need opinion on air filter

lkc

Known Member
Mar 3, 2010
petaling jaya
Dear sifus and otai

Need some advise here,my ride is proton persona 1.6 auto,is it recomended to change to open port air filter?currently i am using drop in air filter.What is the pros & cons on this?,also is it worth and recomended to add e-manage if my ride is standard and just changed the exhaust system only?your comment is highly appreciated :burnout:

kumar22mostwanted

1,500 RPM
Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!
well from my personal experience open port for an auto car is no good
i experienced loss of power in my putra
the oni reason i put it in is for the nice sound :biggrin:
i cant comment bout drop in coz personally never tried(still on open port) heheh
but from what i heard form my buddies its better than open port for auto cars
hope that helps :top:

arturo

nooB
Aug 5, 2004
SateCelupLand
try using KnN drop in airfilter...i've been using it since 3 years ago...

but a few mods if did...cut bigger holes in the airbox....suction sound still there...not sure about FC n power loss tho...never used open pod b4...here very dusty. dun dare use.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
normally a stage 1 tuneup done in this this step
1. Exhaust
2. Intake
3. Piggyback management

most of the time I've heard that by installing open pod alone will result in the powerband shifted a bit higher in the rpm range... that's why IMHO is what mr kumar is experiencing... I've experiencing the same thing when I used k&n open pod with hotbits intake kit with my old engine... the power curve shifted a few hundreds rpm higher and oso experiencing a bit drop in torque level as well...

so... if you really wants to get the most of it, better do the 3 mods i've mentioned above... but bear in mind, at most ppl will get with these 'bolt-on' upgrade is around 5%-7% only

Last edited:

kumar22mostwanted

1,500 RPM
Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!