RX8 Opinion - pls help

skyboy

HI sifus,

Im planing to get RX8 manual, before that i just need to know which year is better ? obviously i can't effort the new 1 (2009) model well my budget is around rm140k. does any1 knows where or which secondhand dealers have good RX8 in town!!! :driver:

I also need the pro and cons of RX8, coz i read one of the review sayin RX8 need to top-up black oil quiet often!:banghead: is that true????

and if im planing to upgrade to turbo later will be stable or will face problems after that?:smokin:
pls advice on wat you guys know if u own 1 it would help. thanks

HI sifus,

Im planing to get RX8 manual, before that i just need to know which year is better ? obviously i can't effort the new 1 (2009) model well my budget is around rm140k. does any1 knows where or which secondhand dealers have good RX8 in town!!! :driver:

I also need the pro and cons of RX8, coz i read one of the review sayin RX8 need to top-up black oil quiet often!:banghead: is that true????

and if im planing to upgrade to turbo later will be stable or will face problems after that?:smokin:
pls advice on wat you guys know if u own 1 it would help. thanks

I think the 2005 8 is suitable for u, dealers i have no idea with that but find some dealer that allow u to test the compression if can. The 8 doesn't need to top up engine oil often, u just need to check ur oil every 500-1000km n normally last time i just top up a little bit this is due to rotary engine design but u had to change engine oil frequently which from 3000-5000km. For rotary engine is already very hot is malaysia weather if u want to put turbo that's alots of cooling system need to be do and u can't boost too high. If u want a 8 better play NA.

For further information u can ask in the Forum in ZTH they just talk about rotary in there.

pros = good looks, nice interior, like a 2-door but u get 4, unique rotary sound

cons = needs higher revs to squeeze power out, relatively less aftermarket support compared to other cars, u want a big power upgrade only way is to get a turbokit like those from greddy, which costs a freaking bomb...if custom kit then i donno...also there are lesser mechs who are experienced with rotaries

hello sky boy ....i steven i dealing with brand new MAZDA i have 1 unit of mazda manual gear 6 speed RX8 2004 UNREG selling at RM 140,000.00 red colour in good condition and the car is in my showroom clean and nice...if interested please call me at 017-2392780 steven.
thank you....

bro, u can dig more info in zth car manufacture forum > mazda/ford

i really like the look man, with bodykit even better... but i will take a auto and won't mod much for the engine, use it as daily car : )

If you really into rotary racing, y not take a 7? cheaper and more potential?

Hi, log on to
http://www.rx8clubmalaysia.com/v2/forum
And if you are a girl, I guarantee you that, all the members there will be more than willing to share their experiences using a 8. The "Girl" thing, say it came from me James.
No I am just joking, my girl friend is using a RX8 Year 05 E model with Auto.
Go to the forum for the most updated comments but generally RX8 ownership is fairly free from expensive repairs that is unless you get a lemon.
For Auto E, Engine mountings last only about 1 year. But other than that, my 05 have very little problems.
Dont forget to bring your proposed baby to Ah Choy (Regular Rotary Expert) 019273-6362.
He will run a compression test for you to see how healthy is your Rotary engine.
p.s Check the forum for the real Age of your proposed 8 through your engine nos. I cant remember which section of the forum.
Never trust what the dealers declare! I have personally seen 03, declared as 04 and 05's declared as 03. It is so easy to miss declare the real age.

James

thanks guys for your opinion
I'm still scouting for 05 model manual wit full spec. Jamesweh how much you got ur 05 for? manual or auto?