WAP?GPRS?WiFi?

Aikz

as the world is changing and wireless technology is in the air...
handhelds such as handphones and PDAs are pretty handy...

i'm a noob to all this...

so would like to learn more bout
WAP and GPRS mainly :)

how does it function and how it works...how issit used on phones or PDAs

yups i know wat they r...but how r they being used on phones :)

can u stay connected online 24/7 via handhelps(PDA or mobile)?
how do telcos charge?

WAP n GPRS seems like the same thing...are they?

Basically WAP/GPRS are handphone specific protocols.
Bluetooth is a general purpose protocol.
WiFi is mostly associated with notebooks and pda.

Reasonw why WiFi is more exclusive to notebooks and pda's is because it eats up more battery power than WAP/GPRS/Bluetooth.

WAP and GPRS are quite similar protocols.
The more data you send/receive the more expensive you bill.
You can use it to surf the internet, not the normal internet but a handphone version as ZTH frames would be too big for a tiny phone screen. So you GPRS is bound to more mundane task like downloading Java games and content from your telco. Extra functions like user define menu's for Celcom XPAC.

Now think of Bluetooth as a bubble surround you, so any bluetooth device roughky in few meters radius from you can take advantage of any bluetooth device in that bubble. Okay lets say you're using the SE P900i and enable your bluetooth, now you can use your bluetooth hands free - without using wires, you can send a print command to a bluetooth enable printer on your desk from the photo album on your phone, you can send the same picture from your phone to your bluetooth enabled notebook and email it, and send to your collegue phone if he standing behind you. Thats the power of bluetooth. Wireless ease, but its range is limited and speed too.

Now enter Wifi, basically with one Wifi base in the center its coverage can handle a normal shop lot, be it a kopitiam or starbucks. Longer range, faster but uses more batteries. Can do everything Bluetooth does but since Wifi isn't compatible with most handphones you need Bluetooth as a go between sometimes. Example, your son screw up your wifi settings you cannot go online to ZTH in Starbucks, not to worry, you can enable Bluetooth on your notebook and handphone and surf ZTH at modem speed using your handphone either WAP/GPRS/modem mode.

Lets keep it simple and not talk about WI-Max and 3G ;)

thanks so much...it clears alot of things :)

so with PDA basically i can surf on HML type of markup lang sites...and how bout online programs such as MSN?
i've read on forums but dun really understand...the users states that they seem to be able to be connected thru their PDA almost 24 hours...i dun think its thruWiFi coz how bout when they go out...

thanks for all ur thoughs...it helped :)

wanna learn more bout PDA and how to maximise its uses :) researching whether if its worth getting one...not worth if i cant use all its functions and purposes...

MSN has a plugin you can use on your Symbian phone and PDA.
When you get online using this device MSN will show your status as "I'm mobile".

For ICQ / MSN / Yahoo on PDA / Smartphone / Pocket PC Phone - get AgileMessenger, a freeware! Cool stuff! :o

WAP and gprs is different.. GPRS is transmission like ethernet, WAP is like HTML.
thats why if u see in the telco brochures it says WAP over GPRS or WAP over edge. Its not the same thing.

Anyway. Bluetooth is for PAN or personal area network as mentioned handsgree, synchronizing contacts, simple stuff.

You will have problems with latency using via GSM modes or delays GPRS/EDGE. the response time is not fast. But the speed overall is decent. GPRS is like dialup modem speed. EDGE I spose is slightly faster.

Advantage of GSM/GPRS/EDGE connection is wider coverage at the cost of speed.
WIFI higher speed at the cost of coverage.
Bluetooth is for short distance communication.

It still boils down to.. do you need it? Most people don't really need these features. But if your work requires you to have access then its useful.

r'gards

Thanks for defining it further.

Yeah, most people don't need it.
Most people never buy a notebook solely because its got WiFi so he can use free internet at starbucks, most will use it normally and figure out how to use wifi later on and enjoy it. But its not a requirement.

still dun get it...sorry la blur :P

so how do PDA or PPC get connected online. I dun think its Wifi coz some places dun seem to have Wifi and some ppl can just stay online almost anywhere.And even for Wifi its not free to get connected anyway.Almost anywhere from TM to Airzed all also need pay.Mafan le.So is a PPC really useful in the getting online.
One of my main concerns before getting a PPC is online.how to and anything else about it.price?advantage?disadvantage?blah blah u name it.

very interested with PPC but dun wanna regret getting 1 coz its not cheap :)

WAP - Browser (can view online contents)
GPRS - Jaring / TM net access (only download / upload when needed)
WiFi - Wireless Streamyx (Very very fast connection)

For PDA, they normally use the following:

1. GPRS - either built-in (PDA-combo) or external device such as GPRS modem (mobile phone).

2. WiFi - either built-in (newer PDAs) or external card (SD / CF - older / cheaper PDA)

Think GPRS as broadband for your mobile phone or PDA. Those using Digi can enjoy high data rates via EDGE (also known as 2.5G).

erm so WiFi basically u need to be registed with an ISP rite tat provides wifi for tat area...like tat if u move around alot to a few places n all have different ISP must suscribe all lo...wah...mahalnya...

if use GPRS expensive lo...erm so MSN on a symbian (N6600) uses GPRS?

my opinions

wap= normal webpage-all the pics, everything in very short, simple words
gprs=56k modem on turbo boasted to 7bar, 7 times faster loh
wifi=suft the net with out wires

basically no point going online with gprs, expensive leh :(
if onli for im, good lah can receive every msg from any1, anytime, any where,
no need to scared no coverge, as long ur hp still can receive signal

my choise of im all day all night, use any phone with BT ie.
1.SE t68, the very 1 fon with bt
2. nokia 6600,6670,6230....
with PDAs with bt/bt adapter loh, than install mobile version of im software
viola, online alwayss :D

if go wifi, better stay home and suft with ur broadband
1st thing 1st, no need to scard no power
dont say, power failure lah :P

Originally posted by Aikz@Mar 1 2005, 19:17
erm so WiFi basically u need to be registed with an ISP rite tat provides wifi for tat area...like tat if u move around alot to a few places n all have different ISP must suscribe all lo...wah...mahalnya...

if use GPRS expensive lo...erm so MSN on a symbian (N6600) uses GPRS?
Not necessary.

WiFi is basically a local area network without the messy cables. Same as wired LAN... just no cables.

You don't really need an ISP unless you want to integrate a broadband connection (surf / browse wirelessly).

GPRS is expensive because it goes by usage (per kb - up / down).

Eg. Maxis is RM 0.015 (1.5 sen per kb).

If you use up to 5678kb, the charges would be a whopping RM 85.17!

MSN / ICQ via GPRS is OK... usage should be less than 100kb or up to 500kb for long chats).

erm so basically symbian users uses GPRS to use IM rite?
for bluetooth dun we need to have something so we can connect to the net or so...
sorry ya noob questions.

GPRS for Internet access yet but not BT.

BT is for connecting your phone to a PDA or laptop (BT-enabled). Treat BT as those sync cable that comes with the phone.

WiFi = radio-based version of wired LAN
BT = radio-based version of IrDA

i understand adi wap gprs bt wifi :)
thanks so much

so how does PDA connect or go online?
besides WiFi...or GPRS since its expensive...any other way...if BT it has to connect somewhere a PC or somethin rite...