Is this price OK??

e_mad

Hi there, last weekend on sunday l go survey at used car and found an converted H22A accord 1997 .This accord is in good condition, milage at 110k++, new paint, leather seat & digital dashboard. So discuss with the seller, and below are the item that been listed if l agree to buy the car:

Price : 56,000.00
D/payment : 4,000.00
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Price after D/P : 52,000.00
55% NCD for 61k : 965.00
Aggrement : 580.00 (for apply loan bank)
JPJ : 480.00 (change name etc)
Puspakom : 150.00 (pay for runner)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Loan : 54,175.00

Plan to test drive on that day so l put RM200.00 as a guarantee but unlucky there were very heavy down pour right after that so l unable to test drive...so the money were change to booking and will be refund if l disagree after test drive.

So l want to get some feedback from all frends here regarding on:

1. the car tag price (the price izzit too expensive or OK for this kind of modified car?)
2. listed item above that l have to pay...izzit common amount or just they added to take advantage on me.
3. that dealer want to apply loan first and after that go to puspakom..and if l dont aggree to purchase the car dont sign the aggrement...err is this correct prosedur?
4. At car grant..what l've to look for/attention for make sure that the car have register the engine?

This is my first time buying the 2nd hand car so l dont have any experience or knowledge...l'm very scare to been cheet or been 'cut throat' by this seller. Tomorrow l'll be test drive the car and have to give final say.

So l desperatly want all your feedback l know and have confident on what l'll be dealing for...again l really need your all feedback. Thank you in advance.

bro

asked the seller for the original grant.see if the conversion of the engine has been stated & approved by the JPJ and Puspakom.Otherwise you will be in great trouble should you caught red handed while driving with unregistered engine.Furthermore if met with fatal accident while driving, you wont get any single cent from your insurance company.

ask the seller in details these charges

Aggrement : 580.00 (for apply loan bank)-normally no need to pay, unless you are buying from small car dealer

JPJ : 480.00 (change name etc)-
http://www.jpj.gov.my/mportal/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=107&Itemid=131

Tukar nama hak milik http://www.jpj.gov.my/mportal/images/M_images/printButton.png
Untuk membuat pertukaran hakmilik tuan perlu mengikuti langkah-langkah dibawah :
1. Isi borang JPJK3 2 salinan
2. Surat pelepasan tanggungan 1 salinan
3. Surat pelepasan hakmilik dari bank
4. Insurans untuk pemilik baru
5. Bayaran proses RM100 (dalam bentuk Pos Malaysia money order )
6. Kad pendaftaran asal
7. Salinan kad pengenalan penjual dan pembeli.
Bawa kesemua dokumen di atas ke pejabat JPj yang mendaftarkan kenderaan tersebut untuk melakukan proses tukar hakmilik.

Puspakom : 150.00 (pay for runner)-if you do it your own it only cost you rm 40.00 BUT when if im not mistaken when you apply for the bank loan, they already charge you for that.

So good luck.

My opinion.

SV4 is a very good car indeed. I nearly choose it over my current EJ last time. Price-wise, not much different between the same year EJ & SV4.

But the main factor me choose EJ over SV4 last time mainly coz of the fuel price hike. As a frequent traveller, MPG really matters to me. Now that the fuel price 1.92 per litre, i think i did a right choice.

Then again, it depend on taste. I don't think the budget is a problem with you. Spec-wise, both cars is about the same. But EJ got 50% off road-tax meh..

e-mad.... it seems that the car dealer is trying to pull a fast one on you. The car may be ok (i dunno) but the other stuff he's charging is day light robbery.
First, why insure 61K?
2nd, Kawtim the agreement fee with him laaa...
3rd, change name is only RM100 (if do urself)
4th, PUSPAKOM is RM40 only. And you should look at the report prior to loan approval/submission... or even deciding for that matter....

But, to tell u the truth, car dealers are like that. So, u have to 'jual mahal' with them... say things like "can get cheaper elsewhere" ...... "the other dealer offer cheaper processing fees"..... "why your place so expensive?" ....

