sub installation options....free air VS sub box.

xcheong

hey brother and sister. hehehe

i saw some SPL and SQ car setup, they run their woofer in free air instead of the traditional boring .enclosures.
1. is it really better running the subbies in free air setup?
2. or its just for aesthetic purpose and works just as well as a box?
3. do i need more power to have the sub run free air?
4. is running free air make the sub sounds louder than box??

TQ! TQ!

Firstly, it depends on whether the sub can be powered in free air (or infinate baffle).
Nowadays there are very few subs that can be used in free air.
Mostly ppl use this type of subs just to save boot space.
I personally prefer sealed box.

1. Depends on what you want ot achieve
2. It serve as to save some boot space ( this works well when you have a small boot)
3. Nope.
4. Nope

however i couldnt remember free air are used in SPL setup. Mostly SQ.

SO far in my experience,

1. Free air subs dont sound as good. lacks low extension
2. Saves lots of boot space and can be made to look good too. Useful for cars like Aeroback, Kancil, Kelisa, MErc
3. Normally the bigger the box the less power is required. Assume for Free air subs that the whole boot is the box.
4. Nope

Actually, I think in SPL you can count walls as Free air.. but that isnt so true...

i see i see...
cuz i wanna save some boot space, and wanna ditch the heavy sub box, and still want a sub. ehhehe....cuz my car is a wira aeroback mahhh...

kicker sub can go free air right?

will doin free air, damage the sub? even if its able to installed as free air setup?

xcheong said:
i see i see...
cuz i wanna save some boot space, and wanna ditch the heavy sub box, and still want a sub. ehhehe....cuz my car is a wira aeroback mahhh...

kicker sub can go free air right?

will doin free air, damage the sub? even if its able to installed as free air setup?

i'm noy sure cvr can go free air. read the manual if it supports free air.

installing speakers that do not support free air to a free air setup will damage your subs. if it supports then it should be fine.

save what boot space la..
a box doenst really "Eat" that much of space..
even after a sealed box like in my car (aeroback) u still can put in luggages to travel to USA !!
haahhaha

another way to look for subs that can be used for free air are the ones that require HUGE boxes. because in free air or infinite baffle, the whole boot becomes the box. a properly done IB set up will suprise everyone how good it sounds.

How much

How much would it cost? Any recommendations?

I've heard an IB sutup that put many enclosure bubs to shame. Its abt the hardware and the install.

th
Master D said:
I've heard an IB sutup that put many enclosure bubs to shame. Its abt the hardware and the install.

i remember that IB setup won the IASCA sq comp last few years ago. But IB install does not perform that good plus you have to make sure all doors are sealed and deadened to achieve good sound. That cost a lot more than a regular ported box.

appleyard bro,

how come the doors need to be sealed and deadened especially for an IB setup? comparing it to an enclosure setup, what are the major difference in performance?

TQ!

for IB, you will need to ensure the deck is solid, the boot is sealed off from the cabin and some kungfu here n there to get them to sound good... Sealed is a fast, easy way... Ported needs some calculation and good woodworkign skills...

Appleyard is a ported fan... no sealed/IB for him... :D

for an IB setup, you need to make sure that all doors are air tight. If there is leakage thne you will lose SPL. For and IB setup, you need to mount somewhere solid. Dont mistaken me, IB can sound good, but you need lots of experience to set this install up. I have not set any IB setup but i saw one, which is more complicated than using an enclosure, plus if you open the boot, there will be no bass at all.

compare to ported or sealed?
well all have their own function. IB save boot space, sealed are good during transient and ported are good in tuning and also more efficient.

bert
a big fan actually.

Actually its not the doors that is most important for an IB but the boot and the area conencting the boot to the cabin. IB basically means that the big boot is the box and it should be sealed!

so err... big box woofer can run in IB setup larr....

i still having my compVR, cuz its maximum enclosure size for sealed box, its 4.6cuft.....
which already taken 3/4 of my boot.... that is not really desirable, somemore very heavy lerrrrr! 2 cuft also damn heavy liao. somemore 4 cuft, i'll be driving a "fridge" everywhere i go!

so the boot needs to be sealed larr...
hmm...since my car is a wira aeroback, the rear deck is very wide. enuff to mount a 18" sub. hahaha. but 12" enuff larr..
so have to make a board larr.... make partition board behind the seat, lay carpet to the entire boot should provide enuff sealing gua.

but then there are two bonnet suspension in the way at 2 corner of the rear deck.....have to think of a way to seal that part.

actually, i plan to DIY this lar. hehehe. cuz finish my study already. goin to be very free later. i'm no good in wiring, but for cutting boards, laying carpets, no problem larr.. kekek