Rebuilding RNN14 SR20DET

7urn57yl3

Quote below from http://www.banzaimagazine.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=5&whichpage=4

"Engine:HKS pistons,HKS head gasket,HKS 265 cams,HKS Podfilter,HKs fuel press reg.,r33 fuel pump,HKS SSQBoV,lightened and balanced flywheel and crank, Cusco oil catch tank,Mocal oilcooler,Nismo engine mounts, R33 FMIC+hard pipe kit, 90mm airflow meter, HKS GT2835R,custom 3" downpipe and full Scorpion pipe, Apexi PowerFC, 600cc injectors"

Sounds/Looks like powerful specs. Sounds/Looks expensive too. Need to know from the people in the know on do's and dont's for upgrading/rebuilding.

Reason I'm askin' is I don't want the same problems to occur again later on. Don't ever wanna pull the engine apart again. Ever.

A few more questions (Need to know Cost, worth it or not, can do in KL?) :

1.Port & Polish Head
2.Shot peening conrods
3.Lightened Crank/ Knife Edging
4.Lightened Flywheel
5.Balance and Blueprint Engine
6.Forged Pistons
7.In/Out Valves
8.Cams & Valves
9.Cam pulley
10.Bigger turbo, ext. wastegate & custom manifold
11.Bigger intercooler, custom piping.
12.Oil catch tank for engine & gearbox
13.Oil cooler
14.Change AF meter
15.Injectors..

... etc.. etc..

cmng? topui? static? anyone? :D

Interesting link http://www.clutchnet.com/make/nissDats.html

cmng, the SR20DE (under the Sentra section) clutch kit, u reckon it'll help with the clutch slip issue? ever heard of clutchnet?

Yes it sort the clutch problem
but you to check what is your power limit
but assuming 350whp, you need to use
both aftermarket pressure plate and pressure disc
and do not order the wrong one

RNN14.. no need to to many thing
what you need to do
just keep as stock
then FMIC the intercooler
then make the biggest down pipe up 3"

then injector..
change to 550cc from RX7 FC 4th generation

that all.
tune it properly

Con Rod
non of the Japanese company make for RNN14 spec
all using SR20DET spec

Cam. you can source it
for HKS. look at UK
the rest Tomei and Jun as well JWT US

Shot peened conrod ?
a very controversial topic.
RNN14 original Rod is already be shot peened as OEM
will another shot peened process will bring the benefit ?

rebuilding not easy man
you need a lot of stuff
Rebuilding a S13 SR20DET really costly
so imagine a RNN14 engine rebuilding
that why i still not yet start my rebuilding process till i sourced all the part.

one fella stuck during rebuilding process
0 clearance on it cam shim.
looking for the shim ? order from japan is 4-6 month list
unless you order from tomei

wish you good luck..
kekek
make sure you have the right clearance . torgue spec
whatever info.

i think F8 can help you at here.

ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
Can order shim from Tomei?
Where Where. How how?
Can direct order ah?

CMNG found your bearings yet? Hey selling lsd ah? So quiet never try to sell me ah? See u in gtiroc everytime.

My opinion of it?
Just stick to stock. Maybe forged pistons, oversize 87mm. Just stick to balancing and blueprinting the engine. I'll shy away from knife edging the crank and lightening it for the sake of reliability and strength. Our bearings are totally different to the normal SR20DETs and if u compare ours to NISMO items they look spookingly similiar. Our conrod is stronger than the normal SR20.
What ever u do dont cut the the valve seat..............
Also if u play with highlift/ duration cams, same problem........
shims........
Get the fueling right and turbo.....
Have fun.....

RNN14 from the factory has so much goodies compared to the normal SR20 that u dont need to modify much. The RNN14 as a stock engine is very desirable and a mod kaki's dream when it came out.

Yeah but it's a bitch when it breaks down! HAHAHA! (Don't know why i'm laffin'....)

Ok then. Will leave it stock. For now. Just wanna get them clutch kit from either ACT or Clutchnet. Need to find out what gearbox i'm running first.

Thanks ALL!

boss..
easy to check.. maybe your foreman know also
if you still not sure just ask clutch pump or cable only

7urn57yl3

weh.. met some of your frens last nite. hahaha... just so happened that i already know them! hehe... :D next time we lepak la at lintas. hehe... u know gene, rite? hehe

hahaha.. small world... hehe

Originally posted by topui11@Jan 7 2005, 13:23
7urn57yl3

weh.. met some of your frens last nite. hahaha... just so happened that i already know them! hehe... :D next time we lepak la at lintas. hehe... u know gene, rite? hehe

hahaha.. small world... hehe
hahaha...yeah. Genn and Val. Some old mates.

Will do, when i go back hometown next, we'll lepak kat Lintas. Salim? :P

Oh btw, you gonna try the AM1 oil? Hahaha...they all lah that trying to sell em in KK.

val?? hahahaha.... he always lepak my house la before. nowadays also always see him at sutera bayu. kakakakakakak small world indeed.!!

Originally posted by topui11@Jan 7 2005, 14:15
val?? hahahaha.... he always lepak my house la before. nowadays also always see him at sutera bayu. kakakakakakak small world indeed.!!
yeah he's like that...like to lepak in ppl's house... :P

nah they're good mates. they comin' to kl soon. a week from now i think.

hey btw, have you shipped your A31 yet? i've been spreading the word to me mates in KK to watch out for it.

Originally posted by 7urn57yl3@Jan 7 2005, 16:18

hey btw, have you shipped your A31 yet? i've been spreading the word to me mates in KK to watch out for it.
not yet dude...

end of the month. hehe.. $$ tight a bit la this month with kids going to school and nursery. haih...

;)

Originally posted by topui11+Jan 7 2005, 16:34 -->
QUOTE (topui11 @ Jan 7 2005, 16:34 )
--QuoteBegin-7urn57yl3
@Jan 7 2005, 16:18

not yet dude...

end of the month. hehe.. $$ tight a bit la this month with kids going to school and nursery. haih...

;) [/b][/quote]
Oh like that izit. Well do keep us posted. Maybe I'll go back again soon then we can meet up. Wanna see some sideways action in KK.

Write your reply...