TD-06 20G

NiJ

Hi, im wondering when does the TD-06 20G start to spool
and when does it start producing max boost....... and how many HP
is it good for and Is it very laggy for such a big turbo..... ?

thnx

Up to 450 whp. I suppose you will experience lag due to the bigger turbine compared to TD05 though not sure when it will start spooling - above 3000 rpm I guess ???. May not be that suitable for daily driving but will be great for track days (or nights) :D

wah.... so laggy.... my current setup also start spoolin at 3k and produces
max boost at 4k......... do u think the 20G is suitable for a 1.8 ?

TD 06 really need a bigger output car.... not even the Evo can take it, man. Unless it boost very low. But the lag is very big, u need to wait till 3.5~4K rpm only response. But if the car with 2000+cc will have better response and umphhh... when the turbo kicks in... :)

For GSR, TD05 hybrid (TD05 + TD06 merged housing) already can feel car flying.

It is not uncommon to have big power from small cc engine. An extreme example - the F1 engine during the turbo period (late eigthies) that ran 1000bhp in qualifying trim from a mere 1.5 litre engine! :rolleyes:

Couple of problems with it is how to deal with the lag and the reliability of the engine. Like Revo pointed out, a hybrid turbo (standard turbine with large compressor) is usually the way forward. Upgraded engine internals (rods, pistons, cranks, head studs etc) as well as improved fueling, ignition and most important of all - programmable ECU to take care all these parameters must also be considered. Be prepared to pay big... very big money :D

TD06-20G can go up to 450 strong wheel bhp....if right tune with right stuff inside.

TD06-20g very common lah with 2000cc engines.not too big.lag not big issue....once the turbo kicks (usually around 3500 ++ rpm) u will forgive and forget the lag before.yeeeeeeeeehaa.

hey there,

i used to have an evo3 running in my GTi last time and i used this particular turbine... erm well the lag is quite much, u have to wait till after 3k rpm before u really feel the HARD turbo pull but the wait is really quite worth it man cos it pulls harder than a horny bitch! b sure ur intercooler's in good condition and ur piping size is upgraded to at least 3-inch.. tat was my setup with a simple TIAL wastegate, pick-up from standstill nothin 2 shout about but mid and top range is a real ride hehe! if u got the budget go for this turbine i recommend it :lol: but err if ur using a 1.8 mitsu turbo engine (the GSR) then um i don't recommend u 2 use this turbo hehe! plus more satisfying on a 2.0 litre turbo platform.

oh yea i also recommend u strengthen ur pistons - upgrade to aftermarket forged pistons cos i fucked my stock evo ones up using this turbokit. hope this helps sorry bit out of topic hehe!

crystal_method

Originally posted by crystal_method@Feb 12 2005, 01:07
hey there,

i used to have an evo3 running in my GTi last time and i used this particular turbine... erm well the lag is quite much, u have to wait till after 3k rpm before u really feel the HARD turbo pull but the wait is really quite worth it man cos it pulls harder than a horny bitch! b sure ur intercooler's in good condition and ur piping size is upgraded to at least 3-inch.. tat was my setup with a simple TIAL wastegate, pick-up from standstill nothin 2 shout about but mid and top range is a real ride hehe! if u got the budget go for this turbine i recommend it :lol: but err if ur using a 1.8 mitsu turbo engine (the GSR) then um i don't recommend u 2 use this turbo hehe! plus more satisfying on a 2.0 litre turbo platform.

oh yea i also recommend u strengthen ur pistons - upgrade to aftermarket forged pistons cos i fucked my stock evo ones up using this turbokit. hope this helps sorry bit out of topic hehe!

crystal_method
thanks for the feedback guys..... i guess its time to scrap the 1.8 and
go for 2.0 in the never ending quest for horse power........ :lol: :lol: :lol:
sigh a 1.8 will always be a 1.8...... :(

For any type of turbo there sure is way to upgrade your engine cc. Depend on your $$$... u can check out the upgrading kit by those famous brand like Jun, JE Piston, etc... :)

aLOHAA...

hEMMMM.... >>>TD06 20g
* LAG !!! NOT TO MUCH LAA...
* WHAT CAN I SAY..... >>> DAMMMMM... FAST WHEN U RIDE WHIT TDO6 20g * BUT MUST COMPLETE YOUR ENGIN SPEC FIRSTLY , BEFORE U RIDE !
* IF NOT, BATTER U USE TDO5 ONLY LOHHH....

hARMONY LIFE WITH TURBO!!

:o ;) :P :D

MORALES said:
aLOHAA...

hEMMMM.... >>>TD06 20g
* LAG !!! NOT TO MUCH LAA...
* WHAT CAN I SAY..... >>> DAMMMMM... FAST WHEN U RIDE WHIT TDO6 20g * BUT MUST COMPLETE YOUR ENGIN SPEC FIRSTLY , BEFORE U RIDE !
* IF NOT, BATTER U USE TDO5 ONLY LOHHH....

hARMONY LIFE WITH TURBO!!

:o ;) :P :D

td06h 20G should use what turbine housing for 1.8 turbo? 8cm, 10cm or 12cm...?

i'm thinking to dump in the turbo if i can get more inform from all the sifu here before i putting in.

what is the expect 1.2bar for b8 1.8cc turbo and td06h 20g ? what is the WHP can gain also?

Thanks,

tkk said:
td06h 20G should use what turbine housing for 1.8 turbo? 8cm, 10cm or 12cm...?

i'm thinking to dump in the turbo if i can get more inform from all the sifu here before i putting in.

what is the expect 1.2bar for b8 1.8cc turbo and td06h 20g ? what is the WHP can gain also?

Thanks,

Well. i reccomend u go with the 8cm.............on a 1.8cc engine,that would be solid and not over doing it.

and about the WHP gain, well that varies.....depends on how much mods u already have on your car.

good luck bro....hope that helps.

lag is over rated... my friend running TDO6H20G into his stock GSR engine boosting at 1.4bar never had any problem with lag. What tunning tool you plan to run to support the turbo? The most important thing is the car must be properlly setup for what ever upgrade you want to do.

how much can your friend 1.4bar gain the whp?

I will convince him to dyno the car this weekend and post the chart if he allowed it.

279.88hp... dyno at GT auto last saturday..... STD GSR with TD06H20Gusing TD05 turbine housing.... the car running at 1.6 bar full boost at 4000rpm with pig rich afr 10:1.. there is more room for improvement. With a fine tunning session the car definitely will achieved around 320hp.
dyno chart will be posted if the owner permitted.... later.