roll cage

lan evo

will a roll cage reduce the side impact from this type of collision?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v369/ken_7216/DSCF0079.jpg

it probably will but u've also got to take into account of the occupants unprotected head(without helmet) slamming against the cage(if its not designed properly)..

SpeedWanker said:
it probably will but u've also got to take into account of the occupants unprotected head(without helmet) slamming against the cage(if its not designed properly)..

i think it dun have any different with the b pillar slamming to the head of the passenger,because i saw number of pics that the b pillar of the car really weak.

most probably yes, depends on what vehicle hit it...
we usually watch WRC cars flipped and rolled couple of times bfore crashing onto a tree.. the rollcage protect the driver inside quite well..

but if a direct impact from other car (especially 4x4 with high front beam) on the sides, rollcage can hardly do anythng...

basically rollcage is not to save u from direct impacts from other vehicle... they are used to protect the driver when the cars roll over so that the roof or other weaker places wont come crashing in...

SkYwAlKeR said:
most probably yes, depends on what vehicle hit it...
we usually watch WRC cars flipped and rolled couple of times bfore crashing onto a tree.. the rollcage protect the driver inside quite well..

but if a direct impact from other car (especially 4x4 with high front beam) on the sides, rollcage can hardly do anythng...

basically rollcage is not to save u from direct impacts from other vehicle... they are used to protect the driver when the cars roll over so that the roof or other weaker places wont come crashing in...

Precisely... thats why its called a "ROLL CAGE"...

lan evo said:
i think it dun have any different with the b pillar slamming to the head of the passenger,because i saw number of pics that the b pillar of the car really weak.

Yes it would.. most metal parts (including the b-pillar) have proper protective layers to avoid direct collision (metal-head) ie: door trim, plastic covers, etc ... thats why normally there are no metal parts showing on the interior of the car.

You can't compare things this way anyway... just because the B-pillars impose the same threat as the roll cage.. doesn't mean u should add more metal bars in the car... coz' then the possibility of your head hitting a metal bar somewhere during collision would be much higher.

thats why Head n Neck support comes in play... they prevent ur head from banging stuffs inside ur car... when no banging occurs, head and neck injuries could be minimised... :tee:

side impact not realli much protect u one lah only thing is the intrusion bar inside the door i think most new car standard must have one...only way to protect i guess is to put thicker bar made of higher grade steel..but even this oso will not stop the car from doing damage to ur car but it will abosrb the force to minimize ur injury.. jus my 2cent onlii...

Roll-cages well, it helps alot, with proper design and tubing, it'll prevent wat we call T-bone intrusion.

our racing scene is a very POOR place to look for any good examples of roll-cages.
very rarely i see a properly thought out and executed roll-cage.

any how, nowadays roll-cages are mandatory to be padded with at least 1/2" worth of foam to absorb impact from the driver/passenger.

wow look at the door side beam of that evo...still intact and straight tak bengkok..

tough sh#t

140dB

go buy those large I shape steel beam for construction and fix on your side door la then I think bulldozer bang you also still ok la hehehe

cyclonite said:
go buy those large I shape steel beam for construction and fix on your side door la then I think bulldozer bang you also still ok la hehehe
lolz... before worrying about bulldozers, worry about how to fix such huge pillars lar... haha...