M
MrJai
Greetings,
Need opinions from all sifus and gurus here...
As an introduction..this is my car when I bought it from a Chinese uncle.(This car will be used for drifting purpose only)
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/IMG_1125-1.jpg
My car has finished doing bodyworks..(chassis strenghtening, spotwelding and etc). These are the pics of my car after spotwelded. Later on they will put new antirust tar at all critical areas.
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/1-1.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/9.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/8.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/7.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/6-1.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/5-1.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/4-1.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/3-1.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/2-1.jpg
After this i will install a rollcage and then the engine.
Regarding the engine selection....i’m a bit confuse now…I hope you guys can help me a bit…at first..I want to install SR20det…but for the time being, my instinct tells me that I should go for RB25det because of these reasons/factors:
(I did some research for the past 2 months, asking around some sifus and gurus and a some knowledge from my personal experience..)
1. FYI…based on consultation with the sifus…initially I chose SR20det instead of RB20det bcoz:
- I want an engine that is lightweight (for better weight balance of the 910,for better handling and control)
- Has low end torque (at the lower range of the RPM)
2. IMHO…for drifting purposes...in which I'm sure that I will always play with high revv...I just realized that to increase the reliability and durability of SR20det engine will cost a lot! i.e. to achieve good cooling and lubrication settings..to increase the durability & reliability of the components...even if I tackle all this issues...i'm sure that I will still feel afraid to whack the SR20det...unlike RB series engines..(please correct me if I’m wrong..TQ :D )
3. I can see that a friend of mine..using a RB25det (in a cefiro A31)..run it stock...no upgrades at all and maintain stock boost..got plenty of power for him to drift.and he whack the car all day long in drifting session..no probs..he claimed that RB25det's low end torque is almost equivalent to SR20det’s instant response bcoz even though it's a 6 cylinder configuration, the engine design is a a bit similar to SR20det's square design, bore x stroke--> RB25det = 86 x 71.7 (much more larger than RB20det's)...SR20det = 86 x 86..the diff between them are RB25det has 2 more cylinders and has a cast iron engine block (Please correct me if I’m wrong…TQ :D )
4. Therefore…I can put up a small conclusion here..my criteria for engine selection are solely based on these 3 factors:
- weight
~I want lighter weight engine like SR20det (222kg) but I assume it’s not as robust as RB..
~RB20det/Rb25det is heavier (303kg)…but a sifu told me that this prob/understeer issue can be solved by proper suspension settings..but still he said that lighter engine is always the best for drifting..
- torque
~I want the torque at low end of the RPM range like SR20det & Rb25det
~A friend of mine once told me that you can lower the torque and power band of RB20det but he said it's still a 6cyl RB20det and the piston is much more smaller than RB25det/SR20det (Bore x stroke = 78 x 69.7)...thus it cannot achieve lower end torque like SR20det/RB25det (Please correct me if I’m wrong…TQ :D )
- robust engine
~Based on testimonials from all RB users and some SR users turned RB users and from RB&SR forums all around the world in the internet….RB is more robust and safe to play than SR series engines because of the engine component’s material, design factors and etc..they claimed that with RB..u can aim for higher power in a much safer way (Please correct me if I’m wrong..TQ :D )
In the end. i'm more inclined to install RB25det but the weight & understeer issues are hindering me a lot... What do you guys think? Should I proceed with RB25det or SR20det??
Really appreciate all comments, suggestions, opinions and advice from all sifus and gurus here…
Thanks.. :D
Need opinions from all sifus and gurus here...
As an introduction..this is my car when I bought it from a Chinese uncle.(This car will be used for drifting purpose only)
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/IMG_1125-1.jpg
My car has finished doing bodyworks..(chassis strenghtening, spotwelding and etc). These are the pics of my car after spotwelded. Later on they will put new antirust tar at all critical areas.
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/1-1.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/9.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/8.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/7.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/6-1.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/5-1.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/4-1.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/3-1.jpg
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r261/MrJai/2-1.jpg
After this i will install a rollcage and then the engine.
Regarding the engine selection....i’m a bit confuse now…I hope you guys can help me a bit…at first..I want to install SR20det…but for the time being, my instinct tells me that I should go for RB25det because of these reasons/factors:
(I did some research for the past 2 months, asking around some sifus and gurus and a some knowledge from my personal experience..)
1. FYI…based on consultation with the sifus…initially I chose SR20det instead of RB20det bcoz:
- I want an engine that is lightweight (for better weight balance of the 910,for better handling and control)
- Has low end torque (at the lower range of the RPM)
2. IMHO…for drifting purposes...in which I'm sure that I will always play with high revv...I just realized that to increase the reliability and durability of SR20det engine will cost a lot! i.e. to achieve good cooling and lubrication settings..to increase the durability & reliability of the components...even if I tackle all this issues...i'm sure that I will still feel afraid to whack the SR20det...unlike RB series engines..(please correct me if I’m wrong..TQ :D )
3. I can see that a friend of mine..using a RB25det (in a cefiro A31)..run it stock...no upgrades at all and maintain stock boost..got plenty of power for him to drift.and he whack the car all day long in drifting session..no probs..he claimed that RB25det's low end torque is almost equivalent to SR20det’s instant response bcoz even though it's a 6 cylinder configuration, the engine design is a a bit similar to SR20det's square design, bore x stroke--> RB25det = 86 x 71.7 (much more larger than RB20det's)...SR20det = 86 x 86..the diff between them are RB25det has 2 more cylinders and has a cast iron engine block (Please correct me if I’m wrong…TQ :D )
4. Therefore…I can put up a small conclusion here..my criteria for engine selection are solely based on these 3 factors:
- weight
~I want lighter weight engine like SR20det (222kg) but I assume it’s not as robust as RB..
~RB20det/Rb25det is heavier (303kg)…but a sifu told me that this prob/understeer issue can be solved by proper suspension settings..but still he said that lighter engine is always the best for drifting..
- torque
~I want the torque at low end of the RPM range like SR20det & Rb25det
~A friend of mine once told me that you can lower the torque and power band of RB20det but he said it's still a 6cyl RB20det and the piston is much more smaller than RB25det/SR20det (Bore x stroke = 78 x 69.7)...thus it cannot achieve lower end torque like SR20det/RB25det (Please correct me if I’m wrong…TQ :D )
- robust engine
~Based on testimonials from all RB users and some SR users turned RB users and from RB&SR forums all around the world in the internet….RB is more robust and safe to play than SR series engines because of the engine component’s material, design factors and etc..they claimed that with RB..u can aim for higher power in a much safer way (Please correct me if I’m wrong..TQ :D )
In the end. i'm more inclined to install RB25det but the weight & understeer issues are hindering me a lot... What do you guys think? Should I proceed with RB25det or SR20det??
Really appreciate all comments, suggestions, opinions and advice from all sifus and gurus here…
Thanks.. :D