Need opinion

km_chew

Can anyone tell me the advantage of using either of this head unit?

Pioneer 9650 or Alpine 9835

go for alpine...its sound reproduction is crispier if ur using its amp.generally,HU is jes de source...the anti skip is fantabulous~!
besides...alpines look ol' skool...classy in its way

pioneer is deng good too~!! depends on how u use these two,the swivel motors are durable to its brand qc level.i'd trust alpines more.IMHO

Originally posted by PocketRocket@Feb 27 2005, 14:12
go for alpine...its sound reproduction is crispier if ur using its amp.generally,HU is jes de source...the anti skip is fantabulous~!
besides...alpines look ol' skool...classy in its way

pioneer is deng good too~!! depends on how u use these two,the swivel motors are durable to its brand qc level.i'd trust alpines more.IMHO
bro, i would not fully agree with you. Although HU was just the reading source however its also the crucial part. this is where all the signal was being process. So getting the right HU is very important too. its abt to determine the 40% of your sound SQ.

Well generally, Pioneer 9650 and Alpine 9835 both is a great unit. Both comes with 6 chl TA, xover and also 5 band parametric EQ which is more thn enaugh for most of the user. however, i'ved heard around plp saying that Pioneer 9650 EQ is not as accurate as alpine 9835. this one im not too sure.

pioneer 8650 comes wit 6 chn time allignment...digital xover...n also 13 band equalizer.....

I dunno but i'll go for pioneer. My view is that particular alpine model sound too bright for me. Pioneer softer and more relaxing. Just opinion..

Really wanna thanks you all for the opinion. If i am more to hiphop musics, which HU will produce a better SQ?

i will be using all of the preouts and the diffrence of this 2 unit is

Alpine 9835 (4v)
Pioneer 9650 (6.5v)

any diffrence if i plug this preout to my electronic crossover?

thanks for the help! noob here ;)

go for the pionner. I like the display and most function is accesible via remote.

Another thing is the pionner Hu has a higher preout voltage than the alpine. I just bought a monoblock for my subs and my HU (4650) has only 2.2v preout. I had to turn the gain settings higher becuase of low preout voltage.

yeah, very much agree that Alpine typical sound abit too bright. well i to me, i think its too dry thn too bright. whahahaah. yeah, alpine sub pre-out is kinda weak.

I always feel the Alpine HU's are kinda thin sounding.. all except the 7990.

Dun have much experience with the higher range pioneers but the older 9450 did sound good.. very full bodied.

I will always be a Clarion guy... :) Gonna change to non-clarion cuz of price/features but Clarion sound is the nicest to me.

yeah, If clarion comes out with something like 9835 feat, im going to get it. But too bad, the one comes with it was D2 which is way too ex for me. whahahaha

wah, alot people say the pioneer is better worr..what about the pricing difference??

:lol: ALPINE ALPINE ALPINE ALPINE ALPINE ALPINE ALPINE ALPINE :lol:

i'M CURRENTLY USING ALPINE CDA 9815, EVEN THOUGH ITS QUITE AN OLD MODEL, BUT THE QUALITY IS STILL THERE. NO REGRETS GETTING AN ALPINE. :P

this is just my opinion.

kerhan27...

since u alpine alpine alpine all the way...
have u try clarion D2 o eclipse 8061???

some ppl will think...y lah get pionner...cheap stuff...
of...the low ned 1...2 fit ppls budget...but the high end 1 is diff story

i newbie in ice.. i wanna redo my stock setup in my car.. wanna change hu, front speakers and rear speakers.. dowanna put woofer coz the boot space limited.. anyone care to recommend? budget about 1k? thanks :)

Originally posted by s0n1c@Mar 1 2005, 20:53
i newbie in ice.. i wanna redo my stock setup in my car.. wanna change hu, front speakers and rear speakers.. dowanna put woofer coz the boot space limited.. anyone care to recommend? budget about 1k? thanks :)
can try searching 4 bullet_nos mohawk stuff...cheap n average stuff