Need Help ~ Haywire meter cluster for A32

calvin9683

Dear all,

My father just bought a yr2000 2.0cc A32 few mths back.
Did not have much of a prob wif the car except for minor oil leak at drive shaft oil seal n also a noisy rear disc (even after service the sound come back after a while). these r still ok in the sense dat we know wat to pay attention to (ATF fluid) n wat to repair (rear brakes).

the main prob here is the meter cluster, it worked fine most of the time.
but when night comes n the lights are on, after a while of driving the meter will jammed up, with 2 types of condition.

1st condition: rpm to stuck at where it is (eg: 3k rpm), speed also stuck at where it is as well(eg: 90kmh), mileage reading become blank, petrol and water temp meter goes all the way up.

2nd condition: rpm, speed, petrol n water temp goes all the way down, mileage reading also become blank.

the funny thing is, it happens when the meter cluster light is bright. if i adjust the light for the meter cluster to the lowest, it will work fine. but then its very difficult to see all the readings.

also, my dad told me dat in a very hot weather, it will also be jammed up.

would like to know from all sifus what is the cause of this prob??
is there any way to get it repaired??
or the easiest/best way is to change the whole meter cluster??

appreciate for all comments/suggestions.

thanks & regards,
-calvin-

thanks for replying bro....
didnt know this type of prob also go error code???
all the while tot of changing the whole meter cluster....
luckily i posted n luckily receive reply from u....
gonna go find workshop dat is able to do it...

thanks...~~

Dear all,

My father just bought a yr2000 2.0cc A32 few mths back.
Did not have much of a prob wif the car except for minor oil leak at drive shaft oil seal n also a noisy rear disc (even after service the sound come back after a while). these r still ok in the sense dat we know wat to pay attention to (ATF fluid) n wat to repair (rear brakes).

the main prob here is the meter cluster, it worked fine most of the time.
but when night comes n the lights are on, after a while of driving the meter will jammed up, with 2 types of condition.

1st condition: rpm to stuck at where it is (eg: 3k rpm), speed also stuck at where it is as well(eg: 90kmh), mileage reading become blank, petrol and water temp meter goes all the way up.

2nd condition: rpm, speed, petrol n water temp goes all the way down, mileage reading also become blank.

the funny thing is, it happens when the meter cluster light is bright. if i adjust the light for the meter cluster to the lowest, it will work fine. but then its very difficult to see all the readings.

also, my dad told me dat in a very hot weather, it will also be jammed up.

would like to know from all sifus what is the cause of this prob??
is there any way to get it repaired??
or the easiest/best way is to change the whole meter cluster??

appreciate for all comments/suggestions.

thanks & regards,
-calvin-

bro normally rear/front brakes system noise is was due to caliper need to put some grease, what i mean after the brake piston there is 2 shaft cover with rubber seal that one u need to put a grease if not it will jam ur brake after long period of time. best thing changed the rubber seal.

for ur cluster gauge try to find workshop to do it for u, coz they know choop chop shop owner & they can borrow cluster gauge meter for u to tested it. if u know chop chop shop that are willing to let u tested it before buying that is lagi best.

XTEC:
"after the brake piston there is 2 shaft cover with rubber seal"=caliper guide pin...^^

XTEC:
"after the brake piston there is 2 shaft cover with rubber seal"=caliper guide pin...^^

wow BLANKOR first time i see u in cefiro club, welcome & a lots lots of thanks

XTEC:don't call me BLANKOR...btw,sharing is caring...:biggrin:

actually i work at TCEAS before...but only a few month...hehe...

Hi , The Problem with the Cluster Can be attributed to a variety of Causes , however , If the Earth on your Vehicle is weak then it could cause this sort of Condition , Have seen it on a Few cars before , If your Vehicle has been resprayed , there is a good chance that they re attached the earth straps over the paint , which could cause a weak earth and play havok with the electrics on the car, Or perhaps the contact points have been Rusted and not making good contact .

My suggestion Before Going anywhere , would be to First isolate all the Standard Earth Straps on the car , Loosen them Sand them Clean with some sandpaper , and then Sand the point of contact on the Body too , and replace / re tighten the earth .

Repeat this Procedure with all the Standard Earth Straps , In Addition , Most cars have some points on the engine where you could add a few More Earth Straps , Using Normal Power wire , the Kind Used to power an Amplifier , and a few Clamps / Connectors , U can easily add a Few More earth Straps which will be very Beneficial , A Poorly Earthed motor could result in Wierd Electrical Problems on a Otherwise mechanically sound Vehicle , and Adding extra Earth Points generally , Results in a Much Smoother idle , and a better overall responsiveness and general running condition of any car , This is the Best route if you do not wish to spend Much Cash , and Should probably Solve the Problem , If you can Add a Grounding kit , it will serve the Same Purpose but will cost a little bit more . So check this before you head to a Workshop

thanks everyone for your reply....

for the brakes....
i got it serviced...it was ok for a while then the sound came back...
will get it checked again asap....

grounding wise....
all the other electronics in the car works fine....
a/c and cd player r all fine...
except for this meter cluster....
anyway...will do wat is suggested by bro muhammed since its easy n can be diy-ed.....

If the grounding don't stop the funny problem, try changing alternator and also change the battery it solve electric problem. When alternator going to die it sometime generate too much noise, same as battery sometime it just drain too much power. If you have a oscilloscope you can try measure the voltage noise. Another method is measure the voltage drop.

I remember when one of by friend install car stereo the noise was very bad even with so many filter. one fine day the alternator die and after he replace it, everything when back to normal. Even the car idling become normal.

Also pull a direct +12v with 20amps fuss protection direct to the key will help.

bro....
oni the meter cluster lighting prob le...
will lead all the way till alternator n battery mer???

Hi Calvin

The reason for Suggesting the Earth is Simply because , In most Instances where I have seen this Problem Before , Only the Meter Cluster Reacts in a Strange way , Sometimes presenting with Lighting Issues , At other times With the guages going crazy or the Indicator needles acting up , Other common faults with ground can include Jerking on Acceleration , or the vehicle being Sluggish , Even Poor feul economy can be sometimes attributed to poor ground, But generally the Meter cluster is the First to react , while all other Electrics Remain ok , I really hope this sorts your problem out to avoid any costly trial and error situations , because Electrical gremlins can sometimes be the hardest to identify

2 days ago i change my 20months old MF battery back to normal 70L. My central locking now all work. before that some of the lock won't fully unlock or lock properly.

Don't under estimate battery, alternator and grounding problem. It sometime create lots of funny problem.