Mivec Club

Originally posted by Henryfong+Mar 5 2005, 22:06 -->
QUOTE (Henryfong @ Mar 5 2005, 22:06 )
--QuoteBegin-rickylim
@Mar 5 2005, 15:52
Hi everyone, tested one FTO today (2.0 MIVEC Tiptronic GPX Version)....
I have some few questions, please help me on this ya... all sifuh, owners and expert...

When i stop at traffic light, at manual... whenever i gear up or down (by pushing up or down on the tiptronic manual mode), after 1 sec of changing, the car shake... and if i change the gear, then i shake again (without moving, stopping at traffic light with brake on).
So is this normal?

Well, the car runs perfectly and able to rev up to 7rpm easily (i think can up to 8++ but too many cars), and i can hear the sound of mivec... man... damn nice.

Another things.. when i try to rev along the ldp motorola brigde for few minutes (2 ways, from sunway to damansara, and damansara to sunway... and of course not always rev)...Then i notice that, once i reach back to sunway, the temperature is seriously high... a little bit more to touch the Hot!.. then i stopped to rev, the temperature down again in few mins and stuck in 70% of the temperature meter.

Is there any problem with this car?
Your little information, really valuable and helps me.. Thanks.

u r not point to buy that car .... cooling point and transmission point .... the engine is very powerful but the transmission transmit delay .... with engine high torque n the delation of the gearbox ... it will very ez to make the automatic clutch slip ...... n the maintainee with very high for the gearbox .. every 20,000km need to change the oil ... with filter .. the oil cost u very expensive ..... n the engine temperature problem maybe occurs from some part .... head gasket, radiator, water pump ... or radiator fan ...
someday the throttle body will giving u some problem ... [/b][/quote]
Henryfong
First of all, thanks for ur valuable information and advice. it's very kind of you to share your knowledge. thumbs up

I have few more questions. I am not very good in technical stuffs....

1) .is transmit delay a serious problem? can it be repair? happen frequently to car? and how much it costs to fix it?

2) What is automatic cluth slip?

3) I have to change gearbox oil every 20K because of this problem or is this is a standard changing period?

4) Erm.. what is throttle body???

5) As for the temperature, i think that car got serious problem too. So can anyone here tell me how should a MIVEC engine behave like? and how's the temperature going to be? How long u usually rev? How high the temperature can go?

Originally posted by speedking@Mar 7 2005, 08:16
i rev all the way from KL to genting...tempreture still normal only... :o
Speedking..
What engine are u using?
Average u rev until what rpm?
The highest ur car can rev is? How long can you rev ur car at the highest rev...? easily get hot temperature?

Originally posted by rickylim+Mar 7 2005, 11:22 -->
QUOTE (rickylim @ Mar 7 2005, 11:22 )
--QuoteBegin-speedking
@Mar 7 2005, 08:16

Speedking..
What engine are u using?
The highest ur car can rev is? How long can you rev ur car at the highest rev...? easily get hot temperature?

Thanks [/b][/quote]
i'm driving mivec 1.6 stock...
i'm using 2nd gear....average rpm around 6.5k (mivec buka all the while :D )
i dun think an mivec 2.0 will get over heat that easily right?... :huh:
mivec engine is design for high rev after all...right?

Originally posted by speedking+Mar 7 2005, 12:03 -->
QUOTE (speedking @ Mar 7 2005, 12:03 )
Originally posted by rickylim@Mar 7 2005, 11:22
--QuoteBegin-speedking
@Mar 7 2005, 08:16

Speedking..
What engine are u using?

i'm driving mivec 1.6 stock...
i'm using 2nd gear....average rpm around 6.5k (mivec buka all the while :D )
i dun think an mivec 2.0 will get over heat that easily right?... :huh:
mivec engine is design for high rev after all...right? [/b][/quote]
It should be.. or maybe?
I don't know...
I just started to learn more about Mivec..

as far as i know mivec would never over heat. If ur cooling system is good enof such like radiator ect ect.

hey speedking,
i had tried the ECU chip with AH LOON (harnyfong) yesterday night, it was damn nice !! fast and powerful, the rpm can rev untill 8500+rpm and it still can go more future ..... damn nice it is totally different feeling !!
im happy with that :D :lol: :P

all the mivec KAKI, u guys want TT coming this sat ??

henry have an emange also mah anyone interested can arrange with him.

Hey Loon forgot to ask u how modify my chip until ?? Any latest update on my chip??

