Porsche...too dangerous to drive

well thats in the bolehland of the good ol' US of A mah...

if ppl accidentally kicked a pebble in front of ur house also you can be sued in court for causing accident !!

For the lazy :D

I met and talked with the Porsche AG factory driver who did testing on the very street where the La Jolla accident ocurred. He also testified in court about the accident and his findings. I got to read thru his report of his work and a detailed analysis of the trial.

Seems the woman driver left the stoplight, full power straight ahead. No traffic. At about 65 mph, entered a left curve, lifted power, oversteer started, foot on the brake, rotation continued to side impact on passenger side, killng passenger. Passenger was a friend of husband.

The speed of 65 was determined by the factory driver who could not make the curve that speed.

He reported that the trial was going well until the defense noticed that the brake pedal arm was broken, and that in the cross-section of the fracture was a large cavity from a bubble in the casting. They introduced this as evidence that the pedal broke when brakes were applied, and that the car therefore caused the accident because of that flaw in the metallurgy of the brake pedal.

The factory tested and could not duplicate a condition where a driver, even sitting well to the side of the seat, could develop enough lateral force to break ANY pedal. The did, however, demonstrate that a brake pedal could be consistently broken if the driver was sitting normally in the seat, pressing straight on the brake pedal with a high force that the woman driver could have put on the pedal, and the car suffered a side impact of the severity that this accident produced. The inertia would drive the leg sideways, putting lateral force on the pedal, and breaking it exactly in the same place as the accident car's pedal was broken.

It is believed that this factor (bad brake pedal) swayed the jury. "Blame the brakes" indeed.

Date: Mon, 22 Apr 1996 21:28:02 -0400
Subject: Re: Dead lawyers and irony - vaguely Porsche related

Chuck Olson asks

>Is this in reference to the Porsche Turbo multi-million $ suit a
>few years back, which found the company produced a car that was too
>dangerous for the average driver to control in a turn or some other such
>nonsense?
>
>How did that ever come out - I faintly recall (no pun) something about
forced
>design changes in addition to several million $ of monetary damages ....

Hi, Chuck.

The details of the story are even better than your brief recap. Some rich
butthead's wife had the usual 5-martini lunch or whatever. Then proceeded to
go out on a rain-slick curving road in San Diego County (Californians can't
drive worth a damn in the rain when they're sober, never mind when they're
sloshed) and wrapped Turbo and self around tree. The tree is going to be OK
but the other two parties were totalled. Now Rich Butthead sues Porsche for
selling him a car with "unusually high horsepower" and not warning him that
the car could be dangerous to drive. But what Butthead's attorney failed to
mention is the fact that the Turbo was not even sold in the U.S. for that
model year; Butthead had gone to great lengths to bring this one in from
Canada and have it federalized. Porsche got into trouble when they were
subpoenaed for an internal document describing handling tests, I believe on
the Nuerburgring. The test driver had used the word "giftig" to describe its
handling, which can be translated, but translated erroneously, as
"poisonous." "Giftig" in this context is actually a compliment, somewhat like
"aggressive." Or our more modern "*****in'."Anyway, somebody at Porsche USA
(I know who it is, and he retired honorably a few years later) altered the
document to read something other than "giftig" but the opposition somehow got
hold of the unaltered document and they made all sorts of noise about
evidence tampering etc. and Porsche lost the suit. As part of the trial they
even had Porsche race drivers come in and try to duplicate the feat. I think
Juergen Barth worked on this one. Even a skilled Porsche driver could not get
around the turn with the amount of speed this woman had on the car.

will they sue the HKS for making a 600hp gtr but not able to take a corner with 200kmh? :P

proton better dont sell to US if not very easy to get sue....especially those fitted with sime tyre one....once raining then become initial-D... :P

mahaiz....sime tyres suxx.....fregin hard compound...since links mentioned it...hehe
wanna change to AD07 edi >. this morning rain,i was on federal,i was hydroplanning damn kao...

my sime tyre made me spin 3 rounds while taking a 30 degree corner at a speed of 40kmh. the rear tyre lost traction due to a small pour of water.....then faster change to bigger rim and dunlop fm901.....b4 that exeprienced atleast 3 times tryre lock while light braking in the rain...

Is most proton come with sime tyre as ori???

links said:
my sime tyre made me spin 3 rounds while taking a 30 degree corner at a speed of 40kmh. the rear tyre lost traction due to a small pour of water.....then faster change to bigger rim and dunlop fm901.....b4 that exeprienced atleast 3 times tryre lock while light braking in the rain...

Is most proton come with sime tyre as ori???

where did you got your FM 901 from?
wanted to gt the tyres,but the tire shop guy told me that it's not manufactured any more.
wonder where else got stock.

gobiz said:
talking about porsches, did anyone read about the carrera gt crash that killed the driver and passenger recently....in the US

very sad news, who cares about cars when lives and family are involved

http://www.supercars.net/PitLane?viewThread=y&gID=0&fID=2&tID=41450

Mclaren F1 also famouse for its tough chassis which claimed to be safest in the world last time..but still a few Mclaren F1 crashed and the driver died....

Ferrar F40 also famouse for crashes and the driver killed....super cars are super killer becoz the driver may not be able to control the beast.....

Drive fast is dangerous....drive super fast is killing....

Most dangerous of all are those open top sportscars where there is nearly no protection in case of a flipover. Thank goodness our weather just don't permit them to be practical.