Tyre Discussion: Toyo R1R

B18C-R

Mar 27, 2005
Guys, I am thinking of getting this tyre for my next tyre change. Currenly I am using Michellin Pilot Sports II (PS2). Anyone has comment or knows / uses R1R before ?

By data comparisons, this tyre should perform better than PS2 but it cost almost half it's price compare to PS2 so I am thinking about it. PS2 too expensive to get another set.

Should be very grippy in dry due to it's crazy traction rating and treadwear. R1R treadwear rated 140 compared to 220 on PS2 (220 for AD07 Neova and 280 for T1-R for comparisons sake).

However, I am a bit sceptical on R1R's wet performance especially on anti-hydroplanning when I look at it's tread design and the 140 treadwear means I have to change it every 8k-10k which is the part that I am really hesitating ! :banghead:

Any sharing from anyone whom has uses or experience R1R is most appreciated.?

DDgreystar

Sep 20, 2004
I used it 2 yrs back.....its supposedly to be a wet semi slick........tread wear is slightly longer than r888 (after r1r)......grip wise in dry slightly lose out to r888 .......on wet its awesome than r888......however best wet tyres ever tested in toyo series is still t1r.........t1r is the least effective on dry (also softest on sidewall) however has the best treadwear........r888 score the least

yellow crx

Aug 9, 2006
Guys, I am thinking of getting this tyre for my next tyre change. Currenly I am using Michellin Pilot Sports II (PS2). Anyone has comment or knows / uses R1R before ?

By data comparisons, this tyre should perform better than PS2 but it cost almost half it's price compare to PS2 so I am thinking about it. PS2 too expensive to get another set.

Should be very grippy in dry due to it's crazy traction rating and treadwear. R1R treadwear rated 140 compared to 220 on PS2 (220 for AD07 Neova and 280 for T1-R for comparisons sake).

However, I am a bit sceptical on R1R's wet performance especially on anti-hydroplanning when I look at it's tread design and the 140 treadwear means I have to change it every 8k-10k which is the part that I am really hesitating ! :banghead:

Any sharing from anyone whom has uses or experience R1R is most appreciated.?
Very great tyre....go head to buy it...
in hot condition that tyre crazy soft and very grippy...
I bought 3 month ago with price rm 620 per each.... already running 6k km and tyre still good not much wear off..

chriskhaw

Dec 6, 2006
Hey...with the recent price increase of tyre's any idea how muc the r1r cost now? :confused:

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
t1r still serves the best for daily driving for me!! hehehe r1r i haven't try yet but will get it ones i change my rims..hehhehehe

KOB

Apr 29, 2008
Very great tyre....go head to buy it...
in hot condition that tyre crazy soft and very grippy...
I bought 3 month ago with price rm 620 per each.... already running 6k km and tyre still good not much wear off..
I was just quoted R1R@Rm680 for 235/45/17. Mind sharing where u got urs for RM 620?

DDgreystar

Sep 20, 2004
i got mine for 580 b4 :)

if not going hardcore speedrun.....T1R is still best for daily driving n once a while street run....R1R treadwear is too short to last long.......few months of hardcore.....3-5 months ;)

KOB

Apr 29, 2008
580?:hmmmm: Kindly tell where u got it to prove u r not pulling a fast one

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
minyak naik harga... semua pun naik.. cannot compare last time price with now..
tire prices shoot up twice within 1 year.. and heard that it will go up again.. sigh..

New i8 Roadster lands in Kuala Lumpur! - BMW Malaysia at CEPSI 2018

Yes, the first-ever BMW hybrid roadster just surfaced at the KL convention centre today in conjunction with CEPSI 2018, the Conference...