OBD - On Board Diagnostics

et_box

Hi

1) Does anyone know where is the OBD located?

2) SVT - does it have OBD 1 or 2?

Thank you!

well, i heard that the svt has OBD1 and bt has OBD2..

the problem is, i transplanted an svt into an LE, so, i cant seem to locate it... in the first place, does the obd even exist?:confused:

I don't think SVT is OBD II coz OBD II is those produced after '96/97, if I remember correctly.

OBD II has it's Diagnosis socket inside the car, driver side, under the dashboard; if I'm not wrong.

I don't think SVT is OBD II coz OBD II is those produced after '96/97, if I remember correctly.

OBD II has it's Diagnosis socket inside the car, driver side, under the dashboard; if I'm not wrong.

ya u r right....ODB II inside the car, SVT socket at igniter there...right?

so, would it be safe to say that the OBD for svt is located in the engine bay... and:

OBD = Diagnostics which is located next to the fuse box?

Is there such a thing that can convert the OBD socket to an OBD2 socket?

I'm sorry for asking such a "no brainer question" as it's clear that OBD means On Board Diagnostics... i'm kinda confused and would just want to know where would the svt OBD be since everyone says that svt has OBD1... and i'm really considering getting a ScanGauge2 if it's compatible with the svt... thanks a mil!!!

ya u r right....ODB II inside the car, SVT socket at igniter there...right?

My BEAMS is an OBD2 but I'm not sure where the original location should be coz my dasboard is a modded one but mine is located under the dash on the driver side.

so, would it be safe to say that the OBD for svt is located in the engine bay... and:

OBD = Diagnostics which is located next to the fuse box?

Is there such a thing that can convert the OBD socket to an OBD2 socket?

I'm sorry for asking such a "no brainer question" as it's clear that OBD means On Board Diagnostics... i'm kinda confused and would just want to know where would the svt OBD be since everyone says that svt has OBD1... and i'm really considering getting a ScanGauge2 if it's compatible with the svt... thanks a mil!!!

On my BT, the Diagnosis socket is located beside the ignition coil.

I'm no expert but I don't think the you can convert the OBD socket to an OBD 2 socket is the pins inside it may not correspond to your ECU.

Don't worry about any no brainer questions, bro. I'm no expert either :biggrin:, just sharing what we know. As for the ScanGauge2, I have no idea if it's compatible as the SVT doesn't seem to be in the list:
http://www.scangauge.com/support/CompatibleVehicles.shtml

However, I think that it'll be risky (as I believe this Scangauge is American made) to be compatible with JDM spec engines, bro.

BLKTOP & SVTOP (VVT engines) are both OBD I
all VVTi engines are OBD II

the OBD II socket for the BEAMS engine is located under the dash at the driver side .. 2O2R is correct .. :adore:

BLKTOP & SVTOP (VVT engines) are both OBD I
all VVTi engines are OBD II

the OBD II socket for the BEAMS engine is located under the dash at the driver side .. 2O2R is correct .. :adore:

Thanks for the confirmation, bro. If I'm not mistaken, you're the one whom recently sold your Beams SEG, QiW ?

Any tips / advise for a Beams newbie ?:adore:

ya .. i sold my BEAMS in JUNE .. now regret abit liau laa .. hahahahaa

the BEAMS engine runs very hot ... much hotter than BT or SVT .. hopefully u have gotten a dual layer aluminium radiator for it laa .. other than that just do your normal regular maintennce .. u can oso try wrapping your exhaust headers with those thermal wraps as it keeps the engine bay much cooler ..

another thing is this engine design very dependant on air intake .. only use HKS power flow (mushroom head type) or something similar for it .. i once used those apexi ones and power dropped alot .. :driver:

ya .. i sold my BEAMS in JUNE .. now regret abit liau laa .. hahahahaa

the BEAMS engine runs very hot ... much hotter than BT or SVT .. hopefully u have gotten a dual layer aluminium radiator for it laa .. other than that just do your normal regular maintennce .. u can oso try wrapping your exhaust headers with those thermal wraps as it keeps the engine bay much cooler ..

another thing is this engine design very dependant on air intake .. only use HKS power flow (mushroom head type) or something similar for it .. i once used those apexi ones and power dropped alot .. :driver:

Thanks very much for the advise, bro.

