Turbocharging a VTEC

EK986 said:
The engine management I used was the stock EG6 ECU P28/P30, yes the rechipped stock ECU able to run boost up to 2.0bar with the original Civic map sensor it able to read boost up to 1.5bar. This is the most effective setup I used and save me a huge money on force induction mod.I live in Kulai near JB, I can help you on this if you want FOC. Although you also can go for another way like E-manage/Unichip but ready to pay another RM1500.

stock MAP sensor is 1.7 bar absolute and that equates to 0.7bar gauge. u need to replace the MAP if you want to boost higher than 0.7bar

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
no offense... but i think it defeats the purpose of having a honda vtec powerplant if u wanna turbo charge it...???

jes my personal 2 cents ;)

Its depand...What will the car be used for? Drag racing, Daily Driving, Road racing/Autocross. Finding out what kind of racing or driving you will be doing will help to determine better why people boosting their vtec engine.

Why Honda did provide not only vacum but also boost map reading in all their ecu ? (from obd0, 1, 2a, 2b and so on)

Now get your turbo and start boosting... he he

Zaki... r u from UD?

now is this really true that b16a ecu normally using 1.7bar Map sensor ? can anyone confirm it ? zaki ? lilvee ?

*anyway...i dunno what is OBD or whatsoever kekeke

zaki said:
stock MAP sensor is 1.7 bar absolute and that equates to 0.7bar gauge. u need to replace the MAP if you want to boost higher than 0.7bar

As like Zaki said.... its confirm.

If u wanna boost more than 0.7 bar gauge, u need to upgrade you stock map sensor with 3 Bar map sensor.

flamefox850 said:
now is this really true that b16a ecu normally using 1.7bar Map sensor ? can anyone confirm it ? zaki ? lilvee ?

*anyway...i dunno what is OBD or whatsoever kekeke
OBD is refering to wiring/harness type. Different OBD version has different wiring/socket combination :D

lilvee said:
Its depand...What will the car be used for? Drag racing, Daily Driving, Road racing/Autocross. Finding out what kind of racing or driving you will be doing will help to determine better why people boosting their vtec engine.

Why Honda did provide not only vacum but also boost map reading in all their ecu ? (from obd0, 1, 2a, 2b and so on)

Now get your turbo and start boosting... he he

Zaki... r u from UD?
UD is a little bit messed up.
it is good but is not as versatile as john cui's....

Oh... wokey, got that.

Erm.. any chipping services that u can offer me with john cui's?

EK986 said:
Actually is not modify the map sensor, for Honda map sensor inherently it can read boost up to 1.5 bar, only things is your ECU cant read/accept anything above 0 that is positive pressure(due to NA engine for normal operation is always under 0, negative pressure). The fuel/ignition map in ECU only configure below 0 range, anything above Zero will give u an Error Code...(map sensor fault)...The ans is if u want to read boost with stock map sensor u have to change your fuel/ignition map, to tell your engine what to do when positive pressure happen(how much fuel to flow/what igition timing at)

What the purpose you want to read boost...??

alex

i tried that before as well. Using stock map sensor and tune using haltech e6k...(without 3bar map sensor). The stock map sensor just cannot detect positive boost. Even the fueling n ignition timing map are set to above 1bar. That's why change to 3bar mapsensor lor.
AFAIK...stock honda map sensor will never detect boost. No matter how u tune ur ecu, the map sensor juz dun accept positive boost. If stock honda mapsensor can read up to 1.5bar...tat means its a 2.5bar map sensor liao. Did your mechanic use other map sensor without ur consent?? Juz guessing. Really curious how to boost using stock honda map.

lilvee said:
Oh... wokey, got that.

Erm.. any chipping services that u can offer me with john cui's?
yes, i can do VTEC chipping. i do freelance but not full time.

akimoto said:
AFAIK...stock honda map sensor will never detect boost. No matter how u tune ur ecu, the map sensor juz dun accept positive boost. If stock honda mapsensor can read up to 1.5bar...tat means its a 2.5bar map sensor liao. Did your mechanic use other map sensor without ur consent?? Juz guessing. Really curious how to boost using stock honda map.
the MAP sensor can go positive boost but if not mistaken it has boost cut. i don't know why honda don't use 1 bar MAP. if u disable the boost cut, you can get 0.7bar max boost

akimoto said:
how to make the stock map sensor to detect boost???
last time i've tried this way...but it just not able to detect positive boost.
how did ur mechanic use the stock map sensor to detect positive boost?? wanna learn more :)

stock honda map sensor is always detecting +ve boost, but u need to "ENTER" and activate it by using external ROM aka chipping it.

Akimoto san.. u will never can boost using stock honda map sensor using piggy back controller (blue box)... why? bcoz Piggy Back controllers allow stock ECUs to do things that they normally can't do, like run larger injectors or deal with boost. Remember that piggyback controllers work by altering sensor signals (mainly map sensor) before they get to the ECU.

Piggy Back Controllers suck because you cannot independently adjust fuel and ignition. Any changes to fueling will produce a change in ignition too, and often this is undesirable.

Thats y u gain a lot when u using standalone E6K during THAT time...

Yes, its true, honda's map sensor can support boost without any piggy back hack or check valves. It lies in the chip. But its an agreeable fact that it only supports up to 0.7bar.
Read up on uberdata guys, you'll get your answers....

Erm... now more honda ecu hacker came out.. its a good sign, atleast we r know wat we r talking about..

Not to say stock honda 1.8bar(absolute presure) map sensor only support up to 0.7bar(10.65psi) but due to physical construction, which limits MAP sensor diaphragm travel so that the full 5 volt referrence voltage return is never acheived, you never read past 10.65psi. This will coz all the dark side off boosting... aka its not save boosting more than 0.7bar with stock map sensor.

turbo vtec.. cnp from pmc forum

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v602/azleeali/PICT0047.jpg

Turbovtec a.k.a vtec turbo... this pic courtesy from pmc forum..

wow,VTEC NA pun already powerful,what for add on turbo?
VTEC NA cars like ali mamat or bunga,if no 600bhp 4wd turbo,i dont think cam tapau them... :D

keong_GSR said:
VTEC NA cars like ali mamat or bunga,if no 600bhp 4wd turbo,i dont think cam tapau them... :D
no doubt their car is powerful but do they have official quartermile time in Sepang? 300m with full lightened body, virtually no turbo car can beat. what if the race distance is increased to 400m with weight limit?

Geez... USDM Honda's are running 9s wit snail power. Remember that white Japan CRX Turbo that smoked Sepang awhile ago?

You guys should smell the ideas when reading Turbo / Honda Tuning magazine... or just drop by Hondata web page... see how they tune the Bees and Kays to heaven.

bro,

what mat salleh did really crazy...they dont use the stock block anymore!stock vtec block n turbo block,i think quality differen,so they bikin a new block which can tahan till 600bhp and put those expensive goodies,no wonder 9s in quarter mile not a problem for them... ;)

realy kaa????? want 600 hp in 4wd if want beat bung or ali mamak:burnout: :burnout: :proud: