Mitsubishi Evo 8 Standard Stock Upgrade

Aldy Aldrin

Hii all,

Im the owner of Mitsubishi Evo 8 n still in standard stock.I need to get some info from you all guys about the basic equipment and also cost of upgrade my machine.If you dont mind you can recomand me which tuner i should go..I stay at Kuala Lumpur Seri Kembangan...

Now im thinking to upgrade my evo with:
Turbo Timer-Which part is fit to my evo 8
ECU-Which ECU APEXI,HKS?
Air Filter-Which Air Filter K&N,HKS?
Waste gate-?

I also want to know how to remove speed cut on my Evo.i worried if i just go to tuner they will cheat me easily..So Hope Our evolution family will help me with some info....

Thanks so Much...

Regards,
Aldy Aldrin Evo 8

hi there,

welcome to ZTH. :wavey:

to answer your questions,

1. turbo timer - there are many brands available like hks, pivot, apexi, etc. price is around RM 200++ including installation.

2. ECU - this actually depends on what you wish to achieve for your car. what is your target hp? from your target hp, then you can plan your power mods like intake, exhaust, engine internals, turbo kit, cooling system, fueling and ECU.

3. if you wish to go for open pod filters like K&N, Apexi, HKS, etc, you'll also need to consider doing CAI (Cold Air Intake) and also heat-shield to prevent your open pod filter from sucking in hot-air instead of cool air into your engine. if you wish to retain the stock airbox, you can just change the filter element to the drop-in K&N filter.

4. wastegate - isn't really needed on a stock turbo but it makes your car sound damn garang la. you can either get the foreman to make a hole in your current manifold to fix the wastegate or you can change the exhaust manifold with a wastegate flange. the 2nd option looks nicer and is also more reliable in the long run.

happy modding... :wavey:

hi Aldy Aldrin,

welcome to the club...:wavey:
same goes here... that i also just get my ride past 2 weeks.

to answer your Q:

1- at the moment APEXI timer (pen type) kinda trendy (for now). but you may choose other design and brand also... i used this type for the time being worked perfectly and easy to use and to locate (due to design and size). but beware of imitation product.... !!!

2- ECU - if you have deep pocket might be can consider MICROTECH.... most of the EVO owner in Sabah use it and tremendous result.... gain high HP if right tuning... but you also have to replace other part as per mizunori77 quoted...

3- Speed cut - some of the otai quoted you may use RSM to remove it... more fancy.... (next item to buy...mmmm)

4- air filter - i used the K&N drop in... suit my daily ride and weather condition in here... raining all the time. the sifu told me if used the open port then hard to ride in heavy rain... unless your car for weekend ride.... easy to maintain...

is it your car recondition(Japan) or 2nd hand from other owner in Malaysia???

i'm a newbie in EVO world and lots to learn....
my ride will be in stock mode due to road condition in here (bumpy... holes... pebbles...etc)
max speed drive only can archive around 140kmh....

p/s: at the moment still figuring/studying from the manual about evo 8mr... back to school... (hundreds of pages to read)....

regards,
pangyau :driver:

modding is always the fun part..hehehe..happy modding my fren!..

Hii Bro Mizunori77

Firstly Thanks so much for the good info and Nice to meet you bro.

So now at least I can figure out how to fit on my sweet Evolution 8.This car actually I bought directly from Japan. This is really standard Evo recondition (Japan).So all stuff still in standard stock.i cant wait to hear my evo sound crazily…that’s why Im really need to install waste gate. 

Bro im still confuse bout the waste gate n Blow off. Can u differentiate to me? Which part I should have to built sound of boos…

I plan ,when I back to KL I wanna find good tuner to install this basic stuff on my car.Some experience people suggest me to fit my Evo with Healtech 1000 for the 1st step.Then I will go to the others for more deeper like cams, turbine, n so on. How u think bro?

I think u experience too in tis experiment. So really appreciate to learning from you….

So what car u have now bro n Where u stay…

Thanks so much brother Mizunori77…..

Regards,
Aldy Aldrin

---------- Post added at 07:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:19 PM ----------

hi there,

welcome to ZTH. :wavey:

to answer your questions,

1. turbo timer - there are many brands available like hks, pivot, apexi, etc. price is around RM 200++ including installation.

2. ECU - this actually depends on what you wish to achieve for your car. what is your target hp? from your target hp, then you can plan your power mods like intake, exhaust, engine internals, turbo kit, cooling system, fueling and ECU.

