Seeking advise from Toyota Sifus around! AE101 & AE111

Oct 31, 2005
Hi BlurBlur, can i know how much you buy the front crystal lamp? and do you know where to hunt for the suitable bodykits for this model?

limandy

Nov 27, 2003
My suggest. buy a AE111. Must be all stock & standard..pls don't change anything once you buying it. like change to SVT 20V or BKT 20V .. leave it all stock.

BlurBlur

Aug 4, 2005
aemania said:
Hi BlurBlur, can i know how much you buy the front crystal lamp? and do you know where to hunt for the suitable bodykits for this model?
my front crystal lamps ar.. it will cost u around rm600 in the market. might be cheaper if u can find source. there are one of the forumer here selling the lamp with dark shaded. u can search for hckum.
the bodykits, normal fibershops lo... customize oso can..

corollagtouring

Oct 8, 2005
Sincerely if u want a car with good reliability... ae100/ 111 is good....

ae101 and ae111 shares the same parts... except the bodyparts that is... but for ae111... it seems easier to access ae101 bodyparts than ae111 now... maybe due to the number of chopped cars in Japan (ae111) haven't increased yet

ae101- 92 95
ae111- 95~9x (i dunno lot about 111)

if compare to othercars... ae101/111 have the cheapest cost of maintanence and not to mention the engine....

an engine block for most cars:
proton 1.5- RM900~1xxx
Toyota 4age/4afe- RM500~700
Toyota Starlet- RM 500
Honda B16 - RM1k above

so cheapest is corolla..... EXCEPT the RARE bodykits/bodyparts.... and what nice about corolla is it have many types of bodykit version... just a bumper change could make other people confused: what car are you owning?

If u intent for fuel saving and reliability
Perodua Kelisa or MYVi still the best (From Toyota too!)

If u want to find a good sedan... toyota Corolla is very good.

sincerely i owned 3 cars... all of em are toyota.... from starlet to corolla SE SEG..... never regretted.... never turned me down... in terms of reliability and performance

Sorry to WAJA owners.... my father owns a waja... just a kick at the bumper and it will fall off (just hit by a motorcyclist weeks ago)..... too much clips...

ckchew666

Aug 28, 2005
KL, M'sia

Thx for ur replies & comment. I heard a lot of good feedback from AE111 owners, not sure how's the performance compare with Nissan Sentra N16 (1.8GXE)? Anyone care to comment a lil` of this car?

Thanks.

kylim8

Jun 1, 2004
K.L- K3p0nG
BlurBlur said:
If you mess up the two then you are totally screw up dude. See attachment to diffrentiate. the 1st one on the left is 96-97' AE111. Wherelse on the right is 98-00' AE111. Notice the rear lamp and boot's shape is totally different. And so far i haven see any ppl mod the rear lamp for the 96-97' AE111. Good luck in your purchase... :wink:
waaa, bro where did u get the second pict fr? im lookin for bodykits for AE111 as well!! been huntin for it for so many years

anyone know where can i get the JDM AE111 front grill? look nice la

FYI, me own this car for more than 10 years i think, still runnin good, all stock cond... been runnin alotz.. i mean ALOTZZZ... imagine everyday back n forth fr sunway or sg.buloh, hahahaa.... no prob at all

BlurBlur

Aug 4, 2005
kylim8 said:
waaa, bro where did u get the second pict fr? im lookin for bodykits for AE111 as well!! been huntin for it for so many years

FYI, me own this car for more than 10 years i think, still runnin good, all stock cond... been runnin alotz.. i mean ALOTZZZ... imagine everyday back n forth fr sunway or sg.buloh, hahahaa.... no prob at all
just caught it somewhere in the internet.. no idea wat kits is it.. but if u have the $, everything can be custom, just bring the pic to the specialist and they can do anything for u. Good luck, if happen to get it tell me too.. hehe.. cheers

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
ckchew666 said:

Thx for ur replies & comment. I heard a lot of good feedback from AE111 owners, not sure how's the performance compare with Nissan Sentra N16 (1.8GXE)? Anyone care to comment a lil` of this car?

Thanks.
I've recently bought a Nissan Sentra B14, year '98. During car hunting time, I couldn't find a good conditon AE111 crystal lamp car, else I wouldn't mind the higher price it carries.

