rotary engines

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused

elainenicklaus

hi guys
im back.
izzit true that rotary engine has high fuel consumption?
n izzit necessary for rotary engines to use 'cool' spark plugs to gain the efficiency n to maintain the engine for longer life span?
n izzit true that a rotary engine need to change their spark plugs every 15k?
n y can a 1.3 rotor engine can produce 220 hp?

yeah, Rotaries have a comparatively higher F/C compared to piston engines.

for more information, you could ask the RE Club Malaysia. they have a thread in ZTH as well.

by theory, a single cycle of 2 rotary piston produced as much spark as a single cycle of a V12 engine.
HOW?
a rotary with epitrochoid shape has 3 surfaces with 3 combustion chamber. in one cycle of crankshaft it's equivalent to 3 cylinder spark. multiply by 2 rotaries mean 6 sparks.

BUT!

remember any 4 stroke engines need the crankshaft rotating twice to complete a full cycle. therefore if rotary engines rotate twice, its same to a 12 cylinder engines.

elaine,
post your question at Rotary Engine club Malaysia, you will get the correct answer from all RX-7, RX-8 Rotary owner.

Rotary Engine club Malaysia
http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/forumdisplay.php?f=90

just remember, dun compare RE FC with normal car, you will get flame.
they will tell you, "RX-7 is a sport car, dun compare sport car FC with a road car" or
"if FC is your major concern, don't get a RE"

try to browse the threads in the forum, i think someone else ask the question before.
All the best.

elainenicklaus said:
3 surfaces..
izzit the so called '3 flank'?

u can call it anything, it remain same. :D

btw i agree with black samurai. try not to bring up subjects which had been discussed earlier. :D:D cheerss..

Full Tank RM120 Urban Driving Total 380KM
H'Way Driving Total 530KM

And yup do a search. this question asked sooo many times already.;)

Rotary

Read the stuff here : http://auto.howstuffworks.com/rotary-engine.htm

That's how rotary engine works....it's more efficient but the maintenance is higher (at least in Msia).

I always love RX series, but the lack of support and maintenance always kill my buying decision for it. Haihhhhhhh

phat7 said:
Full Tank RM120 Urban Driving Total 380KM
H'Way Driving Total 530KM

And yup do a search. this question asked sooo many times already.;)

WWWWHHHHOOOOOAAAAA!!!!! kao kao wei! but then again if i could afford it, i'd definitely get one too hehe! n ya lor can't really b too fuel consumption minded if ur looking into grabbing a per4mance engine/car etc...