Sealed Dry Cell Battery Recommendation?

ace79

Will be in the market for a sealed, dry cell / gel mat battery. Odyssey, Braille Auto, or even the usual brands will do. But of course need one that got powerful cranking power and deep discharge - recharge ability oso, as the battery will be relocated to the back. Any recommendations etc, pls do list 'em up, and I hope I can buy them locally. :)

Spoon ah? Can support daily driver [ aircon, basic sound system made of a HU and a comp set ]? A bit malu to go to that shop lar, all blingin' parts lol!

Spoon, selling in SS Racing.

I don't think battery is that big of a concern in Malaysia due to the hot weather, the CCA, Cold Cranking Amperage is important for colder climes because cold affects battery output, but not for us.

Any N60ST(ST = small terminal, if you still use the ori batt clamps) would generate enough power to turn over the engine. I'm on 11CR, with 22deg ign advance on idle, and the regular N60 battery starts the car just fine on one try, every morning.

One thing about relocating batteries is making sure the cables won't lost insulation due to abrasions with other parts of the car, making contact with the body and causing PRETTY FIREWORKS :P. (or lots of smoke,if you retained the carpeting.. )

As for the cable, more cores, thicker wire cross sections = less resistance. But there is such a thing as overkill too, like using a wire the size of the TNB national grid :P

Batteries like braille, racing batteries are made for weight concerns, power output is usually not sufficient for daily driven cars with a/c, amps and such.

Spoon ah? Can support daily driver [ aircon, basic sound system made of a HU and a comp set ]? A bit malu to go to that shop lar, all blingin' parts lol!

why not..??:biggrin:

hmm...long time didn't been there edy... :smokin:
since when they carry BLING BLING parts..??:biggrin:

Aiyoo...what do you mean SS Racing doesn't bring in blingin' parts? Al the part sinside that shop is blingin' lol!

why not..??:biggrin:
hmm...long time didn't been there edy... :smokin:
since when they carry BLING BLING parts..??:biggrin:

Well, my plan [ still a bloody plan after all these years lol! ] is :

- Strip all the plastic trim at the back from the passanger area onwards.
- Cover 'em up with carpeting.
- Make a custom rear box replacement [ the fish box lol ] from MDF, sized to fit the now - empty rear luggae area.
- Have a slot to fit a battery at the back [ around / near the now - replaced rear box ], most probably with some sort of battery holder, perhaps with those strong yellow straps sold at Ace Hardware.

If by the time my pocket is ready [ as the battery relocation is part of my upcoming wire tuck job ], and I kenot source one of those batteries, I may have to resort to using local batteries instead. Any locally - available batteries you guys recommend? Must be sealed, dry battery, or gel mat ones lah.

Will be using those welding cables, and proper routing will be done. Maybe some sort of sheath for the cables around any "dangerous" areas. Negative cable will be grounded at the rear spare tyre nut.

Here's the spec of the Braille battery I'm interested with :
Casing: Polymer Plastic
Weight: 15 lbs
Length: 6.8
Width: 3.4
Height: 6.1
Pulse Cranking Amps: 1067
Cranking Amps: 574
Cold Cranking Amps: 425
Amp Hour Rating: 21

Now, I think the important ones is the PCA, CA and amp hour rating. Is this battery's spec good enough for a daily driver with aircon and basic sound system [ HU and front component set ]?

I don't think battery is that big of a concern in Malaysia due to the hot weather, the CCA, Cold Cranking Amperage is important for colder climes because cold affects battery output, but not for us.

Any N60ST(ST = small terminal, if you still use the ori batt clamps) would generate enough power to turn over the engine. I'm on 11CR, with 22deg ign advance on idle, and the regular N60 battery starts the car just fine on one try, every morning.

One thing about relocating batteries is making sure the cables won't lost insulation due to abrasions with other parts of the car, making contact with the body and causing PRETTY FIREWORKS :P. (or lots of smoke,if you retained the carpeting.. )

As for the cable, more cores, thicker wire cross sections = less resistance. But there is such a thing as overkill too, like using a wire the size of the TNB national grid :P

Batteries like braille, racing batteries are made for weight concerns, power output is usually not sufficient for daily driven cars with a/c, amps and such.

I think honda's can start with 400-ish cranking amps easily. it just that as the batteries age, that number starts to decrease that you might find starting a problem.

With small batteries, rather than relocating the battery to the back, there's also an alternate mounting location where the original air filter resonator sits just behind the front bumper.. I think Hasport, and Endyn's Larry Widmer mounts theirs there. they fabricated a small tray/bracket and mounted it there.

As to if it can stand the abuse of a daily driver, I'm not sure on that since they're not commonly used.