3. if you wish to go for open pod filters like K&N, Apexi, HKS, etc, you'll also need to consider doing CAI (Cold Air Intake) and also heat-shield to prevent your open pod filter from sucking in hot-air instead of cool air into your engine. if you wish to retain the stock airbox, you can just change the filter element to the drop-in K&N filter.

4. wastegate - isn't really needed on a stock turbo but it makes your car sound damn garang la. you can either get the foreman to make a hole in your current manifold to fix the wastegate or you can change the exhaust manifold with a wastegate flange. the 2nd option looks nicer and is also more reliable in the long run.

happy modding... :wavey:

Hii Bro Mizunori77

Firstly Thanks so much for the good info and Nice to meet you bro.

So now at least I can figure out how to fit on my sweet Evolution 8.This car actually I bought directly from Japan. This is really standard Evo recondition (Japan).So all stuff still in standard stock.i cant wait to hear my evo sound crazily…that’s why Im really need to install waste gate. 

Bro im still confuse bout the waste gate n Blow off. Can u differentiate to me? Which part I should have to built sound of boos…

I plan ,when I back to KL I wanna find good tuner to install this basic stuff on my car.Some experience people suggest me to fit my Evo with Healtech 1000 for the 1st step.Then I will go to the others for more deeper like cams, turbine, n so on. How u think bro?

I think u experience too in tis experiment. So really appreciate to learning from you….

So what car u have now bro n Where u stay…

Thanks so much brother Mizunori77…..

Regards,
Aldy Aldrin:driver:

---------- Post added at 07:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:21 PM ----------

hi Aldy Aldrin,

welcome to the club...:wavey:
same goes here... that i also just get my ride past 2 weeks.

to answer your Q:

1- at the moment APEXI timer (pen type) kinda trendy (for now). but you may choose other design and brand also... i used this type for the time being worked perfectly and easy to use and to locate (due to design and size). but beware of imitation product.... !!!

2- ECU - if you have deep pocket might be can consider MICROTECH.... most of the EVO owner in Sabah use it and tremendous result.... gain high HP if right tuning... but you also have to replace other part as per mizunori77 quoted...

3- Speed cut - some of the otai quoted you may use RSM to remove it... more fancy.... (next item to buy...mmmm)

4- air filter - i used the K&N drop in... suit my daily ride and weather condition in here... raining all the time. the sifu told me if used the open port then hard to ride in heavy rain... unless your car for weekend ride.... easy to maintain...

is it your car recondition(Japan) or 2nd hand from other owner in Malaysia???

i'm a newbie in EVO world and lots to learn....
my ride will be in stock mode due to road condition in here (bumpy... holes... pebbles...etc)
max speed drive only can archive around 140kmh....

p/s: at the moment still figuring/studying from the manual about evo 8mr... back to school... (hundreds of pages to read)....

regards,
pangyau :driver:

Hii Pangyau,

Thanks so much for sharing…So happy get that….How r u there? Wow congrat to you….got new machine Evo MR….Shares ur happiness too.…. 

My machine actually I bought directly from Japan.Tis is not 2nd hand car.My car is recondition Japan.All everything’s in standard stock.Cant wait to upgrade faster.But I should take a good step in tis experiment. Need to careful too n learning slowly.

Do you stay at Sabah?Last month I been in Labuan for my job.

So whats u doing on ur car now..Whats stuff u already plot on ur machine…yea I heard too that’s apexi brand is so trendy.So how do we sense tis stuff imitation? Do u have any criteria? sorry if to much question…hehehe

One more things I found on the Motoring video.Evolution got problems with ABS brake system. Tis System not fully functioning during rainy. So scary friend… (Brother Mizunori),whats ur opinion…

Hope to share more and more info bout our King Strike Machine Evolution…..Enjoy driving n modding……hehehe

Regards,
Aldy Aldrin:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

---------- Post added at 07:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:25 PM ----------

Hii All….

Thanks for ur response…
Seriously make me more fun to join u all @ZTH…..
Hii brother Mizunori77, Expenditious, Pangyau and Ehdrian…
Nice to meet u all…..Plis advice me as new evolution members…

Happy modding….yeahhh!!!! :itsme:

hi Aldy Aldrin,

I'm fine and thanks....

lucky for you manage to get the car directly from Japan...
mine just a recondition in the dealer yard...

about my ride,

on the 1st day kinda no problem seems to be ok... (might be i kinda noob about car)
then i sent over to install the boost meter & controller, apexi timer & K&N drop in air filter.
change all 3 belt to power belt, skimming all the rotor just minor.... changing all lubricant.

from here the problem start...
1- my ACD signal light appear all 3 (Tarmac - Gravel - Snow).
this problem come and goes until today. some claim this problem happen coz of the timer or wiring. so i have to restart the engine few times. last choice switch of the timer and start the engine... problem solve.... i assume something interrupt the wiring. annoying problem.

