Smart Tag Problem

I experienced problems when using my smart tag with cars using V-cool. Sometimes it works, sometimes cannot.

This is not a new issue. I think its a well known fact that tint films with metallic particles, ie. vkool..etc have problems with smart-tag. in fact, any good and responsible tint shop will inform you before you even install the tint.

Its a long known problem of car tint and Smar Tag. V-Kool especially has this problem and each time you wanna tint your car, they'll warn you before hand. Though my car is VKool tinted, i'm still using the Smart Tag and what i'll do is that i place the Smart Tag unit really close to my windscreen when i'm approaching the gantry and it'll detect it. However, this does not work in all the toll booths and in particular the Sungai Buloh exit and Subang exit has this problem. Last time i used to get stuck in this 2 toll booths till i decided to wind down my windows to get it scanned when i exit. Also what i notice is that i normally get stuck only when exiting/paying the toll booth. It normally won't happen when you're entering the highway.

But if i'm not mistaken, Ecotint's highest range of tint does not have this problem, though VKool have this problem. Probably got to do with Ecotint's low UV rejection ratio while VKool rejects UV pretty well.

btw, how does it sense the tag in our car?..
via infra red?? In my opinion, it should be via infra red.
And a lot of tint besides rejecting UV, also protect us from infra red.....that explain why.
Even for 2 way alarms, it doesn't work well or it has lesser range if your front windscreen is tinted.

ive been using my smart tag without any problem at all the tolls i used so far. But my tint is no brand wan hehe

I'm using aircool(95% ) the best in its class which really sucks on smart tag. Wasted my money though. Now I wind down my window and handout my smart-tag.
LOOKS DAMN SILLY. WTF!!!

Anyone got a good solution to this problem besides cutting a small hole on my window or remove the tinting for good.

:)

no choice dude....got to wind down window. Get a power windo if you don't already have one.
Pro: It proves that your tint is worth it.....kekekeke
anuther optimistic side at looking at the problem...
haha

hmmm it seam like u cant have the best of both worlds............good tinting quality leads to suffers on smart tag......mine tinted also not branded one.....just to protect some of the sun to penetrate thru staright into the car....which my smart tag always can pass......

or u can modify ur hood make a hole and put the smart tag under the hood hahaha :X-:

Normally most of the tinting shop will cut a square size of the tinted for smart tag if the tinting is tick from uv protection...
For mine, still ok and previously i did ask h'way people b4 regarding this and their reply also quite reasonable as they said if the sensor is strong than they will get sue of creating cancer... hahaha...
so, no other choice but to cut the tinted lor..:_:

So far the only problem I have about using the Smart-Tag were three incidents that involved smashing the toll-gate.

Write your reply...