R3-Satria (gti)

Yes!

went to mutiara damansara today. they confirmed it, about 28 cars remaining. So whoever's interested might have another month or so to think about it. Usually they dont allow test drives but the salesman told me they made an exception yesterday; for some tan sri who wanted to buy it for his son.

moral : it pays to be a tan sri.

bb1-man said:
Yes!

went to mutiara damansara today. they confirmed it, about 28 cars remaining. So whoever's interested might have another month or so to think about it. Usually they dont allow test drives but the salesman told me they made an exception yesterday; for some tan sri who wanted to buy it for his son.

moral : it pays to be a tan sri.
That's strange. I sent a Displsy unit last Frfiday to Mutiara and that unit is strictly for display. No driving. There are no Test drives unit unless the Sales Peeps contact me directly , upon which I'll bring the demo car to Mutiara. I'd like to find out who this saleman is.

Indeed it is strange Faisal. I was told the same story by two person at mutiara proton. Maybe its true, maybe it's just their easy way of saying no to my test drive requests. I do remember their names, but Id rather not tell if I could get them in trouble. Nice helpful guys those bunch.

Anyway, faisal i assume youre an employee of Proton/R3.... why so strict with the test drives? i think its a better way to give people a taste of the car's ride/handling. Rather than just let prospective buyers oogle at the stationary model. It is a 'Driver's Car' anyway....

oh.....can i get a test drive? :D

my 2 cents.

Faisal's in charge of using the bull-whip these sales/techies in the dealerships to move their arses along :D

they now are very nice and friendly + helpful ! :D

yep, he's an employee in Proton Motorsports Division, R3..

bb1-man said:
Anyway, faisal i assume youre an employee of Proton/R3.... why so strict with the test drives? i think its a better way to give people a taste of the car's ride/handling. Rather than just let prospective buyers oogle at the stationary model. It is a 'Driver's Car' anyway....

my 2 cents.
Yes the car needs to be driven to experience the full R3-ness.

But test drives have to be controlled. Reason for this is if I were to allow every Tom Dick & Sally my demo car will probly be in pieces within the week.

As it is I only have one demo unit( the one in Mutiara is strictly stationery display), which is also used for media promo and photo shoots. Need to screen prospective buyers before hand.

In my experince many people just wanna have a wack at the car. Not really asses the car and see if it is a viable purchase.

faisal said:

But test drives have to be controlled. Reason for this is if I were to allow every Tom Dick & Sally my demo car will probly be in pieces within the week.

As it is I only have one demo unit( the one in Mutiara is strictly stationery display), which is also used for media promo and photo shoots. Need to screen prospective buyers before hand.

In my experince many people just wanna have a wack at the car. Not really asses the car and see if it is a viable purchase.

If I recall, Auto Bavaria had a fair last year where it allowed the general public to test drive every car in its stable. That was the only time the average Joe like me managed to get behind the wheels of the 540d, 745, Z4 and other wonderful cars. The reason why many make a fuss about Proton not simply giving out test drives is by making such comparisons; "If BMW can let me drive their sub-million ringgit cars, why won't Proton even let me drive their sub 100k car?"

On the other hand, it only takes one dickhead to destroy a 300k car, which is what happened at the Glenmarie AB. Apparently, some young fella took a 325 SMG (pls correct me if i'm wrong) and drove it into a ditch or tree. After that, no more test drives for those below a certain age.

faisal said:

hi faisal,

i heard that the satria r3 will be develop into 2nd stage.
so will there be another 150 unit of stage2 sr3 release??
or only the current owner of sr3 can choose to upgrade from stage1 to 2??

if there will be another batch of release then i can save more money ready for tt,
if not then need to faster look for fast cash to get the stage1 r3 :p

faisal said:

Agreed. Fair Enough. Im not so worried about the handling or grip since ive driven the GTi and It's impossible that its less grippy than that.

My area of concern would be bumpiness and cabin noise. I can accept the fact that it's gonna be somewhat louder than the GTi due to lack of soundproofing but how much louder? don't wanna have a migraine by the time i reach kelantan :)

Yes, its a road legal race car. but its also gonna be my only car so forgive me for wanting a wee bit of comfort :D

Good question Rickmoh. can we expect another batch of stage2 R3s or is it gonna be only for upgrades?

rickmoh said:
i heard that the satria r3 will be develop into 2nd stage.
so will there be another 150 unit of stage2 sr3 release??
or only the current owner of sr3 can choose to upgrade from stage1 to 2??

only the current owner ( SR3 stage 1 ) can choose to upgrade to stage 2 and as u know SR3 is limited edition .. obviously there will be only 150 units available.

Incube said:
only the current owner ( SR3 stage 1 ) can choose to upgrade to stage 2 and as u know SR3 is limited edition .. obviously there will be only 150 units available.

oh.... if tt's the case... really need to look for some fast cash to get the r3...
got to go buy some toto & 4d... :p

For most of us, the R3 is our only car. If there's any irritating noise, it comes from the AD07 tyres. Some owners have resorted to fixing that via soundproofing or changing to more quiet tyres. The engine is also noisy, but it's got a nice note to it so no complaints there.

:)

anybody else going for tonite SSO at OU? faisal how many response that you get for the special parking? i can't be the only one. If only one or two cars then it won't be fun rite?

bb1-man said:
Indeed it is strange Faisal. I was told the same story by two person at mutiara proton. Maybe its true, maybe it's just their easy way of saying no to my test drive requests. I do remember their names, but Id rather not tell if I could get them in trouble. Nice helpful guys those bunch.

my 2 cents.

probably there make r3 lesser then even M3, mean that's very valueble or after you test drive it you mind even feel like not going to buy it or they just not ready for any question if you ask them?
As consumer behavior i'll preffer to test it to understand it then to purcase it.

again my 2 cent, hope not offented any r3 lover

why is the R3 group subjected to so many wary eyes I just don't understand. ITS A COOL RIDE la ok!!!!!! i have seen a girl drive it in subang and it looks even hotter. they should make champion white to complement though

g13b said:
why is the R3 group subjected to so many wary eyes I just don't understand. ITS A COOL RIDE la ok!!!!!! i have seen a girl drive it in subang and it looks even hotter. they should make champion white to complement though

i agree, satria gti r3-stage 1 type r

g13b said:
Incognito Black is the signature colour for all R3 LEVs ( Limited Edition Vehicles)
White is for the SSO vehicles
Red is for the Race Vehicles
The show & support vehicles( the Pace car Perdana, Waja, Gen 2) are metallic red.

Hello again BP, but unfortunately I've switched to V-Power already; better mileage.