2- a "noise" coming from my timing belt area (at the engine bay). every morning start or after long stop/break.
solve: the mechanic re-adjust the tensioner

3- after install the alarm systems my power window not functional at all (cannot control from driver side). but it function independently.... tomorrow have to sent back to the dealer.:confused:

already spent all time in the workshop to rectify the problems....
hopefully to solve soon.... i want to test my ride.... tired.....:banghead:

i don't have any intention on serious modding my ride this time...
learning progress...and lots to read from the manual....

here is the references about apexi timer...
my self also found lots of imitation product in my place....
some more there are few good mechanic in here... most of them just talk... talk... then your ride will be like experiment.... then condemn...

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...e/241631-need-help-on-apexis-turbo-timer.html

regards,

Hi Aldy,

I'm from PJ and i drive an evo 8 also. :driver:

BOV actually helps to relieve excess boost pressure when lift-off throttle (whether you are changing gear or going to slow down) so your turbo won't rosak so fast because of the backflow of the charged air into the turbo again. Wastegate is a device to ensure that your boost holds steady at the pre-set level to prevent sudden spike in boost pressure. sudden spike in boost can be very damaging to your engine.

For a much much clearer picture and better understanding, click HERE. Your answer lies in part 3 but there's no harm reading through it all. Its very good stuff when i first learned about how the different parts of cars work. Explore the whole section and you'll find info about engines, gears, camshafts, brakes, suspension, everything that you need to know about cars.

Haltech is a good standalone ECU. However, it is more cost effective when you have done some mods to your engine first like intake, exhaust, fuel management, turbo kit and cooling system. Otherwise, you might have to pay more than twice for tuning (first tuning on your stock engine, second tuning onwards for every performance part you add to your engine).

Come join our regular weekly TT when you're back to KL. There are a lot of sifus in our club who can give you good advise. I'm also learning from them. :wavey:

Hi Aldy Aldrin,
Congratulations on ur new ride :biggrin: modding it will always be the best part..I just got mine 6 months ago :biggrin: here's to share what I did on my stock Evo..nothing much only few minor items..

HKS Type 0 Turbo Timer..it's a bit pricey but all the basic functions suit well with my ride & never gave me any probs so far..looks sleek too..and I don't prefer Type 1 bcoz to me it has a lot of unnecessary & redundant functions..
DSC_0080.jpg

GReddy BOV Type RS since mine is stock boost & hp..at 1st wanna opt for HKS SSQV but some friends told me that they experienced similar probs such as spring loosen up easily etc..this Type RS is not suitable if u plan to tune up to more than 500hp..u might wanna go for Type R..
DSC_0132.jpg

HKS Racing Suction Kit Reloaded..looks cool to me & the sound it yields can easily make me cum haahah :biggrin: but unlike K&N u can't clean the mushroom and re-use it back..
DSC_0117.jpg

DSC_0127.jpg

next pit stop..racing clutch and ECU :biggrin: hope I've racun u enough with these pics..happy modding..

p/s: for prices of these items u can pm me..so that u don't get con & for future bargaining purposes :biggrin: hahahaah..

Hii Pangyau

How u doing buddy….

I see.. it’s not so easy to manage as what we wish for….I hope and pray for us to become a sifu and Otai for Evolution one day. Sometimes problems will help us to be more expert when we try our self to trouble shoot..From ur experience I got so valuable info.Thanks so much Pangyau.So many cheaters now, they sell everything but they actually not expert on that.

1-For my Evo, After get my ride. I just go and check everything’s and luckily there’s no problems. I replace my lubricant and prefer to drive in standard version at first time.Right now I just tinted all windows and I never put any additional devices for my engine.

2.Now I get some info and also come out with experience owner,they ask me to install E-manage,ECU(As same as what you Bro Mizunori and Spuzzle say).Tis one is higher recomand rather than I install one by one.After ECU we can start to fitting more with much easier and better.How u think Pangyau?So,I think when I back from my job I prefer to install e-manage first to my Evo.My be Healtech Platinum 1000 or MICROTECH.

3.ACD-Is actually quite sensitive mode n will affect to our long shaft if we switch in wrong mode as like Snow mode.Might affect our long shaft to be broken when we drive on the road.So we need to turn mode on the Tarmac.Tis info also I got from Otai..

