Oil Cooler for ER34

Innocente, you got the ride already? From the place you mentioned to me??

Driftmeister, I guess one of the reason why the Trust units are so expensive is because of the fittings and hoses (Earls) and NOT the cooler itself.

Sigh......me still looking for budget. :confused_smile:

1.8k is consider cheap investment
consider a blown engine will cost you double than that anytime

Thanks or the responses. I have placed the necessary $$ to get things moving with that car in Kajang :) If all goes well, I should get it by the week after this. Checked the AP. All seemed to be in order.

I too think the oil cooler is a good investment. If there isn't any cheaper + equally good alternative.. I guess trust it is. Where could this be fitted ?

V Spec II, do you still have contacts to get the Q8 oils ? Would want to change the oils ASAP when I get the car. I think the car has been on the road very minimally for the past few months, with the import process and all. The oil filter is a very common part, is it not ? Could it be obtained in any spare part shops ?

Thanks a bunch..you guys are really helpful.

to my opinion, i think the oil cooler is not necessary unless u drive spiritted driving all the time & drive yr ride like on the track.....often where u gear up, gear down, hi-rev. Cos the oil these days claim can withstand hi temp. But engine wise, ermmm...rb can tahan or not? mine on hi way cruise about the middle indicator on the oil temp gauge for the GTT. how much is tht huh? but after slow down, can see come down very fast.
just my 2 cents. correct me if i m wrong.

satigue
Middle of the gauge mean around 100 and 110 C

Innocente, good to hear that. :regular_smile:
Yes if you need Q8 Oils, you can get it off me. Am still selling the oils. I have ready stocks at home.

Hi YB Satique,

Middle is too high for highway cruise. I usually get on the first click which is around 85 to 90 C. Blasting up to Genting on full throttle all the way only get me halfway pint (110 C). Anyway it all boils down to what kind of driver and engine mod you are doing to the car.

I believe the oil nowadays is pretty good at protecting the engine. The Oil Cooler is an added insurance. Once u start boosting the car then you will eventually need the oil cooler. Just a matter of when only.

Im using some Aussie oil specifically for Turbocharged car, it comes in 5 litre pack, now on a budget so i changed them every 5k km's. Previously was Motul 300V and used to run them until 8-10k's. Price wise it's the same if count the km's but i rather change them more regularly instead.

Hope you get you ride Innocente.

Excellent inputs. I'm a paranoid safe-than-sorry guy. Hence, oil cooler would be a must :)

Then again, I'm in the insurance biz...it's my nature... heh.

How many litres of oil is needed for the RB25 ? With and without the oil cooler ? Plus can the oil filter be obtained from any spare part shop ?

Driftmeister : What Aussie oil ? Sounds interesting... I wonder would eneos do the trick ? I use to use that oil in my Perdana and I felt it gave the best driving feel. Engine was smoother compared to when i tried the Q8. Then again, Perdana is a whole different type of "car".

With the oil filter replaced? It should be around 4.3 litres (much like the PV6).
The oil filter can be obtained from any spare parts shop.

If including the cooler, well it depends on the size of the cooler but should be around 0.5 litres or so.

Shares the same with local Nissans.

I know mine came with 5 litre can (Anglomoil - Australian made), everything went in maybe bcos i had the oil cooler. Better sent to a proper workshop who does skyline, they will get the right oil filter. If you're hyper paranoid then use the SARD filter that has a magnet that makes all the metal particle stuck into them for your first service then use the normal original on next service.

No worries about the oil filter (15208-53J00). Can get in any spare parts shop. Probably cost you RM18 bucks.

does installing a bigger intercooler help to reduce the temp?

the intercooler wont directly help to reduce the oil temps, cos its really for the charged air from the turbo thats its only helping, meaning it will help with ur boosting settings and future hp power mods. so therefore cool air means more hp....then cool air means better engine temps...so kinda helps indirectly....but essential u needed for high boost settings...

oil coolers, inter coolers, automatic transmission coolers....the name says it all : "coolers"

everything helps, its all connected...so its all down to money....if i had da money...i had install every fricking thing available....

ManR34 said:
the intercooler wont directly help to reduce the oil temps, cos its really for the charged air from the turbo thats its only helping, meaning it will help with ur boosting settings and future hp power mods. so therefore cool air means more hp....then cool air means better engine temps...so kinda helps indirectly....but essential u needed for high boost settings...

oil coolers, inter coolers, automatic transmission coolers....the name says it all : "coolers"

everything helps, its all connected...so its all down to money....if i had da money...i had install every fricking thing available....

Guess there is plenty of things for me to learn about turbo vehicle. So far i have been with na and love it pretty much, now its time to try out the wicked turbo hehehe...:_:

I think the intercooler will indirectly help to cool down the engine as taking in much cold air is better then the hot air:_:

"after some studies, intercooler won't help to reduce the temp but it will help to increasing density of the charge as it cools"

Trust Oil Cooler

Thought I put in my review of the Trust Oil Cooler. With the results, I think it is absolutely necessary to fit in an oil cooler.

Installed mine yesterday and immediately see results.

Prior to having an oil cooler, during normal driving my temperature varies from 95-100 degrees. Boost it for a period of time and it may hit 110 degrees easily.

After installation and driving for about 200kms.. the temperature does not even exceed 95. Normal driving, the temperature stays around 85 degrees. With about 30 mins of spirited driving, the temperature goes only a little bit over the 90 degrees marker. I suppose it is only about 92-93 degrees.

Now I can floor the beast without having to worry about the temperature :)

Thanks guys (especially Drift) for information & guidance !

Cool Innocente....now u can drive like you stole. hehehehe...now u can go outstation blast without any worry. :-)

Innocente said:
Thought I put in my review of the Trust Oil Cooler. With the results, I think it is absolutely necessary to fit in an oil cooler.

Installed mine yesterday and immediately see results.

Thanks guys (especially Drift) for information & guidance !

bro can pm or tell us how much u bought the oil cooler and where u got it?

Oil Cooler

I had mine installed @ Wangan Racing Sunway for 1.9k (inclusive of installation). However, I was told this is a very special price as they got this round of stock cheaper (apparently some offer thing). They still have a 10 rows kit for a GTR going for RM2.2k (as advertised on their shelf). This GTR is to be mounted on the driver side fender on a 45 degrees angle. If I am not mistaken, it should be able to fit a GTT that way as well. The difference was RM300 and i wasn't about to pay that as I doubt I'll ever fit in a FM Intercooler. That is with the exception of a sudden windfall whereby a RB28 Tomei engine would accidentally find its way to my bay :) Then this GTT would become a GTR killer.. :boxing:

Anyway, they would be bringing new stock should people require it. I was told the price wouldn't be 1.9k anymore. Probably 2.1k or something like that. You may call them @ +60356211148 to enquire.

I was told Quartermile has fresh new stock on oil coolers as well. Worth a drop by to check em' out.

Having said all that.. I would highly recommend to get one fitted. Trust should probably pay me & drift for promoting their products. LOL !

P/S: There is a HKS alternative.. a couple of hundred more.. Don't know about the quality and hoses though.