Hmmm, that's not what my friend told me. He returned from Japan (overseas posting) and brought back his Merc.
He says that based on the date stated on your car's registration card, the amount of taxation when u bring in to Malaysia will depend on. Basically Andreas, for example if u have a 10 y/o S2000 that's worth RM 150k after de-value in number of years stated on the Registration Card. So the Import duties/tax will be on the RM 150k that is the current value in the market. Also, the CC of the car. Maximum amount of import duties they can impose are 165%.
My friend got the new Merc but got the dealer to declare it as 6 years old on the Registration Card which was in Japanese to save on the tax.
Apply AP from MITI no charge .. except a few ringgit for Form..
No difference if you r a student/profesional..
Live in the country for more than 1 year... own the car for more than 9 months.
10% devalued every for year.... less than 6 years
70% off evaluated value for a 6 year old car..
10% devalued every year after 6 years
Japanese made car get 25% off the initial value too....... then you times the value of the car with engine capacity ... that would be the tax that you need to pay...
U may want to see the discussion board on the following as they have discussed it extensively:
Importing A Vehicle To Malaysia
Use this calculator to estimate how much are the import duties u've got to pay:
http://www.floristhut.com/taxkastam.htm
Hope it helps u decide whether to bring in your car or not.