• Thread starter prolog
  • Start date
  • Replies 20
  • Views 3K
P

prolog

5 months ago, I promised you guys to share my updates on my Astina

I did cosmetic surgery in May
Sorry for the late update as I have been very busy.

I just basically got a custom bodykit and painted.
bodykit RM 1500 (yes I know very expensive)
paintjob RM 2000 (including the rims which were painted black to hide the stock 13" hehehe)
and some minor interior stuff including the car alarm system..

Everything else is stock..

Original
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/decemberImage015.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/hostelspotImage014.jpg

Bodykitted.. I had to lower the exhuast because of the new back bumper
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/Image000.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/Image001.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/bonet.jpg

Installing alarm
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/alarm.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/Image006.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/Image031.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/Image032.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/DSCF9322.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/DSCF9321.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/DSCF9315-1.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b272/yusof_hardy/DSCF9313.jpg

The paintjob as splendid.
But I was quite disappointed with the bodykit shop. The spoiler was way toooo big. And the front bumper was too low. I told the guy many times to keep the front bumper high enough to keep a good gap with the ground. But now, the front bumper is getting hit on most of the edged slopes.

Anyway, I haven't touched the engine yet. Still stock 1.6 carb.

There are many things to do next..

what should I do first?

change suspension or get new rims or convert engine?

I should convert to match the monster look hehehe. The only problem is $$$
:)

OH MY GOD !

CONGRATULATIONS!!

Nice work there !!!

5 months pass by so fast, and you already started works on your Astina. You are the man! lol... i was wondering why the other astina thread was so cold this past few months...

By the way which shop you went? Are all the bodykit-front/side/rear all PU or carbon fibre? RM1500 is slightly expensive but quite ok ... I asked around also need RM1200-1300 without painting (Sunway shops)

Save up some money and go for bigger wheels, that should complete the look.
I love the paint too. SO shiny. Your car look very "garang" ... really monster look. :adore:

Hahaha thanks... I'm saving money to buy bigger rims.. Currently my stock 13" rims are well hidden with black paint..

LOL monster "look" only.. but not really a monster until I convert to BPT or BPD..

It's all fibre bro. But it's really thick one.. really thick type.. not easily gets cracked

Last edited by a moderator:
Well i just did some research on the wheels our cars can wear ...

195/55/R15 = Each Tyre roughly cost RM170
Correct size

205/60/R15 = Each Tyre roughly cost RM280
Higher profile/Higher ride. Might make speed meter not accurate.

205/50/R16 = Each Tyre roughly RM 280?
Don't know about this size.

Maximum is I saw in magazine people put 215/40/R17 on Astina B8T. That's max already ... wheel space is full, i don't know how they carry heavy things in the car...

Anyone can share experiences? thanks!

You are also using the stock rims?

I'm using 195/55/R15. Changed all 4 tires just last december. So I have to wait for quite a while for the next tyre change to change my rims..

a nice car is not complete without power hehehe..

come on friend.. BPT or BPD..!!! heheeh

BPT or BPD??? racun sial!!!!!! hahaha... yeah man, let the speed demon gets the hold of ur miss tina... roaarr....

BPT h/cut - quite hard to get
BPD h/cut - i think no more edi (except for engine lantai)
Suspension for BG - fren fren got la i think...
Rims - Berlambak...

Hi Phr3ak,

I was supposed to meet you up to go to your w.shop near kepong, remember?

haha sorry bro.. I've been sooo busy. I think i'll go in November..:burnout:

BPT h/cut - quite hard to get
BPD h/cut - i think no more edi (except for engine lantai)
Suspension for BG - fren fren got la i think...
Rims - Berlambak...

I was asking in the other thread..

Can we put MX-5 engine or not?
MX-5 uses B8 until 2005.
They use BP and BPT.

I was thinking 2005 MX-5 engine should be so new and nice.

But can work or not?

I was asking in the other thread..

Can we put MX-5 engine or not?
MX-5 uses B8 until 2005.
They use BP and BPT.

I was thinking 2005 MX-5 engine should be so new and nice.

But can work or not?

anything is possible dude...

haha...you stole my spoiler!....no lar just kidding
mine was done during CNY this year....
28-02-07_1849.jpg

28-02-07_1810.jpg

15-02-07_1934.jpg

btw, where did you do your bodykit and paint?
For my spoiler (customised from Supra) alone cost me RM350 and also not that satisfy because the top area not exactly smooth. But neglectable minor details lar...

hahaha yea man, my spoiler is kinda like yours

actually, I HATE my spoiler.
It's too big and heavy.

What I wanted was this... I gave this picture to the fibre guy
http://www.gstyle-creations.nl/323ftuning/Diverse/323F_BG/323fBG/Nice_wing_1.jpg

But it came out too big. Totally unsatisfied!

I did my paint at Cheras and did by bodykit in swingfibre in Seri kembangan.
The spoiler was only drilled and assembled after the paint.. So I found out too late. By the way, the bodykit guy has some language problems. I had a hard time communicating with him. Maybe that explains the results

Last edited by a moderator:
I think he molded it from Supra spoiler...
anyway, the pics that u posted; the white astina...look at the curve at the 2 end...that's awesome if the bodyshop guy can do that.
Look at ours, it's more "kaku"...

Btw, fiber is always heavy...now my back boot if one to use have to use something as stand to tahan it. I usually use my big umbrella as the stand.
here is the link to my whole process... http://www.my323f.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=489%C2%A0

Anyway, nice idea you got there and RM1500 for the bodykits are quite worth it I might say. See my spoiler already RM350. side skirt that I had was from bumi fiber which cost me RM150 (bulk order...so cheaper).Bumpers are more expensive as more material are needed so put it RM1000 for both....adds up to RM1500.

Nice work!

I think he molded it from Supra spoiler...
anyway, the pics that u posted; the white astina...look at the curve at the 2 end...that's awesome if the bodyshop guy can do that.
Look at ours, it's more "kaku"...

Yes, he molded from supra spoiler and modded it to fit on Astina, instead of making on his own like the one in the picture.

It's harder to do from scratch.
The curves at the two sides look so hard to do.
Apparently, the fibreguy avoided that and simply molded from Supra spoiler..

I think mine is even bigger and heavier than yours.

WOW nice work bro!:adore: Until now I haven't get my car dress up T_T really not enough money to do custom made bodykit..

nice kit u have there...congrats bro! i wish i had d money to custom my own kit too...*jealous*...anyway i think u should start saving n hunt for a b8 to match that monster look...about d tire sizes...i think 15" is ideal...16" is way too heavy for d stock engine...after u get ur b8 then u can start saving for a bigger tires cause 13" is aint enough to handle ur monster b8 by then...ehehe...all d best to u bro! hope to see more from u soon...cheerz!