In my case, I guess I've the temperature under control. I'm using a double row aluminium radiator coz mine was an AT halfcut, so it came with a double row but I'm using the MT gear box from my previous 3S-GE engine. You mean the MT came with only single row radiator ? I also fitted an oil cooler. I used to wrap my headers on my previous 3S-GE but after some time, the wrap gets rotten away. So these days, I'm lazy to do it again. Hehehe.For air filter, I'm using a K&N.

Have you dyno your Beams, bro ? Mind sharing the result ? Or maybe you can PM me the results if you don't want it public. I understand. I'm asking coz I want to compare my results to see if my engine's healthy, that's all.

Have you done any mods to it ? Any advise on what to upgrade & where to get the parts ? I understand that there's quite limited upgrade stuff for the Beams.

I'd really appreciate all the advise / pointers on how to improve the engine from a "Beams Senior" like you, bro.:adore::adore::adore:

Thanks very much for the advise, bro.

In my case, I guess I've the temperature under control. I'm using a double row aluminium radiator coz mine was an AT halfcut, so it came with a double row but I'm using the MT gear box from my previous 3S-GE engine. You mean the MT came with only single row radiator ? I also fitted an oil cooler. I used to wrap my headers on my previous 3S-GE but after some time, the wrap gets rotten away. So these days, I'm lazy to do it again. Hehehe.For air filter, I'm using a K&N.

Have you dyno your Beams, bro ? Mind sharing the result ? Or maybe you can PM me the results if you don't want it public. I understand. I'm asking coz I want to compare my results to see if my engine's healthy, that's all.

Have you done any mods to it ? Any advise on what to upgrade & where to get the parts ? I understand that there's quite limited upgrade stuff for the Beams.

I'd really appreciate all the advise / pointers on how to improve the engine from a "Beams Senior" like you, bro.:adore::adore::adore:

oil cooler not necessary as this engine oil is water cooled .. hehehe
there is not much u can do unless u got loads of $$$ ..

my former BEAMS ran on adjustable exhaust pulley .. lightened crank pulley ... that went with the car
i had a chance to fit in OEM clutch type LSD with TODA flywheel .. a world of difference in handling .. hahahaahaa .. sold it off already b4 selling car ..
the stock BEAMS manual GB is VISCOUS LSD ..

wear and tear in my former BEAMS was very high as i took part regularly in rather engine stressing events .. hahaha
the 1st year i had the car .. dyno-ed at 168whp / 202Nm at speedworks ..
when i sold the car i think maybe got 135whp only laaa .. so u imagine the wear and tear .. no oil leaks no makan engine oil ... but it time to do a major overhaul already laa .. hahahaaa

dont worry too much about the BEAMS la .. its close to un-bustable .. superior in terms of trashability without going kaboom compared to the 20v (i have owned 2 units of 20v b4 already) .. haahahahaa
so my words to u are .. just drive and enjoy the car .. its the driver that makes the difference .. :driver:

wahhh...
it's been such a long long time Sifoo Alan didn't post this long...

Alan are you ok aaaa ? Do you feeling well ? :hmmmm: :burnout: :burnout:

wahhh...
it's been such a long long time Sifoo Alan didn't post this long...

Alan are you ok aaaa ? Do you feeling well ? :hmmmm: :burnout: :burnout:

actually yesterday not feeling well MC at home .. hahahahaa

long replies will get deleted one issit ?? huahahahaaa

my former BEAMS ran on adjustable exhaust pulley .. lightened crank pulley ... that went with the car
i had a chance to fit in OEM clutch type LSD with TODA flywheel .. a world of difference in handling .. hahahaahaa .. sold it off already b4 selling car ..
the stock BEAMS manual GB is VISCOUS LSD ..

wear and tear in my former BEAMS was very high as i took part regularly in rather engine stressing events .. hahaha
the 1st year i had the car .. dyno-ed at 168whp / 202Nm at speedworks ..

Sifu Alan,

The 168 whp is with all those goodies/upgrade parts you mentioned fitted or without ?

dont worry too much about the BEAMS la .. its close to un-bustable .. superior in terms of trashability without going kaboom compared to the 20v (i have owned 2 units of 20v b4 already) .. haahahahaa
so my words to u are .. just drive and enjoy the car .

Thanks very much for the advise, sifu...:adore::adore::adore:

its the driver that makes the difference .. :driver:

That quote is for good drivers. For other lousy drivers like me, it's easier to put the blame on the car.....:laugh:

without any mods ...
lightened crank pulley and lightened flywheel only improves throttle response ..
adjustable cam pulley changes the power band range ..