LSD Question

KAY 3333

halo all sifu need to ask some question here!!!
how to know the lsd for 4.4 or 4.785 final drive?? i jus get a second hand lsd and my final drive is 4.4 so i dunno whether i can fix it on a not??
thanks for helping!!!!
cherrs

There's two versions.. the Y21/etc and the S4C/S80 final drive has different diameter for the bolt holes to mount the LSD to the final drive.

What's your gearbox code?

There's two versions.. the Y21/etc and the S4C/S80 final drive has different diameter for the bolt holes to mount the LSD to the final drive.

What's your gearbox code?

i dunno i jus know my final drive is 4.4!!!! how to know my gearbox code?? it stated at where???
how to know the lsd for 4.4 final drive or 4.785 final drive

Usually got sticker on the gearbox.. if not, check for markings.

The Y21 and the S4C are both 4.4, but the final have different mounting holes diameter for the LSD. S4C can use EK9 LSD, Y21 cannot.

S80 also has two versions.. one with the 4.4, ealier gen, and then the later gen which is S80, but come with 4.785FD.

If you're using the gearbox from EK9, most likely most aftermarket Japan LSD will fit, but check first.. if you get extremely lucky, sometimes you can open up the gearbox and find that it's already modified with a different final drive. haha.

If you're using Y21, tough luck.. you have to use the EG LSD, as far as I know.

Usually got sticker on the gearbox.. if not, check for markings.

The Y21 and the S4C are both 4.4, but the final have different mounting holes diameter for the LSD. S4C can use EK9 LSD, Y21 cannot.

S80 also has two versions.. one with the 4.4, ealier gen, and then the later gen which is S80, but come with 4.785FD.

If you're using the gearbox from EK9, most likely most aftermarket Japan LSD will fit, but check first.. if you get extremely lucky, sometimes you can open up the gearbox and find that it's already modified with a different final drive. haha.

If you're using Y21, tough luck.. you have to use the EG LSD, as far as I know.

my gearbox now already got ori lsd but i plan to change it !!! i dont think any sticker left at my GB so which marking should i check (need open up the GB)??

Just get a honda mechanic to identify it for you.. most skilled honda mechs (means they specialize in hondas) can recognise it without opening.. Some halfcut shop workers also can identify, though not all.

both s80 & y80 either final drive 4.4 or 4.7 also can fit the type r lsd.

What about the K20A engine?

Should I change the Final Drive , will most aftermarket 1.5way LSD (such as Spoon's or Kazaa) still fit properly?

open up the gbox and u can know its normal eg lsd or type r lsd (send to anyone expert on this).

if u use type r lsd, then u can simply change the final drive to 4.785. if not u have to change the lsd first. non type r lsd cannot fit with 4.785. if dun have any sticker or marking stamp on the gbox housing, then opening the gbox is the only way to know what lsd u currently using.

open up the gbox and u can know its normal eg lsd or type r lsd (send to anyone expert on this).

if u use type r lsd, then u can simply change the final drive to 4.785. if not u have to change the lsd first. non type r lsd cannot fit with 4.785. if dun have any sticker or marking stamp on the gbox housing, then opening the gbox is the only way to know what lsd u currently using.

thanks for the info bro!!!! wht the diff between type r and non type r lsd