R3-Satria (gti)

haha....like crash mention its a compliment !!

btw, I dont know about you guys, uncle driven cars are trying to bully me on the road....altizs and camrys

as for those ah beng wiras and satrias who tail gate me. they back off once I start to accelerate hard!!

sigh..its quite stressful driving now, so i tend to stay the middle lane just to avoild all this trouble <_<

Originally posted by prozac@Dec 28 2004, 14:00
Ok then it's set.

R3 Owners Meetup
============
Date : Thursday 30/12/2004
Time : 9pm onwards
wah so nice...but dunno can make it or not :unsure:

Ok just spotted another R3 at the Pantai dalam area, turning towards University LRT from Jalan Pantai Dalam T-junction traffic light. Time was this evening ~6.30pm.

I horned and waved (was on the opposite side) but the guy was on the phone.

Originally posted by handsome_lala@Dec 28 2004, 20:19
Sousuke,

come lah....it would be fun!! we can bitch about the car to Faizal :rolleyes:
haha...not sure man...my brothers reception wedding is on the next day...so i'll have to put up the sign baords showing directions by that nite :lol:

edit: anyway Faisal, juz bring the gift together with u juz in case i can make it :)

Wow, there are 3 SR3s in the Pantai area alone. NOt bad! :D See ya fellas 2mrw!

Originally posted by sousuke+Dec 28 2004, 21:01 -->
QUOTE (sousuke @ Dec 28 2004, 21:01 )
--QuoteBegin-handsome_lala
@Dec 28 2004, 20:19
Sousuke,

haha...not sure man...my brothers reception wedding is on the next day...so i'll have to put up the sign baords showing directions by that nite :lol:

edit: anyway Faisal, juz bring the gift together with u juz in case i can make it :) [/b][/quote]
Hahah put up signs directing to roti john TTDI laa :lol:

Eh, crash...not tomorrow. It's on thursday ;)

Originally posted by prozac+Dec 28 2004, 21:05 -->
QUOTE (prozac @ Dec 28 2004, 21:05 )
Originally posted by sousuke@Dec 28 2004, 21:01
--QuoteBegin-handsome_lala
@Dec 28 2004, 20:19
Sousuke,

edit: anyway Faisal, juz bring the gift together with u juz in case i can make it :)

Hahah put up signs directing to roti john TTDI laa :lol:

Eh, crash...not tomorrow. It's on thursday ;) [/b][/quote]
lol...then maybe all the SR3 wannabes also will join in :P

prozac - oops, i mean thursday.

Hey fellas,

Why don't you guys do a review of your car? I'm curious to know how you find the car - the pros, cons, gripes, etc.

Ok my review
Hope you all dont mind the FR format :P

pro - superb handling in conners,
- great feeback from the steering wheel (which has its cons),
- brakes are supperb (i mean u can really brake very very late and
scare the shit out of your passengers)
- ride over speed bumb is superb even with a full load of passengers
- Other gender apeal ---->> a great no no (the squealing brakes is a big
factor, but some gals do like the interior red & back design)
- Testosterone appeal --->> need i say more??

cons- refering back to the great feeback from the steering wheel. With the
condition of our malaysian roads. driving hard in conners can be scary due
to the uneven surface (well there is nothing wrong with the car, just that
being a track car, its more at home on the tract rather then our kl roads)
- ride is abit harsh (it really depends on the road condition, but its acceptable
(what do u expect??-BMW comfort?)

Grips - buid quality of course...
1) buzzing sound from the centre consol which comes on and off
2) cant blast bassy music as the speaker console will vibrate like mad
3) glove compartment which is also buzzing from time to time
4) the jack in the boot cant be holstered properly, hence during hard
conners the back will emit a "loud" metal knocking metal sound!!

Conclusion - Its a driver's car...if you want an extremely maneuverable car with great handling powers, this is the car to get. For people who work late like me (after 10pm) , I am able to releave my stress by blasting through the streets and attacking conners at Kerinchi link. That reminds me that my hard earn money is put to good use :lol:

Thanks for the review lala.

I've just set-up an appointment for my first service - on January 5th! AIyo. Mutiara SC is fully booked till then. By that time i think I will be doing the 1,000km and 3,000km service at the same time! :/

Crash, wah i bet your mileage is already in the 1500km region....why book so late? Have you rev your car above 3k rpm?

Yeah tell me about the SC!! A word of advice, reach there at 7:20am. Take an appointment # from behind the SC counter (take it yourself, the lady in charge will not be in that early). Pls dont take leave for this. Leave your car there in the morning and only come back in the evening to collect your car.

Comfort similar to BMW??? Definately. BMW Z4 comfort la ;)

Originally posted by handsome_lala@Dec 29 2004, 17:35
Crash, wah i bet your mileage is already in the 1500km region....why book so late? Have you rev your car above 3k rpm?

