Remote and key duplication for A33

spanker

I managed to procure an A33, but it looks like the spare key is missing (ex-owner now looking for it). In the event he/she can't find it, I will need to duplicate one. I went over to TCEAS today and they quoted my RM550 for duplication, citing that it's because the key has the NATS chip.

Is there a cheaper alternative?

is this the std nissan alarm system? if so that will be the only solution. if the system is just an aftermarket using key hopping, you can easy get a spare remote.

i bought a A33 without spare key as well. Was told it was about 350 for it when i made my major service at TC. ANyway, u can always call up different SC to ask the actual price, just to make sure didn't kena cincang. (no offense, but TC is good in cincang cust). Im looking for one as well, hope to find a key which combined with remote control...

Sadly, it is the stock Cefiro alarm :(

Damn expensive man. That's 1 year road tax right there. Maybe i'll check other TCEAS, see how much.

For spare key, you can buy key blank from any nissan stockist, cost about RM220, get it cut by any lock smith, and bring it to TC to program it. The programming cost is about RM60 and those are prices I paid in early 2008.

No idea about the remote.

---------- Post added at 09:45 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:42 PM ----------

The remote is RM120-RM130, no big deal. It's just the NATS key that costs a bomb. I wonder if the ones from eBay can be used. It's a heck lot cheaper.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200408069747&category=33723&_trksid=p4340.m263&_trkparms=algo%3DSI%26its%3DI%252BC%26itu%3DUCI%26otn%3D10%26ps%3D63

I think NATS security system are direct connect to the ECU, which give better security control.

Yeah I tried a dupe key without the NATS chip (the original key about 10 meters away from the car) and can't start the car. The starter just turns and turns, but the car won't start. LOL

bro i also need a spare my prevoius owner lost it gave me only 1 key with after market transponder.
I also heard that its expensive using the NATS system, do call me when you are getting may follow you find out the price also.

Siva- 012 6016707

Cheers

I found an add where there is a dude which duplicates the Nissan NATS key at RM200 a piece, and RM250 for a reprogramming. Still quite expensive, but much cheaper than TC. I'll post that number if you need it.

Hi spanker,

I'm driving an A33 in Thailand and wish to know where to duplicate NATS key in Malaysia and how much it cost. Do they need the key only or both key & car to duplicate? Please PM or share the info if possible.

I believe there should be one in Thailand... I'm still looking around :smile:

Thanks.

Hi bkf8660,

Bought a 2003 A33 for ~RM40K in Thailand, owner (a Unker) swap to VD25DD due to previous engine broken after radiator crack. As I know from forum and also friend experience, this is common issue.

VD25DD engine + electronic cost ~RM2.6K in Thailand, not include labour. Previous owner gave all the document/receipt.

May be should think of truck half cut engine from Thailand to Malaysia... :smile:

the alarm remote control (lock/unlock doors) can easily reprogrammed. No need to go back to TC. But u need to do the programming at once for all the remotes. Cannot do it separately.

As for the ignition key, it has a built in immobilizer chip. That you need TC to reprogram for u. A33 immobilizer linked directly into the ECU.