Originally posted by ZeNeGeR@Mar 8 2005, 17:56
henry have an emange also mah anyone interested can arrange with him.

Hey Loon forgot to ask u how modify my chip until ?? Any latest update on my chip??

OH..... thanz Yong for promoting the chip......
Ken ..i have a new version chip for u .. but haven burn the chip out yet ... maybe this coming friday i call u ... or u can organise a TT .....

henry, any changes for my stock mivec engine to put in da chip?

oh ya, all mivec's kaki, if always 'on' mivec, will comsumption like crazy?

how's urs fule consumption? mine one like sot sot like that....

Originally posted by ykyong@Mar 8 2005, 15:56
hey speedking,
i had tried the ECU chip with AH LOON (harnyfong) yesterday night, it was damn nice !! fast and powerful, the rpm can rev untill 8500+rpm and it still can go more future ..... damn nice it is totally different feeling !!

walau....everyone modded their car damn fast and ask for yamcha already...
i'm still stock mivec la...dun bully me.. :( :P
so u brought that chip already? or just testing it out?
hows the fuel consumption? :lol:

i'm happy for u :lol:

hmmm...since evo9 Mivec Turbo launch already, wonder they will make some after market performance parts for 4G92 Mivec or not ler?.... :huh:

Originally posted by speedking+Mar 9 2005, 08:19 -->
QUOTE (speedking @ Mar 9 2005, 08:19 )
--QuoteBegin-ykyong
@Mar 8 2005, 15:56
hey speedking,

hmmm...since evo9 Mivec Turbo launch already, wonder they will make some after market performance parts for 4G92 Mivec or not ler?.... :huh: [/b][/quote]
i already brought the chip, but now have to go and check my plug !!! because mine plug was something wrong !! the fuel is ok no much different !
i heard ah loon said u interested that chip rite ??!! come come install it lah !
tidak ada orang mahu TT meh ???? :( <_< come on man !!!

Originally posted by ykyong+Mar 9 2005, 12:00 -->
QUOTE (ykyong @ Mar 9 2005, 12:00 )
Originally posted by speedking@Mar 9 2005, 08:19
--QuoteBegin-ykyong
@Mar 8 2005, 15:56
hey speedking,

hmmm...since evo9 Mivec Turbo launch already, wonder they will make some after market performance parts for 4G92 Mivec or not ler?.... :huh:

i already brought the chip, but now have to go and check my plug !!! because mine plug was something wrong !! the fuel is ok no much different !
i heard ah loon said u interested that chip rite ??!! come come install it lah !
tidak ada orang mahu TT meh ???? :( b][/quote]
Ah loon still have stock?
I thought he only have 1 unit... :huh:

I have plenty of the chip ... modding chip was my part time job lar ....... if u really want to try it out just come to Kepong lar ... near mar from rawang ........ i will let u try the power ...

about the fuel consumption nothing much different ...... even if u cruising in highway the fuel consumption is even more better ... last time i used this chip Rm50 petrol can go up to 430km in city run lar ..... i try b4 in highway RM50 can go up to 480km .... just maintiaining 120kmh lar .....
anyone interested just give me a call lar ..... 012-6683627 AhLoon

hi bros, currently my mivec 1.6 having this problem. every each time i "tarik pickup", my friend told me that white smoke coming out the exhaust followed by black smoke. can somebody tell the problem and how to deal it? i guess it's time to rojak to 1.8. hehehe. many thanks.

How come mivec club so silent wan ar....
i see Honda club got so many ppl during honda gathering...sigh.. :(

Originally posted by mivec4646@Mar 10 2005, 13:56
hi bros, currently my mivec 1.6 having this problem. every each time i "tarik pickup", my friend told me that white smoke coming out the exhaust followed by black smoke. can somebody tell the problem and how to deal it? i guess it's time to rojak to 1.8. hehehe. many thanks.
exhaust white smoke got anything to do with 1.8 Mivec rojak meh?
If u dun take care ur car, any engine also got white smoke i think...

White smoke mean ur Valve Seal dead. problem from valve it could be valve spring also. need to take out 2 layer from ur engine

enjin sudah makan minyak ah .. :o could be yr piston ring .. :unsure:

Originally posted by speedking@Mar 10 2005, 16:41
How come mivec club so silent wan ar....
i see Honda club got so many ppl during honda gathering...sigh.. :(
actually mivec is just a small portion of mitsu/proton cars & engine.. but Honda is everything.. 1 name and one engine Vtec.. no wonder they so happening..