Tire frustrations!

Cavey

Hi guys.I just changed my tire to dunlop direzza 215/45/17 as i read sum very good reviews bot it on the net.Sadly after fixing it i realised it is much noisier than my prebious tires which were simex.A lot of road noise and on the highway it is irritating.Wat i dont understand is that the tire is from japan and if its noisy when its new,can u imagine the noise when its 30% worn out.Wat r ur opinions?Do u think the tires are defective or its suppose to be like that.Grip is excellent but maybe coz its new.By the way the speed rating is W

Go back to the tire shop where you bought it. Ask them to spin the wheel on the balancing machine. See properly is the tyre thread jumpy or not in line. This not a defect, but was cause mostly how the tire shop keep their tyres. Most tyres are keep pilling up high. If your tyre is place at the lowest, then weight stress will altered the shape of your tyre. Run it for a while and see how it goes.

Thanx man!I went back today but he told me low profile tires will have sum noise.I'll go back trrow and see him.The tire is only a week old.He said can trade in but he can only give me simex tires which were the ones i used b4.Noise is quiet but grip is horrible.

performance tyres mostly r noiser than normal one

normal one is quiet but not good in performance...

FALKEN ST115 is quiet and nice in performance but cant use long...not so worthy...u can try it if got extra money...

my 2cents

The Tyres That I Have Used

I have used quite a number of tyres and so far ( 5 sets ) on my car and I find 2 tyres that I find to be decently silent for a performance tyre.

1) Yokohama AVS ES100
2) Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3

But must warn u about Yokohama first... it has got superb grip but because of that superb sticky grip, it wears out fast.

So far I am happy with the Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3. I am now into my second set already.

I find that the Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3 is silent and pretty balance in terms of wet and dry grip.

But recently, for 16" tyres, they are now made in Thailand. Only 17" and above is from Germany. If u ask me, I would say that there is a difference with both Thailand made and Germany made tyres.

Anyhow, you might want to do some research on the net for tyre reviews.

A good place is http://www.tirerack.com/tires/surveyresults/surveydisplay.jsp?type=MP

ES100 and GSD3 quiet?

omg....there must be something wrong with my ears.
I went from ES100 to GSD3 (germany), and finally to Pirelli dragons(satisfied now).

now...who wants to sponsor me Pzero?

boggysv said:
ES100 and GSD3 quiet?

I went from ES100 to GSD3 (germany), and finally to Pirelli dragons(satisfied now).

ES100 is pretty good... Quite and superb grip.. if facing problem while using ES100, then i think you better sound proof you're car... Wat car r u driving anyway??

The es100 was used on a volvo 850.
GSD3 used on a A4.

Maybe I'm just fussy about road noise.

normally tyres wit rotation direction will make a wee bit more noise...
the shape like V groove...
if dun wan noisy...choose those which is not like those V groove 1 loh...

so far the noisiest tyre i put on bfore is silverstone FTZ...
ES100 yokohama is also very noisy...using it now
Eagle F1...gosh...on dry its very noisy...but very superb in wet condition

wah all rich rich buy branded tyres hehe. Wats the price range for goodyear f1 gsd3 215/45/17 (germany) ?

I got it a year ago for about 420 per piece. including installation.

huakenny said:
performance tyres mostly r noiser than normal one

normal one is quiet but not good in performance...

FALKEN ST115 is quiet and nice in performance but cant use long...not so worthy...u can try it if got extra money...

my 2cents
i agree wit that... i'm using my 2nd sets of Falken Azenis ST115... but about it not being long lasting... i believe that depends on the driving style and car setup. My first unit didn't last me long... only 1 year, coz i had 3 batu tiga sessions and plenty of drags... really killed the tyres for good.

but now the 2nd set so far last me 2 years already... still got abit more before reaching the indicator. Yea, this current set didn't experience any track sessions, and very very minimal drags, or wheelspins.

by the way normality78... at least the FTZ lasts very long. heh heh heh.

Cavey said:
Hi guys.I just changed my tire to dunlop direzza 215/45/17 as i read sum very good reviews bot it on the net.Sadly after fixing it i realised it is much noisier than my prebious tires which were simex.A lot of road noise and on the highway it is irritating.Wat i dont understand is that the tire is from japan and if its noisy when its new,can u imagine the noise when its 30% worn out.Wat r ur opinions?Do u think the tires are defective or its suppose to be like that.Grip is excellent but maybe coz its new.By the way the speed rating is W

Perhaps u can try non-directional n soft compound tyres like michelin pilot series or pirelli. :smile:

Better use Malaysian/Thailand made...

"Kebanyakan kita lebih suka memilih tayar import. Bagaimanapun, kebanyakan tayar berkenaan dibuat berdasarkan iklim dan apabila digunakan di Malaysia yang panas terik, jangka hayatnya lebih pendek".

boggysv said:
ES100 and GSD3 quiet?

What may be silent to me might not be for u. This topic is pretty subjective.

Anyway, right b4 switching over to ES100, I was using Pirelli P7000 and it was so damn loud.. as if I had a military truck following me by my side. After tolerating for a month, I decided to trade in for the Yokohama AVS ES100.

Then when my Yokohama started to wear off within a year, I decided to do some research and found that Goodyear F1 GS-D3 was a very good "balanced" tyre.

And so far, I found the reviews on Tirerack.com to be quite accurate for me

Emmm.. y nobody mention about bridgestone? izzit low end/cheapo tyre?
i'm driving wira 15" rim, so far soo good niaa.. ;)