4. Power Belt-good idea, I prefer to replace too. Thanks Pangyau.

Gravely, we have good sharing here cos we at the same time as a junior modding,at least some otai here preserve be our QC and can put the comments or recommendation. Thanks for all friends(Otai)…

Pangyau..i trust you will happy on ur ride soon. I Pray for that..

What we see here the wiring is so sensitive. We need to get the specialist for that.

So do you still manage to solve ur wiring problems frendz??

Cheers buddy

Regards,
Adli

---------- Post added at 09:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:28 PM ----------

hi Aldy Aldrin,

I'm fine and thanks....

lucky for you manage to get the car directly from Japan...
mine just a recondition in the dealer yard...

about my ride,

on the 1st day kinda no problem seems to be ok... (might be i kinda noob about car)
then i sent over to install the boost meter & controller, apexi timer & K&N drop in air filter.
change all 3 belt to power belt, skimming all the rotor just minor.... changing all lubricant.

from here the problem start...
1- my ACD signal light appear all 3 (Tarmac - Gravel - Snow).
this problem come and goes until today. some claim this problem happen coz of the timer or wiring. so i have to restart the engine few times. last choice switch of the timer and start the engine... problem solve.... i assume something interrupt the wiring. annoying problem.

2- a "noise" coming from my timing belt area (at the engine bay). every morning start or after long stop/break.
solve: the mechanic re-adjust the tensioner

3- after install the alarm systems my power window not functional at all (cannot control from driver side). but it function independently.... tomorrow have to sent back to the dealer.:confused:

already spent all time in the workshop to rectify the problems....
hopefully to solve soon.... i want to test my ride.... tired.....:banghead:

i don't have any intention on serious modding my ride this time...
learning progress...and lots to read from the manual....

here is the references about apexi timer...
my self also found lots of imitation product in my place....
some more there are few good mechanic in here... most of them just talk... talk... then your ride will be like experiment.... then condemn...

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...e/241631-need-help-on-apexis-turbo-timer.html

regards,

Hii Pangyau

How u doing buddy….

I see.. it’s not so easy to manage as what we wish for….I hope and pray for us to become a sifu and Otai for Evolution one day. Sometimes problems will help us to be more expert when we try our self to trouble shoot..From ur experience I got so valuable info.Thanks so much Pangyau.So many cheaters now, they sell everything but they actually not expert on that.

1-For my Evo, After get my ride. I just go and check everything’s and luckily there’s no problems. I replace my lubricant and prefer to drive in standard version at first time.Right now I just tinted all windows and I never put any additional devices for my engine.

2.Now I get some info and also come out with experience owner,they ask me to install E-manage,ECU(As same as what you Bro Mizunori and Spuzzle say).Tis one is higher recomand rather than I install one by one.After ECU we can start to fitting more with much easier and better.How u think Pangyau?So,I think when I back from my job I prefer to install e-manage first to my Evo.My be Healtech Platinum 1000 or MICROTECH.

3.ACD-Is actually quite sensitive mode n will affect to our long shaft if we switch in wrong mode as like Snow mode.Might affect our long shaft to be broken when we drive on the road.So we need to turn mode on the Tarmac.Tis info also I got from Otai..

4. Power Belt-good idea, I prefer to replace too. Thanks Pangyau.

Gravely, we have good sharing here cos we at the same time as a junior modding,at least some otai here preserve be our QC and can put the comments or recommendation. Thanks for all friends(Otai)…

Pangyau..i trust you will happy on ur ride soon. I Pray for that..

What we see here the wiring is so sensitive. We need to get the specialist for that.

So do you still manage to solve ur wiring problems frendz??

Cheers buddy

Regards,
Adli

hi Adli,

i still need more time to understand my ride. since this is my 1st time riding a turbo.
still finding the right way changing gear during over take.... have to watch out the boost meter as well....

regarding the modification. according to my calculation and reading.
we need to choose the mod stage (like stage 1,2,3 and so on....)
by that we can calculate the RM we need to use....
you may ask/request the info from the "otai" or the trustful mechanic.

if we mod without any target we will end up wasting money....
coz any changing tools/gadget/equipment/parts sometimes it require continues tuning.
this will cost more time and more money...
furthermore some parts will not fit with different mod....

my style.... i will save the sufficient amount of RM then do the modified one time....

about my problem:-

i went to the workshop this morning. after further checking they found out my window controller switch kaput.... then on monday i have to meet the dealer boss and request a replacement parts.

but, for the time being i already google around for the parts (for my spare unit).
just to be safe side.... most dealer always sweet talk... in the end... nothing....

last choice.. i have to bring my ride to Mitsubishi Brunei and do the maintainance and refurbishment.... just my 2 cent...

regards