LSD (datsun 120y)

for those who wants a gearbox good for drifting or just leisure, i wanna sell my A174 axle non lsd and has disk brakes. price can be negotiable, rare item and can fit into ur 120Y. i'm using one, wif lsd. can assure good quality. call 0123211124

Get your LSD done at Powerzone, they can convert your open differential to LSd for less than $700, better quality and difinately work better than normal LSD and also will not have problem when turning like weld differential.

will they do for datsun 120y?
less than RM700 sure? :)
i am interested
if really worth i will find one day drive down there let them do my car

I'm Datsun 120Y lover,but can't find good body datsun

For your Infor
I have been research for long time about the Datsun 120Y
modification on chassis,engine,gearbox and everything about Datsun 120Y.

A Nissan Vanette C20 diff can be fitted to a Datsun 1200. These diffs have a ratio of 4.875:1, which is good for rallying,drifting etc, but you will run out of revs in 4th gear, unless you have got a 5 speed gearbox.

Escort diff:
You can aslo use an Escort diff out of any of the Mark II sports models on your Datsun 120Y.To do this swap, first remove the old diff and the tail shaft. The drive shaft must be modified to suit the new flange on the diff. You can either use an Escort tail shaft, and get a Datsun u/j welded to it, or you can use a Datsun tail shaft, and weld an Escort u/j on it.

Toyota Hilux LSD diff:
Someone has fitted a Toyota Hilux LSD (5.3:1) diff to his 1200 coupe, which he rallies in New Zealand. :rock:

Just write to them and ask them, they can do any open different only to LSD, but not LSD to phantom grip.

wow.. toyota hilux with ratio of 5.3:1.. sure got high topspeed...

A329878 : seems like u have many experience in 120y.. can teach me about the suspension? what spring + absorver can fit into my car?

Suspension

Depend on your budget , if you have alot $$ you can buy a brand new adjustable suspension (Hi-Lo and damping 36 level )for Datsun 120Y it cost about 3k++ the suspension kits come with the Front pillow ball top mount.It good for high speed and drifting ... :driver:
http://www.d2racingsport.co.uk/products/d2/coilover.jpg

http://www.d2racingsport.co.uk/products/d2/pbtm.jpg

If you don't want to spend so much money on your datsun,
you can sway Nissan Fairlady S130 strut + TRD AE92 Levin spring (slight modification needed) or Nissan 200sx lower spring + Nissan 180 strut.(front only)

sam1741 said:
will they do for datsun 120y?
less than RM700 sure? :)
i am interested
if really worth i will find one day drive down there let them do my car
sam,r u still with ur 120y..heard that u wanna sell it rite??

hi A329878,
soory i am newbie..
so .. for front, i can use S130 strut (this means absorber?) and AE92 spring combi,
or,
200SX spring + 180 strut? (strut = absorber?.. i also not clear, 180 = 180sx?)

how bout rear? mine is B310 so rear also with coil spring one..

zyfull :
no la.. me never mentioned wan to sell my car.. although she is old i still love her
(also i no money to buy other car.. :D)

sam1741 said:
hi A329878,
soory i am newbie..
so .. for front, i can use S130 strut (this means absorber?) and AE92 spring combi,
or,
200SX spring + 180 strut? (strut = absorber?.. i also not clear, 180 = 180sx?)

how bout rear? mine is B310 so rear also with coil spring one..

zyfull :
no la.. me never mentioned wan to sell my car.. although she is old i still love her
(also i no money to buy other car.. :D)
i tought u wanna sell u car..wrong person i think..ehhe..

oic.. great..
now i know which car absorber can fit into my car
it is more easy to find....
btw how bout rear end? any strut that can fit my rear?

zyfull : so u looking for one project car? :)

sam1741 said:
oic.. great..
now i know which car absorber can fit into my car
it is more easy to find....
btw how bout rear end? any strut that can fit my rear?

zyfull : so u looking for one project car? :)
ahaha..no la..i oso drive 120y..but juz stendet..no $$ rite nowla..still studying..ehhe..maybe will mod after study..ehhe..hopefully...

hi guys...im oso a newbie here..driving a 1980 120y b310 inherited from my late grandad lah. im still studying also so the most i can do wif my beloved 120y is to keep it stock and maintain it so it can bring me anywhere i want to.btw zyfull, where r u studying?

i have a silly question here, i thought jpj wont allow conversion of engine more than 25% of the engine capacity? ive calculated and found out that if i were to convert my 1171cc a12 into 1488 A15, its well over 25% of the original displacement. to those who already converted their engines, how'd u guys pass through this phase with those jpj ppl ar?

my A12 has been overhauled once and the odometer reading is nearly 400000km. according to my dad, he disabled the odometer once when he used the car for working purposes. he said the true mileage should be well over 500000kms. nowadays the car is horribly underpowered and having cold engine syndromes. should i jus convert or overhaul the engine another time?

abubu:im studying in melaka rite now..i know in calculation a12 cc is more than 25% if wanna convert to a15 enigne..but i oredi seen alots of 120y using a15..juz like ke70 1.3 converted to 4age engine..i think it more that 25%..1.3 converted to 1.6..but alots of ke70 got approved by puspakom..but for more info,try to browse to www.jpj.gov.my..it not worth for u to overhaul the engine again..not worth it..or maybe u can port n polish ur engine,reprofile the cam and play the weber carburetor..ehhe..

ya.. i think JAyPeeJay remove the 25%, 33% law
and change to new one... like now satria 1.3 to 1.8 is legal one
should go to their site check
:)

anyway.. me ..
dun tell anyone my car still not registered
still waiting the mech to get the surat kastam
already few month.. :( sigh...

but lucky lar A15 is same like A12, same shape same sound
unless u know the place where they write the engine model number

ahaha..old car+old engine..jpj just ignored it..ehhe..unless u go for turbo engine..that has different sound..ehhe..

zyfull: ah really? im currently studying in melaka too. haha..mmu ah? im studying in mmu now ler. i see ALOT of b310's in melaka ah! its so much rarer in kuching! mmu alone already got a few. i was thinking of sending over my datto to melaka from kuching ler. it is currently lying useless at home most of the time and my dad just starts it once in a while and bring it for a spin around the neighbourhood during the weekends. sending charges is less than 2k as quoted from some forwarding agent. i know its not cheap but i think i dont want to risk buying a cheap secondhand car here in the west. scared buy a very problematic wan then habis la.

i have quite a few minor ageing problems with my datto like faulty reverse light switch...no reverse light when engaging reverse gear, water leaking into the front driver carpet and luggage compartment eventhough it has been resprayed and sealed. engine nonid to say la...cold starting syndrome..after that its okay. engine starting to lose power and drink petrol d..so must do something. btw...not many mechanics wants to overhaul the engine for my car too. they recomend us to swap to a15 or another a12 which has been restored.

another question..how far do u guys drive ur old datto ar? can drive to penang frm lets say...jb ah?