PLS HELP!!! cross member cracked

GSR5559

jus wana ask how much does it costs to replace not planning to re-weld or else it will crack again. so wht is a brand new price for a cross member + installation cost for a proton satria 1.6 chassis. and wht brand to get that can last longer, get from chop shop those from japan made or local ones from proton. my horizontal cross member can see cracks due to old age of car i guess..hahah

anyone replace that before and isit a big hell of a job to get it replace? and do they replace the whole cross member or i can choose to replace the horizontal bar without touching the vertical bar unless it cracks also le.
lastly wher can i do this kind of replacement of cross member?
mud guard shop?

thankz

i tot cross member is simple enuff to be changed? especially when u replace the engine's lower rubber mounting...is that the one that u meant?

im not veri sure which part u meant. but thankz for ur info

actually it is a bar wher u place the engine mounting to hold on the engine bay.

usually it will crack due to freuqent drag. it is a bar wher the radiator placed on top.

I think I know what item you are talking about.

Is it the metal beam that goes at the bottom of the engine - from the front to the rear and it hold the 2 engine mountings??

If this is the item just buy it from any chop shop, at the same time maybe u can enquire whether there is any difference in strength between say a 1.3 model with a 1.6 model or even with a one coming from an EVO engine. After all Proton & Mitsubishi engine come from the same stable - this assuming you are enquiring about a Proton.

depends on what gearbox u using. gsr or proton gbox. diffrent cosmember.

bro...do try Rong Fa workshop in front of N1 Racing there....last time i also broke my crossmember....sent my car there...the fella did a heavy duty welding job on it....been driving with it for 4 months now...and trust me...im a very hard driver....serious i give this workshop a two thumb's up....

if look for the recon cross member, try to get 4G93T to replace, if u can get include

front anti roll bar, that's become more perfact in ur handling... :D
93T cross member is slightly different compare with normal NA engine.

thankz for all da info. btw i dun think it is called cross member, from wht i heard my mech said it is the car front panel. he said it is considered quite a big werk to do. need to take out bumper and headlites. actually the thing dat i was assuming cross member all the while, i think it is called front panel. dat piece dat is cracked, on top of that is the radiator attached to it. u know wher those intercooler attached to it, dats the bar dat is cracked. my mech told me usually cars go for freuqent drag wuld crack easily. it is best to get a replacement from chop shop cus it is from japan, and not from taiwan as all the proton parts come from nowadays.

i hope someone know wht im trying to explain here, as i am not sure wht i am talking about here. my mech said they need to tke the whole front panel out and replace it with the other front panel. i wonder how much wuld it cost? jus fro ur info again, radiator is attached on top of that bar and intercooler usually will be mounted to that piece of bar. i cant find any ideas to explain more about it. i think cross member will only come after the front panel thingy rite? means intercooler > front panel > cross member. usually modify car will face this front panel crack thingy. jus my 2 cents

how much is the werkmanship and the whole front panel. pls let me know for my own reference. thankz

i think u r talking bout FRONT RADIATOR PANEL.....tat one u can weld but not last longer....

radiator panel hold ur front structure.....if u weld it....it wil weaken the chassis...

change it le.....very cheap only....get new one la

chop shop mostly r mmc one....if change to mmc one...i not sure whether wira headlamp can be fit o not....

GSR5559 said:
thankz for all da info. btw i dun think it is called cross member, from wht i heard my mech said it is the car front panel. he said it is considered quite a big werk to do. need to take out bumper and headlites. actually the thing dat i was assuming cross member all the while, i think it is called front panel. dat piece dat is cracked, on top of that is the radiator attached to it. u know wher those intercooler attached to it, dats the bar dat is cracked. my mech told me usually cars go for freuqent drag wuld crack easily. it is best to get a replacement from chop shop cus it is from japan, and not from taiwan as all the proton parts come from nowadays.

i hope someone know wht im trying to explain here, as i am not sure wht i am talking about here. my mech said they need to tke the whole front panel out and replace it with the other front panel. i wonder how much wuld it cost? jus fro ur info again, radiator is attached on top of that bar and intercooler usually will be mounted to that piece of bar. i cant find any ideas to explain more about it. i think cross member will only come after the front panel thingy rite? means intercooler > front panel > cross member. usually modify car will face this front panel crack thingy. jus my 2 cents

how much is the werkmanship and the whole front panel. pls let me know for my own reference. thankz

evo3gsr: yeah i know it wont last long if i weld it, i think i welded for 3 times oredi. and yeah i saw that bar is holding the radiator, and intercooler is attached to that bar. i know those front panel in chopshop is imported, the prob is installation. i think labour will cost more than the front panel man. roughly how mych do u htink i need to do up this mess. the situation im facing right now because of that crack is wen i drag or prssure my front, i can hear loud knocking sound. eg: reversing out from a slope with steering turn into one side, i can hear knocking one time wen i accelerate out. or while dragging or hard breaking got knocking sound as well.

agasl: i think it is not crossmember, cus from wht i heard my mech told me is not crossmember but front panel. i showed them wen i was in the werkshop, another car was stripped, they told me front panel and kinda big job to do. need to dismantle almost evrythin in the front, including headlamps, bumper and etc. it is considered as the car chassis oredi from wht i see the bar connecting to.

anymore coments about this part, still not sue aout the labour cost. and another thing is if i leave it for quite some time, will it reli crack and my whole engine will fall off?
kinda scary actually.