Whenever you compare the engine bay, the exterior & the interior, the Nissan will surely look more impressive. What you get from Nissan is bigger legroom, very silent driving and modern looking dashboard. I'm not sure about N16, but B14 uses timing chain instead of belt, so you do not need to change it every 80K or so. But in term of pricing, Nissan command a lower 2nd hand car value. Fuel consumption is 350km for RM50. My luck isn't so good, the wheel bearing beginning to churn out the irritating humming sound. From what I hear, it is more expensive to change Nissan wheel bearing than Toyota's ...:(

In my case, if I were to buy AE111, I would need to fork out additional RM10K for the same year of make. If the price difference is not much of an issue to you, I would advise you to take AE111. The feeling is different altogether, and the engine is very very easy to maintain. I bought B14 firstly because I couldn't find a tip-top condition AE111 and Nissan has a much bigger legroom, thus easier to ferry my parent around. Thirdly, the wait for a new MyVi is absurdly long.

karl31

Sep 19, 2005
hai ckchew666,
i also new with toyota.. i drive ae111 '99.. about the service and engine part no problem to find and maintain. For body part and body kit.. its hard. Last time i found that one of my lower arm is bend.. so i go and try to find it at few chop shop.. but didn't find it.. finally i use a pair ae101 lower arm... the car is very nice and comfort for driving. But if the driver is tall/ big size.. the back space would become small a bit...

for n16.. i dun know much.. ive one fren use it.. but he always complain about the brake caliper.. but still nice and comfort car..

runx608

Jun 23, 2005
Rawang
hello ... im drivin a yr 98 1st batch of AE111 crystal light.. my batch is the 1 without bodykit and with 4A auto sohc ...but the ECU is using 4AFE auto ECU ... weird .. hehe ....
i oso wonder why.... it seem like 1.5 engine and with diff throttle body ... and some others thing .....

drive it for almost 7 or 8 yr .... it din even bring me any problem ... so it is very reliable and performance not good as 4AFE dohc.. but now with BT20v .. great!!!!. my model is the one with diff grill ....

the yr 99 onward 1 is with 4AFE engine dohc and with bodykit 1 ... and the last batch of the AE111 crystal light have a diff in term of the no plate space there onli hehehe...which is the long shape 1 ..compare to the square shape...

go for AE111 ...no regret ... if u wan to mod .. the engine oso cheap.. hehehe ....but onli the body kit hard to find .. unless u buy the AE111 with body kit 1 ..... if not like me .. find like hell...... hehehe .... js my 2 cent .... :rock:

swift_fsl

Feb 12, 2005
i just bought a 97 ae111 mean the first batch. even the car already 8 years.... amazingly everything in this car are still good except the seat belt koyak.. but that must be bcoz the previous owner a bit rought... tell u honestly i dont regret 4 paying almost 11k for the downpayment.... now i m in the process to change the fasat to the cryctal light face.... i calculated everything only 700++ or anyone can give me cheeper? pls guide me senior members... tq

swift_fsl

Feb 12, 2005
BlurBlur said:
im driving 96' ae111, FYI, 96' & 97' AE111 is the same, 98'-00' are the ones with crystal lamps, :wink:

btw, now im driving a front crystal lamp with non crytsal rear lamp hahahaa.. (mods) :tongue:
bro... how much u spend to change the crystal light face in ur 96 ae111?

runx608

Jun 23, 2005
Rawang
Karl31 bro,
u r welcome ....
Its really hard to find AE111 mod pic ....hope can share with u all lar..

BlurBlur

Aug 4, 2005
swift_fsl said:
bro... how much u spend to change the crystal light face in ur 96 ae111?
hi swift, to be honest, i cant give u my exact amount that i spent on the cyrstal light conversion because i changed mine after an accident, so the price is covered by insurance claims.

U need 2 items to mod the cyrtal lamps, one is the lamps itself which will cost +/-rm600. the second item is the "bar" between the lamps and the bumper. You can get the bar from chopshops, its rather hard to find i guess, u can try asking shinchan for help. he converted his lamps himself, i guess he would know the price.

u can refer to this:
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=47284

chek_corolla

Dec 3, 2003
kylim8 said:

u want this bumper?

kylim8

Jun 1, 2004
K.L- K3p0nG

kylim8

Jun 1, 2004
K.L- K3p0nG
btw where did u buy the liquid n how do u clean the head lamp wo? jux pour in?? mine one very yellowish dy la, cant tahan!!

chek_corolla

Dec 3, 2003
kylim8 said:
YES!!!!! where can i get them n how much???
sure, no problem, currently i am not in KL but i will let u know the price soon.
do u wan PU or fiber? i got both and the prices r different.

need some help or advice...
i have some trouble with my front shocks have change afew time and a few brand and still not hard enough for me and my car...
now im using JIC on my perdana and i really want to make it hard real hard....
can titan guys do it..?and price concern..??