R3-Satria (gti)

prozac said:
In the same section, I also saw a Smart Fourtwo on sale at about the same price. If i'm not mistaken, it was priced similarly to the Satria R3 when new. But this one's made by Daimler Chrysler.

Smart ForTwo retails from RM90k plus...

By the way...
Thanks Vern for the clarification on the Dyno. :)

Amin

Amin said:
Smart ForTwo retails from RM90k plus...
Yup...thanks for the correction. I would blame the placement of the car in our local market as its ultimate failure. To call it a niche car is an understatement. But unfortunately there's no niche in M'sia for it. Want a small economical car? You can get 3 kancils for the price.

Regarding the 3rd vs 4th gear debate, it can go on and on because we are comparing cars of different gearboxes, different power/drivetrain losses and so forth.

Rule of thumb is to never compare 2 cars of different drivetrains on the dyno; instead use 0-100, quartermile or top speed to compare their real world performance. Dynos can use complex calculations to compare both cars against a constant index on the computer, but this is always suspect to miscalibrations, temperature fluctuations, inaccurate gearbox data and etc.

IMO a dyno is better suited to comparing your car before-after modification and comparing between 2 cars of similar drivetrain configuration. The key here is to never take the values seriously, except when using one of the charts as a base index. What's more important are the changes in the HP curve after your modification, and perhaps compare it to a similar car which has also done mods.

Hi Prozac,

You missed my point, firstly we are comparing a '93 with a numbers of diff dyno machines. Then only I asked about the Hondas.

But I do agree on your other points. But where did they (R3) got the 12% drive train loss? I've never seen any other tuner states below than 20% drive train loss. That confuse me. I just want to know that all. Thanks.

Cheers.

read on the r3gister you some of you guys might be going to SIC this sunday :)

I just posted on the Gen2Club site about the open track day, and in case it's just 2-3 of us going (or at worst, just myself haha) because of the short notice, mind if we/I follow the convoy from Dengkil? :P

niceputera, you would need an engine dyno, then plonk the motor into a car, and measure output on a chassis dyno. difference = drivetrain loss.

"Other tuners" generally dont have access to both dynos. I would trust R3 if they used an engine dyno to measure drivetrain losses.

Alternatively, you can guesstimate by measuring output at the wheels and compare that off factory specs (which usually claim crank hp). You can figure which is more accurate xD

looking for after market air filter for my r3.
anyone use racecraft carbon fibre intake b4?? looks kind of cool, more carbon fibre below the hood :)
will it void any warranthy if i use tt?

or should i just go for k&n open pod or drop-in.

moe6 said:
read on the r3gister you some of you guys might be going to SIC this sunday :)

I just posted on the Gen2Club site about the open track day, and in case it's just 2-3 of us going (or at worst, just myself haha) because of the short notice, mind if we/I follow the convoy from Dengkil? :P

See ya there moe!

rickmoh said:
looking for after market air filter for my r3.
anyone use racecraft carbon fibre intake b4?? looks kind of cool, more carbon fibre below the hood :)
will it void any warranthy if i use tt?

or should i just go for k&n open pod or drop-in.

Go for a drop-in PiperCross or K&N with a cold air intake. Forget the open pods. I currently run a PiperX with CAI, works well.

I have enquired about the Racecraft ones but will not fit the engine bay without relocating your battery. Airbox is too big.

I am currently impatiently waiting for the R3 version - a big ass cold-air-intake solution with a battery relocation kit. R3 R&D bila lagi wei!!!!!???? :D

Crash said:
Go for a drop-in PiperCross or K&N with a cold air intake. Forget the open pods. I currently run a PiperX with CAI, works well.

I have enquired about the Racecraft ones but will not fit the engine bay without relocating your battery. Airbox is too big.

I am currently impatiently waiting for the R3 version - a big ass cold-air-intake solution with a battery relocation kit. R3 R&D bila lagi wei!!!!!???? :D

haha, in tt case.
will wait for the big ass cold-air-intake solution.
maybe just put a k&n drop-in 1st. where to get it for best price??

rickmoh said:
haha, in tt case.
will wait for the big ass cold-air-intake solution.
maybe just put a k&n drop-in 1st. where to get it for best price??

Actually you can find them anywhere dude. Even ENEOS has them. Don't expect power gains from just the drop-in though. Will need the CAI to give u some gains.

hey rickmoh dude...u plan to get the CAI?...if u plan to do so lets go together...ive been thinking of it big time....hands itchy di huahuahua as for the filter im thinking of the racecraft carbon fiber one....lemme know if u wanna do it :tee:

anyone change their GTI exhaust 2 r3 stage 1?
got any problem?
like dropping power or wat?

Shanashi said:
hey rickmoh dude...u plan to get the CAI?...if u plan to do so lets go together...ive been thinking of it big time....hands itchy di huahuahua as for the filter im thinking of the racecraft carbon fiber one....lemme know if u wanna do it :tee:

count me in as well :P

Deskerz said:
anyone change their GTI exhaust 2 r3 stage 1?
got any problem?
like dropping power or wat?

The effect should be similar to a full Hotbits system, although I'm not so sure if the exhaust note will be the same. From experience, MMC and Siemens sounds different on the Stage-1 exhaust.

guys, since you are all hardcore sr3 owners..
anyone changed their exhaust system ?

so far whats the best set-up and what type of backbox d'u guys use ?

had a GTI fren with 'ultrastraight' - yes, tegak.. with no midbox and one
N1 style backbox..
but i think many sgti owners fix this setup as well right ? anyway got 140horses on tap so this should be no prob.. eh did i get this rite ?

Guys,how much is the Racecraft filter cost?Will the filter affect alot?

I'm waiting for the R3 version CAI too, can't wait to get one =.="

manhunt said:
guys, since you are all hardcore sr3 owners..
anyone changed their exhaust system ?

so far whats the best set-up and what type of backbox d'u guys use ?

had a GTI fren with 'ultrastraight' - yes, tegak.. with no midbox and one
N1 style backbox..
but i think many sgti owners fix this setup as well right ? anyway got 140horses on tap so this should be no prob.. eh did i get this rite ?

Don't see the point of SR3 owners changing the exhaust system since it is a tuned-length full exhaust system already. Unless you want it to be noisy, have bigger piping and different header, I think stock is sufficient, even for a Stage 2 car.

GeneX said:
Guys,how much is the Racecraft filter cost?Will the filter affect alot?

I'm waiting for the R3 version CAI too, can't wait to get one =.="

bought mine for RM320 at links, now gone up to 450 already..
comes together with the cai hose, but cannot tahan lah, after 2 days koyak already.
it cannot stand the pressure.

Crash said:
Don't see the point of SR3 owners changing the exhaust system since it is a tuned-length full exhaust system already. Unless you want it to be noisy, have bigger piping and different header, I think stock is sufficient, even for a Stage 2 car.

yup. for SR3 should be no problem lah.. good for you guys then.