vios owners! need help...

tks

guys! need your help...!

my dad just got himself a used '03 vios. Car was bought from TopMark in PJ, and because of this, the car has gone thru some sorta PDI from toyota itself. With this...i'm gonna assume everything about the car (esp engine wise) is tip top.

the car seems decently powerful when used for town driving...but when we take it on the highway...it seems pretty sluggish...
Say i'm doing 80km/h...i wanna accelerate away/overtake, i gotta wrestle with the gas pedal just to get it going. Is the car just like this? or is there something wrong? engine and gearbox was seviced b4 release, along with other things i requested for (wheel bearings, brake pads, alignment...)

need your opinions...thx in advance! :)

I thought Auto is always like that one ??? the throttle always more than manual. I've not driven super cars auto, so I don't know.

AFAIK auto cars have always been at a BIG disadvantage when it comes to acceleration ... from 80kmh onwards oso same laaaa ... unless u wanna trash the GB by manually downshifting laaa ... heheheheheheheeee ... or unless u are driving a nice BIG 3.0 and above lorrr ... :P

i get what u guys mean, and i dont disagree. the performance was kinda...er...worrying...it is a used car after all. But if u guys think its alright for the vios to be this way then...i'm relieved! haha

now...how can i make it go faster...? heh :cool: I've never sen any modded VIos around...cosmetic (dress-up) mods, yes, but engine wise, never seen yet. any comments?

tks said:

now...how can i make it go faster...? heh :cool: I've never sen any modded VIos around...cosmetic (dress-up) mods, yes, but engine wise, never seen yet. any comments?

I think the best band for the buck would be a calculated 4-2-1. Find out what is the exhaust cam duration and at what degrees is closes and I'll be able to recommend you a 4-2-1.

I personally think road cars should have nice torque at 4k rpm.

hey...i couldnt get the cam durations...argh...

I noticed something though...this 'problem' only seems to happen when u wanna accel. from ±80km/h...its like u floor it, and there's more noise than anything else! haha! feels like it can go, but something's stuck somewhere. i noticed this similar problem in SEG's too. (tested - AE101)

for the vios...if you're going slower or faster than 80, the car seems to be able to pull away easier. wth...?? :confused: the SEG i tested is different abit...anything more than 80 and it doesnt seem eager at all. heheh!

argh! help help

hi there, well that doesn't really happen to my vios...mine's an late 04 model G....it'll usually pull at 3k rpm onwards on any gear...so if you are travelling constant at 80km/h the tacho should be reading erm say...2k+ rpm....so..yes..usually i would say it does lag a bit till it hits 3k...well not as bad as you describe though...as vvti are suppose to work variable depending on ur throttle response...

anyway, are you using V Power? do not..i repeat do not use V-Power for vios...as lean burn engines are not meant to use V-Power...if u are really using it...try switchin' to another fuel....try Esso's Synergy F1 or Shell's Super...

besides, dude try not to floor it like that...you'll only feel more lag..as the torque converter would still require time to engage the gear....try throttling gently...or half to 3/4 instead of flooring it....it should make a difference...

hey man, about your vios could you bring to our place, i am having vios 1.5g- 2003 , i dont have the problem, the car powerful and never have this . please contact me, kali

quottro said:
hi there, well that doesn't really happen to my vios...mine's an late 04 model G....it'll usually pull at 3k rpm onwards on any gear...so if you are travelling constant at 80km/h the tacho should be reading erm say...2k+ rpm....so..yes..usually i would say it does lag a bit till it hits 3k...well not as bad as you describe though...as vvti are suppose to work variable depending on ur throttle response...

anyway, are you using V Power? do not..i repeat do not use V-Power for vios...as lean burn engines are not meant to use V-Power...if u are really using it...try switchin' to another fuel....try Esso's Synergy F1 or Shell's Super...

besides, dude try not to floor it like that...you'll only feel more lag..as the torque converter would still require time to engage the gear....try throttling gently...or half to 3/4 instead of flooring it....it should make a difference...

i used to pump v-power.... then my friend intro me to use Esso's Synergy F1....
he say cheaper and powerful....
you mean v-power will harm your engine...??

my dad acutally uses Regular fuel...u know that older one...minyak merah as they call it at the station. Since the book said the engine requires RON90 or higher, RON92 logically shouldnt be a problem. Heck, i use that fuel in my own kelisa too! no diff from using Premium fuel...

I'll try that throttle thing u mentioned quottro...never thought much of it since i hardly ever drive an auto...thanks man!

what u mention is true la...i'm finding the car pretty unresponsive to throttle movements...is it just like that or is something wrong...

about visiting workshops and stuff...i'll probably keep that till later la...since its dad's car not mine...I just drive them around on weekends with it! haha! If he thinks he wants to take it in then i'll be in touch la.

cheers!

well not to say v-power will harm every car...but its just not suitable for lean burn engine like the vios's...

in fact u should feel that its even more sluggish than using regular fuel...

aiks......my collegue use my nick to post.....tiu nia sing him.......... sorry ya........