regret.