Swift 1991 Aircon Problem - Need help

freezehell

Hi all,
I just bought a 1991 swift in penang - SF310GL stock.

Yesterday, while driving the aircon just shut off completely. Went to the mechanic, he checked the fuse and found it is blown. New fuse will be blown when the aircon switch on the dashboard is turned on. The blower will stop running when the fuse is blown.

Then he checked the compressor by drawing power to it manually using a thin wire. It is okay .. compressor is running without shorting.

But he cant find the short until now. Anyone got any idea? The on/off switch on the dashboard has 4 pins and 4 wires connected. Anyone know where are the 4 wires connected to? is the switch causing the problem. Relay? Thermostat causing this problem?

How is the blower fuse connected to the aircon switch? Thanks and appreciate your help.

bro, my aircon problems was solved by changing the whole darn system to a new one... now it's freaking cold and there isn't any problems..

take my advice.. .just install in a new aircon system.

Yes bro, I also do the same but my mechanic here is very experts doing my aircond coz he install the bus condensor coz its not cold enough before.

freezehell said:
Hi all,
I just bought a 1991 swift in penang - SF310GL stock.

Yesterday, while driving the aircon just shut off completely. Went to the mechanic, he checked the fuse and found it is blown. New fuse will be blown when the aircon switch on the dashboard is turned on. The blower will stop running when the fuse is blown.

Then he checked the compressor by drawing power to it manually using a thin wire. It is okay .. compressor is running without shorting.

But he cant find the short until now. Anyone got any idea? The on/off switch on the dashboard has 4 pins and 4 wires connected. Anyone know where are the 4 wires connected to? is the switch causing the problem. Relay? Thermostat causing this problem?

How is the blower fuse connected to the aircon switch? Thanks and appreciate your help.

by looking to your symptom, normally when the compressor malfunction, the blower still running.this is due to the a/c switch will trigger the relay and on the blower. via thermostat justification, it will trigger compressor till its really cold and cut off/on as it running.all motor has a fuse so does the blower motor.i suspect this are the rootcause.switches doesn't cause any short circuit unless theres a water splash or its malfunction due to contact.blower motor might has a big risk once you open up the out door inlet.seldom we seen this happened at big car due to its a/c is appropriate enough to reach the temp. required.
try troubleshoot one by one. the system might not be complicated.fuse blown is due to high ampere of load.thats it.you also need to check the a/c wiring as well.may be its been modified to cater the defect parts e.g thermostat controller.
good luck.

aircond condenser

syafique75 said:
Yes bro, I also do the same but my mechanic here is very experts doing my aircond coz he install the bus condensor coz its not cold enough before.

bro...hehe...how much da bus condenser....can it fit my swift ??....1.3.....suspect da condenser.....coz in jam or hot day....only blower is runnin....later when movin hway is cold again.....

how much is dat part + workmanship......

boss_11 said:
bro...hehe...how much da bus condenser....can it fit my swift ??....1.3.....suspect da condenser.....coz in jam or hot day....only blower is runnin....later when movin hway is cold again.....

how much is dat part + workmanship......

normal 1.3gti a/c system is better than 1.0GL.the big different is the condensor.it has a small vane built in a big shape condensor.theoritical the hot compress gas from compressor will becoming condensation(from gas to liquid) in the middle path thus gave a cold gas outlet thru the evaporator (cooling coil) than make it really cool b4 the blower motor blows out the cool pipe.the coold gas is weak and it recycle back to compressor. if you have a problem, try look at the outlet pipe during a/c ON.is it cold with condense (water drip)? if OK then check the incoming cooling coil.some case, they use a mode hose direct rather than a standard pipe. even you use bus condensor,the cold gas will dissappear inside engine bay.
gti has 2 type of condensor.late gt use a short one while some cultus has a longer shape along the facelift. 98' model above use r134a.
actually if you can't find them, you can mode by only using the exact small size.just make sure it's a very small vane type. then use a high speed fan motor with more propeller. may be more than 4 pcs. i suppose you should benefits this. if you can't get the high speed motor, custom made double...hehehe.
please don't use bigger compressor cause you'll lost power then.

wahhh...thanx sifu.......confirm....my aircond is dripping....da aircond man already told me...my condenser already "kaput"..( mine is GT small one...singpore spec)..da core got a lot of debris...already clean wif chemical but not enuff....n...some part core already closed...due to bad installation....nvm...wif do it when funding allowed....nway thanx for da great info

Thanks guy. I DIY .. yupe, u r right and so are the mechanics. Switch, thermostats and relay will not cause the fuse to blow. Only compressor short and live wire shorts to ground.

So one mechanic help me to verified that the compressor is fine. Then I DIY the live wire shorts. I traced the wire from the thermostat ....and found the not-insulated metal shorted to the car body. Damn ..bad previous aircon installer.

So now i got the aircon working well. Thanks for all the help here. Happy with my swift again ...

Hi sifus,
Anyone out there know the type of refrigerant used in 1991 AC system? The legal one or the banned one?

late GL-gti use R12 same like proton saga..even cultus till 97 use this gas.
the newest car now use R134a same like WIRA onwards.

crazzy,

Would appreciate if you could let me have the contact no. of the aircond shop that installed a new aircond system for your ride.

dude, sorry for the late reply as i wasn't online for a while.

i do not have the aircond shop's number but if you want i can take you there. it's in subang ss14. right opposite metropoliton college/asia cafe.