Spoon Calipers

All honda Tai Koh,

What is the disk size for EK9 and BB1 or H22A (SV4)?
Are they the same? since all can use the spoon calipers :confused_smile:

Hi Sorry, I am a newbee here...

I read around that 'All' calipers can fit with some modifications to the bracket... not sure if it's safe...

Hope someone can advise me on what's the steps required for fitting in some used brake calipers + rotors into any car...

actually spoon do have slotted rotors. ppl forgot abt them probably. :p

spoon rotors and spoon calipers, sounds better.

Ok, basically you have to measure the clearance of the calipers to your wheel's offset. Then measure that the dics + caliper can clear the rim's inner lip. Don't forget that if you're using PCD 114.5 discs to a PCD 100, must redrill the mounting holes too ( also check that the calipers don't seize, and that the discs have a flat surface with enough thickness ). If everything clears fine, then you have to measure the caliper mounting size / length / depth correctly. Then go to a machine shop and ask them to machine the mounting, and voila! Now comes the easire part, the correct fitting for your 'new' calipers to your current brake lines. Buy new pads according to your 'new' calipers, fit everything up, make sure no part will rub each other, purge all fluid out of the lines / master cylinder, put in fresh brake fluid and pump the bubbles away. And finally, voila, big brakes oledi....

tlyeow said:
Hi Sorry, I am a newbee here...

I read around that 'All' calipers can fit with some modifications to the bracket... not sure if it's safe...

Hope someone can advise me on what's the steps required for fitting in some used brake calipers + rotors into any car...

Hi ace79,

Thanks for the good description... Can you PM me some good places to get it done? Roughly how much will I need to fork out?

So essentially, I can even mate the used brake kits from other types of cars to mine? (brembos from the Evo to my honda)...

in malaysia boleh-land...anything can do one....as long as u don't end up with that abang's brembo caliper cover ler....that's fugly....

very hard to find it and till now i was looking on it for 1 year already after one of my friend in penang using it in his Vtec turbo...

greyrex said:
Great info there.By the way,where could i get the nsx brake callipers?Thanks.

Was it a black/red eg9?Anyway..nsx calipers are hard to come by.Your friend must be lucky to have got it and how much did he paid for that set?Cheers!

nope...his car color is champion white EK4 door with front 99 spec + rear used domani. forgot the price coz long time edi and what he mentioned the he got from kedai potong at Sg petani...

for the past year i ask my friend to find it for me but then till now still no luck :(

i've been informed NSX brake 1 set cost about 6K...not sure whether the price is true onot....i've also been searching for long time but untill now still not seeing 1 yet even change to other car model....i think i know who is using 1 set for his EG....hehehehe....dammmn....veli nice looking even using 15' rim....perghhhh slurrrrrrppp

If NSX cost 6K? might as well use a spoon calipers.. fixed monoblock caliper somemore. I think they have 4 pistons, if I'm not wrong.

NSX calipers are sliding type only lah, running two pistons on one side. (as far as I know)

And can fit ah? I thought americans already tried... and you need to shave off some parts of the brake caliper for clearance.

Hmm.. time to crash the thread with photo.

Friend just bought new spoon calipers. There's a problem though, and you guys might learn a lesson from it.

Buy calipers, then decide on the rims!
In this case... 16" advan RGs with 45 offset cannot use spoon calipers.. the spokes near the hub end will hit the caliper.
spoon.jpg

crxr said:
wah... nice. Wondering how muchie the setup??

Sorry, but didn't ask, since spoon only makes front calipers.. it sort of killed my interest. Blue in front, and stock gold in the rear? Doesn't strike my 'wanna buy' instinct.

Not cheap, I can tell you that. Even second hand calipers retails about 2K+ (I think, not sure and never bothered to check properly since spoon calipers are not a interesting must have item for me)... so your guess is as good as mine as to how much a new one costs.

hattech-v said:
45 offset too deep i think.. 42+ above most probably can...

Actually it's not a problem with the offset. Depends on rim design. MF-10, TE37, CE28, all fits even with 42,43 or 45 offset.

It's actually because the base of the hub area is damn thick! and the spokes leading out are thick as well.

Finally installed wheel spacers as a temporary solution.. now look like drag car! Front wheel sticking out!

Write your reply...