Tweeters

ya, i'vegot their reply... a matched pair for US$36 which is +-0.5db.

then the freight charges itself cost US$50. :o

recommended power is not specified... he said all depend on crossover freq and slope!

gosh... how do i know... more power means i can cross is lower? less power cross higher? :x

Originally posted by artnet@Apr 5 2005, 07:50
ya, i'vegot their reply... a matched pair for US$36 which is +-0.5db.

then the freight charges itself cost US$50. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/ohmy.gif alt='ohmy.gif' />

recommended power is not specified... he said all depend on crossover freq and slope!

gosh... how do i know... more power means i can cross is lower? less power cross higher? :x
[snapback]869047[/snapback]​

Yes, they charged me US$50 for the freight as well.

so how pisces? i'm not sure whether it can be run in my car or not...

if really my amp only can give it 35watts...

that guy, george only tells me the power rating is completely dependent on the crossover freq and slope.

actually im intrested in the 28mm one but im worry about the size of the tweeter. its big, 1st thing came to my mind was positioning issue. not all car hav wide broad dashboard. like my fren whom driving Toyota Seg, the right side of the dash was so cramp that hardly can position those big size tweets. another thing that make me worry is the exposion. its so obvious scared chances of plp break into the car higher. those thief dun care they now any stuff, as long as they saw something big like this, they will steal

i'm driving a corolla ae100! that's the SEG. :( i do face problems
installing the 6" mid into door panel. in the end, i remove the
cover at the door panel. if not the speaker would touching it.
there is a 6" speaker holder... i remove that too. just direct screw
2 points into original 5" area.

from now on will install all by myself.. installer doesn't care
that much... infact the old set 6" is touching the cover all the while!
still looking for ways to make it look more factory fitted.
may be cut a pieces of wood to replace the OEM speaker holder.

i will just leave the big tweeters there without any enclosure
or anything... may be use few wires to tighten it only.
for this i will solve it after getting it... but now still struggling
with the powering thing.

for the thieves... my area is still fine for this issue...
they normally steal HU only. unless got more time for
others. that will be amps i guess. haha. that tweeter
isn't very good looking anyway.. hiak.

Originally posted by artnet@Apr 5 2005, 08:51
so how pisces? i'm not sure whether it can be run in my car or not...

if really my amp only can give it 35watts...

that guy, george only tells me the power rating is completely dependent on the crossover freq and slope.
[snapback]869177[/snapback]​

Honestly, I think 35W is not enough to have that headroom.
One of the reasons I selected these tweeters is their ability to go lower than normal tweeters. So you gotta feed them with more power to have that ooommpp!!
For the mids mounting at the doors, there are the guide rails for the power windows that is restricting the use of 6" mids.
You'll have to custom made the lower portion of the door panels in order for the mids to be mounted in such a way that the magnets are not touching these rails.
I used to mount only 5" mids in my SEG's doors previously.

i'm very lucky indeed... my mid magnet doesn't touch the rail.
a few mm away... but it do exert some attracting force to that
rail i guess.

yeah, i'm also looking for tweeter than can go as low as that...
but they actually cost me a bom. another choice would be the
Avant Garde Valeraine... buy whole thing and sold off the mid.
crossover might put aside first.

Valeraine tweeters can cross at 1.2 or 1.4k! but of course 24db.
with 35watts rms handling. with 50-75watts should be no problem.

perhaps i can take some pics on masterD seg. we went to do a custom made door pod to fit 7" Vifa speaker. great job.... and its only rm50 per door. i understand thr is a curvy slope on the door and the installer tok the effort to match the curve lining so that its well sealed tight