Project " Saving the Old Lady "

Dayummm...that there's some really sweet rims, dude!

Test drive? tak nak lah....shy leh....hehehe (shy-shy cat)

Seriously cool project you have there! I've been looking for one too now~ haha, but its too hard to find, my friend spotted some 260Z here in Sabah, but 240Z is too rare. haha. Wish me luck too so that I can feel the excitement you have too LOL:biggrin: :biggrin: CNY is approaching now, wish your project can be done soon!

Can I come and have a view to your car when I come to KL in the near future? :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

Keep up the good work!

This looks great! saw the project from the AMC Motorsasia. Great pics! Love the classics. Can't wait to see it done up! I have an old Merc 190E which I did up my way and I love it. So I can understand how doing this up feels like! Anyways hope to see more pics!!

Just because of Wangan Devil, love to see this car on the roads! Saw some Americans putting in those Skyline engines in these models. With great chasis and a monster of an engine, this will sure be one hell of a sports car
. Good luck!

hi guys,

finally confirm wht shoes she will wear when she first done...this is the front and rear..but problem is one pair with chrome lips the other not..can it polish it or something??..need advice..

front 15" x 9.5jj offset -25
dakannai-img600x450-1199683686p1010.jpg

dakannai-img600x450-1199683692p1010.jpg

rear 15" x 11.5jj offset -44
fakemaster1971-img600x450-120200780.jpg

fakemaster1971-img600x450-120200781.jpg

can share it out where you get the rim?

but u decide to polish and spray it again?

bv,

all the rims are from Yahoo auction Japan. as for the rear set, really no idea...amnywhere in KL tht provide the service of polishing rims?...:hmmmm:

its been ages and finally the body restoration work is almost fully done. The car is now having its outer surface work, ready for paint next week.

Decided to finish her up as a ZG now though.

Will post more a week or 2 from now with the body colour. Thanks

IMG_0129.jpg

Tony,
Awaiting your good news bro~ The car has been done up really nice~~

A very touching story....But I need to ask, how do you handle old chassis softening problem ?

Its been under the harsh weather for 8 years, am I right ?

Just curious to know :)

depends la, bro. depends on the car usage. if everyday drive on normal road, normal driving style (as oppose to stunt driving style), no crazy-horse-power engine, the chassis strength is adequate. Everything Nominal la.

Anyway, for me if I got a 30+ year car (with a cult car status), I won't even want to taram-taram the car with any fancy driving sh**, or load the car with unnecessary stress on the chassis. I drive it gently so that people can properly look and admire my car.

uthinkucandrive,

chasis softening problem..perhaps u're wondering the floor pan or metal sheet repair. The whole body restoration work consumed 8 peices of 4' by 4' metal sheet, cut and reshape. For the chasis main frame, they're basically 2 big steel frame running from the rear to the front. Tht too, we have to refabricate it from the steel shop and replaced it onto the chasis. Making sure the chasis is still as staright as it suppose to be was rather a messy job. If u ask me how long the car would last, with proper antirust, undercoat, paint, car wash and care..next 10-15 years should not be an issue.

ken yeang,

exactly. Wouldnt wanna dump in anything monster to the car. If wan to drive fast, why this Z?..:)
Will be running the L Series engine, stroke with webers, cam, plus the cross gear tranny..i think tht should make it quick enough on the road, like the old days....:driver:

kenken,

bought the rims front and rear seperately as they were from the auction. They cost me around 9k to bring them back here with duties and all...

Tony - With the high cost of things nowadays, how's the car coming along?

And I wanna ask - how did you settle the ownership of the abandoned junk? Meaning, car registration and road tax and all that?