Yeah tell me about the SC!! A word of advice, reach there at 7:20am. Take an appointment # from behind the SC counter (take it yourself, the lady in charge will not be in that early). Pls dont take leave for this. Leave your car there in the morning and only come back in the evening to collect your car.
yes, already 1500kms. Seriously overdue dude. No thanks to the holidays and the fully booked SC. i've revved up to 4K, and that's it. Max speed so far - 140km/h. I set an appointment at 7.30am.

Oh btw, some asswipe scratched my car, near Kakimotor Sunway today. I hope he dies in a car crash. Or his arm drops off from polio. Or both at once. F*cktard.

aikkss !!!

did the retard scratch your car on purpose or is it an accident?
In both cases...still a retard!!

Deliberate of course. Absolutely no obstruction whatsoever. Punk ass bitch.

Read all about it - http://www.macxcess.com/vblog/2004/12/fucktards-united.html

NOT HAPPY! :angry:

There are many people out there jealous about this car. So watch your back, guys.

i feel ur pain man...though mine not purposely one...but my car already got scratch from a car touching my rear bumper a bit...a small dent on the left door(definately somebody's motorcycle :angry: ) also some chipped paints around the door since some of my frens(even me sometimes) open the door to wide n hit a wall/vase :(

edit: btw bout the speaker thing...might as well change ur speakers or sumthing so that u can turn ur music louder...i changed my ICE to my old car's...a very very cheap ICE system which suits me very well :P

Ok...my not-so-short review:

Looks:

Nothing much to say about the looks. It's just another black Satria with a GTi bodykit. Only the racing stripes and X-drilled and slotted brakes seperate it from the rest. I personally feel the sticker design should've been airbrushed instead of being a....sticker. Anybody up for a group airbrush package? The interior is a love-it-or-hate-it affair. I personally think it's unique (especially the red seatbelts) and befits the image. Let's just say, this car gets a lot of 2nd takes. People glance first, look away...then stare all the way.

For some reason it only tends to attract the attention of males. Darn. But for that reason, girls, THIS is the car you should drive.

Performance:

I've driven a couple of modded GTis before and would dare say this car would equal or even surpass a GTi with light mods (Mits ECU, manifold, intake, exhaust). The revs climb up very easily from 4000rpm all the way to redline. Tried a test sprint with 3 of my colleagues in the car, aircond on, and got 0-100km/h in 9.8 secs. Didn't dare take it further as the engine wasn't run in yet. As for the adertised stock GTi figures...ahem..ahem you know lah. Top speed achieved so far was 185km/h, limited by my lack of courage. However the speed was achieved without much effort.

Handling:

This is the car's forte. Every corner just begs you to take it faster. You'll find yourself accelerating in most corners. Just as physics tries some hanky-panky, the car catches itself back before you can even hear a tyre squeal for more than half a second. Roll is very much reduced, thanks to the front and rear ARBs. However, wet handling needs a lot of confidence due to the nature of the tyres. You need to be awake when it's raining.

Steering is very tight and heavy; great for high speeds. It also responds very quickly to sudden twitch responses so you know you'll every milimeter of nudging has a reply. Feedback is very pronounced, as a lot of the road surface is communicated back directly to the driver. My only qualm is that the direction of the steering wheel can change suddenly over certain bumps, making you hold on to it for dear life at speeds in excess of 150km/h (on Malaysian roads, anyway)

Brakes work as advertised. I've personally tested this. But please give your loved ones earplugs for Xmas. Lest they damage their hearing as your high-pitched Mintex pads annouces your arrival.

Comfort/NVH:

IMO, it's only slightly louder than a Wira 1.6XLi. Road noise is also attributed to the noisy quasi-slick Yokohamas. However, the engine's acoustics is an experience on its own. Listening to the 4G93P sing its way to redline is aural heaven to car freaks like me. In other words, if I wanted a quiet car, I would've bought an Optra. In any case, if you're really serious about NVH (goodness knows why you'd want to mute a performance car; my biggest complaint about the 745 was that I couldn't hear the V8), there are many ICE experts out there who will gladly silence your car better than any other Proton.

Ride comfort is similar to many other sports cars. Nothing to shout about, but hardly a reason to call your orthopedic for approval. "Firm" is the best word to describe it. Not bone jarring in any way, unlike some aftermarket suspension kits. The seats are super supportive but may be a little too tight for some, so have a seat in it first before you decide.

Economy:

Getting 9km/l on average. I've driven worse cars. But on the other hand they are not even halfway near the performance of the SR3. Then again, I no longer drive as economically as I did in my previous cars. I feel the consumption to performance ratio is well justified.

So was this car worth it? Hell yeah! Sure, for the same amount of money I could've had a Getz, City, Vios, Optra or some awful MPV. But I wouldn't take those cars to SIC. And in my book, if the car doesn't belong there, it doesn't belong in my garage. No way.