Is it necessary for 4-AGE to have bonnet scoop?

BudakSiol!

Dear sifus,

Is a supercharger bonnet scoop needed for "4AGE" converted corollas? Do people put them on just for looks or does it actually function as an inlet to cool down the engine during constant high revs & high speed runs? Anybody have experience or feedback?

that scoop is from a 4agze engine... but any engine would benefit from a cooler engine
bay area & yes I think it can actually function as a good air duct to supply more cooling

it help a lot for cooling down the engine. But suggestion for flow out type scope better than flow in type scope..

Bro can you explain more on that? What do you mean by flow out and flow in type?

Flow in type:
2501732_13.jpg

Flow out type:
truenostylish.jpg

sorry hijack people picture...

wah ...nice bonet ....
yaya .....flow out in better .....got AE101 flow out pics ar ? ?
if wan economical .....juz put up the nut at bonnet bracket lo .....then can flow out ......:rofl:

that scoop is from a 4agze engine... but any engine would benefit from a cooler engine
bay area & yes I think it can actually function as a good air duct to supply more cooling

Agreed wif u.......put the scoop...good in cooling ur engine bay...not ur engine tempreture..
ur car looks more garang..very nice looks....but do have an ae92/101 scoop from 4agze ....;D

if wanna cheap2 cost...u can 'jongkit' a bit ur bonnet...;D

oo .. i should try put subaru version 8 scoop on my seg :stupid:
i think wide enof to get more fresh air ...

oo .. i should try put subaru version 8 scoop on my seg :stupid:
i think wide enof to get more fresh air ...

Pls read article below before u do it
http://www.autospeed.com/A_2159/cms/article.html

you shud see why a flow out type (as scomatic sez) is better

p/s: Sorry to barge in to a Toyota's discussion. I'm using a kancil... just researching on how to give better cooling to my cramped engine bay and I'm stumble on to this thread...

sorry

Pls read article below before u do it
http://www.autospeed.com/A_2159/cms/article.html

you shud see why a flow out type (as scomatic sez) is better

p/s: Sorry to barge in to a Toyota's discussion. I'm using a kancil... just researching on how to give better cooling to my cramped engine bay and I'm stumble on to this thread...

sorry

i belif seg 86 is kidding wif :stupid:

Before u all decide to cut a hole on your bonnet, please do some
measuring & research on the water flow first. Met up with a AE86
owner with the same flow out bonnet as the picture above, he
is not using it anymore because of water flowing down on the
pulley area, causing rust & also water seeping into the spark plug
cover of his 4age.

Dont play around with this mod without proper research, on a
FF 4age, water will go down your extractor causing hairline cracks,
might even flow on your distributor if you're running a 16v engine.
Even if you position the hole nicely clearing all the critical parts I
mentioned above, the water might trickle down underneath the bonnet
& flow underneath it until it drops to some other danger areas...

wah ...nice bonet ....
yaya .....flow out in better .....got AE101 flow out pics ar ? ?
if wan economical .....juz put up the nut at bonnet bracket lo .....then can flow out ......:rofl:

flow-out type for ae101 (SEG)
101bonnet.jpg

t think is not necessary to put the bonnet scoop unless u have 4AGZE inside..::thefinger:
and the most important thing is the price for this scoop is too damn high coz of many toyotarianz searching this scoop including me..hhehhee.:banghead:

advantages:
- cooler engine temp (especially night & rainy)
- better fuel consumption (cooler intake air i guess)

disadvantages:
- 4age plugs easily get wet (not like 4agze - different plug/cable layout)
- heavy rain may cause water to troublesome the intake
- always flag down by jpj/police (they like to ask u many questions)
- more dust/dirt for ur engine

conclusion - up to u to decide
:biggrin:

advantages:
- cooler engine temp (especially night & rainy)
- better fuel consumption (cooler intake air i guess)

disadvantages:
- 4age plugs easily get wet (not like 4agze - different plug/cable layout)
- heavy rain may cause water to troublesome the intake
- always flag down by jpj/police (they like to ask u many questions)
- more dust/dirt for ur engine

conclusion - up to u to decide

aiya no need worried bout JPJ/polis
wanna put jus put ..
tell them .. more pretty
tell then u modified .. JUS FIT IN :thefinger:
:stupido::beer:

aiya no need worried bout JPJ/polis
wanna put jus put ..
tell them .. more pretty
tell then u modified .. JUS FIT IN :thefinger:
:stupido::beer:
sometime feels its not fair

some of the jpj/police officer's did to their car are waaay extreme than any of us.... :banghead: