Rebore , Rebuilt , Overhaul

TermiziYeoh

Sorry for asking such a kinda stupid question but ive searched it in this forum and found nothing .

What is the difference between Rebore , Rebuilt and Overhaul Engine ? Or all of them are the same ? And whats the improvement after all of it been done ? thanks in advance .

Rebore is done when the cylinder wall is not round already. because the cylinder is grinding against the cylinder wall. If lubrication is not sufficient metal to metal grinding will cause the cylinder dimension to alter and this will cause pressure leakage during compression stroke.
The car will feel sluggish.

Rebuilt means the engine is totally dismantled and all the components is replaced with new parts or better parts eg, pistons, piston rings, con rod, valve. valve spring etc... Intake and exhaust manifold is grind to polished finish, regrind valve seating to reduce air friction and cylinder head grinding to increase compression ratio. Crankshaft balancing to reduce centrifugal force and vibration and flywheel lightening to gain better pick up. This is more to racing set ups trying to extract the maximum horse power from the original engine with minimum modification to the original engine.

Overhaul is a kind of servicing. Only damage parts are replaced. Parts that are still in good condition is not changed. eg, like a car's piston rings is damage then change only the part. I think it means like this gua.

Correct me if any statement above is wrong...:biggrin:

No need to thanks me lah...just helping others to solve their curiousity.:smile:
Its a good practise for me to refresh my studied subjects. :smile: