Toyota LE Supercharger problem....

Adeen

my uncle is driving a ae101 supercharger engine in his LE....
he's kinda confused why his drive shaft always damage(once in a month or two)....
he's already recond his drive shaft 3 times.....
his front springs have been cut off(to make it look lowered)...
the problem here is with his right side drive shaft....the long one he says...
any toyota sifu....please help...

When u cut spring, it put a lot of stress to the drive shafts!

aaron: care to explain why?

anyway, my experience is, do not recond drive shafts.. they wont last longer than 6 months... buy new.. last i bought when i had my old corolla was 390++

but why does it affect the right side only...??since both springs have been cut off, wouldn't it affect both of the drive shafts?

When u cut the spring (if too much), the drive shalf will bend upwards as opposed to straight (almost) when uncut. Over long periods, this create additional stress to the shalf itself especially when moving.

Put back stock spring and run for a month or two...

Best way to lower a car is by determining how much clearance u have between the tire and fender. If 3 fingers on both front and back, then the top should be 3 fingers also.

Adeen said:
but why does it affect the right side only...??since both springs have been cut off, wouldn't it affect both of the drive shafts?

Our cars are RHD... so it is heavier on the right side... if in the US, it's heavier on the left side.

you once drove an old corolla blackhowling...??i can only imagine driving a supra....huhuhu....with NOS....:)

thnx to aaron and blackhowling.............i will inform my uncle......if there are anymore comments, plz do reply to this thread

I am also driving ae101 sc in seg since jan 2003 and never had any drive shaft problem...yet...hehehe....last time my mech advise me not to lowered my car, the most is 2 finger gap...and also use a 16 inch rim.....

so it maybe because of the advise that i followed or just pure luck I am not sure.....

maybe seg different compared to LE.....SEG more big and strong and LE besi burok oledi....:D

thnx sifu tom's for ur comment.....will pass on the info

yeah acbc... you are right... the lower you go... the more stress applied to the CV shaft.... one of my friend always complained regarding his SC shaft... after setting the right height... no more problem....

agreed!!! 4agze engine is quite heavy so dont lowered ur car too much dude!!
mine is 3 1/2 fingers gap 15" rims...previously 1/2 finger gap, always gave me a headache d/shaft cepat kong...............................:shades_smile:

First i agree the supercharger engine is heavy esp on driver side cos the pump charger also place at the timing belt side, i also drive with ae92 supercharger in my AE92 before and also facing the problem when lower my car by cutting the spring, then the right hand side which is driver side always got the " KROK kROK ......" when u passing the wavy road ... i also change my whole drive shaft by choosing the recond one...... then i put back the spring and no more those sound.... for those supercharger user, if ur rims is 195/50/R15 please don't lower ur car , useless u using the hi/lo adjustable absorber. if u using 205/45/R16 then is ok but also don't lower more than a finger. hope this help...

P/S: who got come to sarawak kuching that can find me yet i still got two drive shaft for selling cheap. just call me or PM me when u about to come.

hi..
Bro trd, so what the best solutions for this problem...im using 195/55/15 can I lower my cars to 1 1/2 fingers ka...???. I want to harden my abs
How much for the drive shaft???

If u want to lower the car... go for complete suspension solutions not potong spring or mix and match with used absorbers. The cost of experimenting will be more than buying a brand new local brand (Titan, HWL, Hotbits, RG).

nnik said:
hi..
Bro trd, so what the best solutions for this problem...im using 195/55/15 can I lower my cars to 1 1/2 fingers ka...???. I want to harden my abs
How much for the drive shaft???

Ok, the best solution as acbc bro say get the nice performance absorber that can adjust the height u want too, now i also using 195/55/R15 and the gap is 2 1/2 finger, for ur also can put the measurement between the fender and tyre is 1 1/2 to 2 finger. also there is one things if u do notice it. Did u notice our driver side the height compare to the passenger side is bit different. always the driver side is abit lower.

p/s: the drive shaft selling both left and right RM200

Have lowered my cars...Yes..my driveshaft is 'sedang menyanyi' on straight way..
Isit true..?? I tot first it singing when taking corner...??? anyone?? :-(