2& 3 suppose not more than RM800- 900 (add both) urs is RM1060.. :confused_smile:

4. normally can be done with RM40.. hv free time wasting for the inspection can save RM110(minimum time 1-2 hours, my experience) if got lotsa runner during the day wait logner... dealer will get a voucher from the bank for puspakom(dont know wat it for)

minivan said:
e-mad.... it seems that the car dealer is trying to pull a fast one on you. The car may be ok (i dunno) but the other stuff he's charging is day light robbery.
First, why insure 61K?
2nd, Kawtim the agreement fee with him laaa...
3rd, change name is only RM100 (if do urself)
4th, PUSPAKOM is RM40 only. And you should look at the report prior to loan approval/submission... or even deciding for that matter....

But, to tell u the truth, car dealers are like that. So, u have to 'jual mahal' with them... say things like "can get cheaper elsewhere" ...... "the other dealer offer cheaper processing fees"..... "why your place so expensive?" ....

1. 61K probably due to the value for the bank loan... bank value 61K den the insure for the FIRST year must be 61k...(unless u buy cash.. u can insure 10K if u like)

ur so called "can get cheaper elsewhere" (car price)wont work for sure... dealer know the market price n all the car selling price on advertisement more than other ppl...
if u r refering to the agreement/puspakom... I AGREE... :regular_smile:

Its clearly stated that price is RM56K. D/p 4K, Price after D/p RM52K (So this is loan amount). So max u should insure (from those figures laa ....is RM55K.... tops). Why pay more? If anything goes wrong, u can't get more than market value anyway. But the dealer selling the insurance ends up with more commission....

Dealers will pray on people who they feel don't really know about cars and the car market. All i'm saying is, you should go in with a more dominant attitude. They want your money. Ur in control, don't let them be in control. At the back of the heads, they know that competition is tuff out there, dealer are offering lots and lots of deals... ride on that, so you can get a better deal from them... thats the big picture...

when u apply loan isnt ur insure hv to be the value use for applying the loan...
since the loan is RM52K with 55k insure = the bank value 55K giving out 95% loan... kinda impossible for any bank out there giving 95% LOAN for a second hand(used) car... for that RM52k loan i guess the value state in document for applying loan will be at least 58K( if this the value for the bank den the insure MUST same as the value RM58k)

as i mention " i guess " cos i not sure what the value the dealer wrote in the document(for bank)... that also the reason in my first msg i wrote " probably ". it hv nothing to do with the RM56k car price the dealer sell to 'e_mad'.. So 'e_mad' will hv to question the dealer WHY insure RM61k as 'minivan' mention...

the commision for the dealer between RM61k n RM55k insure will be just few bucks different(RM5-15) depend the dealer is the agent or is from someone else helping the dealer...

bro, hope u already find and buy the car you dreamed of, it's really unfortunate that I am not able to assist ya because of my current location. otherwise, I could have given you a hand more than you can ever think of.

To gtmaniac, minivan, lewis26 and khairiaz thank you very much for your precious reply and da discussion, its really open my eye what is going on between the car dealer and bank. I'll go back to that dealer and have an inquries but if anything should I really know first before facing the seller please let me know and explain to me further...l dont want to be cheated.

khairiaz, really appericiate your willingness...if you were around I willing to spend some $ on you rather give it to that car dealer.

Izzit possible that the used car dealer take commission on the bank interest? says that if bank give 4% interest for the loan, can the dealer markup the interest to 4.75% and get the 0.75% benefit cash from the total loan? What Ive heard that dealer can make an aggrement with bank by markup the interest so that bank get 4% profit and dealer get 0.75% profit from total loan.

it can be done during 10 years ago or even longer... no more those benefit... if hv those benefit i believe all ppl who ask for lower price with the reason buy CASH sure wont get even a single penny lower...
nowaday all the interest FIXED(basically).. it will change according to the document & amount(%) of loan u apply...

oh...ok, if the car is registered at perak, that means we have to go JPJ perak la eh, other JPJ cannot ke

anyone can help me about that prob, coz my loan just approved, so i want to cut cost and do all this by my self....