Yes ! Don't need to buy brand new parts to start RC Drifting, use 2nd hand parts first, and get a grip on the hobby, then save up more and you can get better parts.
When I first started out for RC Drift, I spend around RM$1000 for a chassis, controller, esc and bodyshell, mostly used except the bodyshell. After playing for a while, I upgrade to better chassis, like the xray T1R which cost me almost RM1000, my controller cost me around RM700, then the upgrade parts, extra batteries, better battery charger, etc cost me another about RM3000, then my blardy German-made ESC cost me almost RM1200. Then I realised that gosh, I am going so deep into this hobby liao....coz when RC drift in Singapore became very competitive as, the cars are faster, handles so well and can take very long drift, etc.....
buying used unit not necessarily is a good thing, it depends on whether if the used unit is in good condition or othewise. If you bought a used 'potato'you will end up spending more time and money on that potato rather than more track time.
I started on a smartech thinking it'll be cheap to start with but that was not a smart move which I found out later.Spent almost RM1.4k on it.
I would go for a new kit from start unless there is someone to guide you in RC and get you a good used unit, otherwise just save up and get new ones.
I started off with EP for a bout 4 months and realised I was missing out on the fun factor, gave my EP away and went straight into GP......bliss! Never looked back since.
Sunway Pyramid on Wednesday the 11/1/06 from 11am - 2pm...
and i found out they're using MINI-Z's... on a track that runs from the top of the L200 to the ground... with some power house Kenwood stereo system mounted on the back of the truck too..
Tamiya Terra Crusher,reporting in!
1/8 big scale with custom made copper exhaust pipe,enlarging carburetor and air filter,max speed not less than 70km/h.:angry_smile:
When my brothers bought for me,only 3 units in whole Malaysia including Sarawak and Sabah:secret:
PTLemon , if u dont mind , i would like to ask u what u do for a living as u must be very successful aka loaded to be able to have such hobbies ... drift in both r/c , real life
wow..remote control car....me used to have a cen CF4 remote control fully modified using belt instead of shaft....hahah..but after 2years crash to a wall at full speed...broken chassis..fly off motor...2servo gone..crack piston and no money 2 repair..so abondon project already...
:shocked: never in my RC life have I ever heard of a cracked GP engine piston.....you sure or not ? even if the engine was tuned to max lean at most it'll just seize and scoure the piston liner.
bro,where do u get da bodyshell? i got rc too but nitro la..
(1/10 GS racing chasis+Novarossi 5ports turbo engine+JRPROPO R1 SPCM digital remote control)
Alloy rims are just bling blings , nobody uses them on the tracks plus nobody uses rubber but foam of shores betwee, 35 to 45 depending on track condition.