Ironic

mines

bring that old guy here to advice/tune(i wanna shake his hand)

simple close to stock...reliable

hehehehe

Just an opinion for you to ponder further...

Rebuilding is a matter of luck in getting it right, moreover a proper tune is also something you need to think about. It also applies to importing a brand new Tomei or N1 engine. All it takes is one bad tune to take you back to square one.

If I have the cash let's say 100k, i would try to source a modded halfcut (specially arranged thru the junkyards) with all the goodies which has the turbo(s), wiring, cams, all the pipe work, intercooler, ecu, gearbox, clutch (triple plate?), 320km/h meter, etc etc...if your lucky you may also find the matching rear end. You know how the Jap's loved to mod it to the maximum.
Im sure with the extra $$$ left after the purchase of the halfcut, would be for any parts replacement if it is damaged. This way i have more spares which can sell if not required.

...im just too careful how i spend my hard earned money especially nowadays (need to burn fuel more efficiently). Hope you managed to find your direction. Cheers!

I beg to differ.

Rebuilding an engine is not a matter of LUCK. It's the engine builder's skill.
See whether he has enough patience, measures everything correctly and
most importantly experienced in building an engine.
And as for tuning, they're are pretty capable tuners in Malaysia.

100k and you'd buy a second hand engine from a halfcut shop ? :banghead: :banghead::banghead:

[PIMPIN],

100k : OS RB30 short block for RM70k, balance : buy ecu, Tomei head products, turbo(s), etc.
And for another RM42k you can get a OS 6 speed sequential gearbox

or Mine's Stage 2 complete engine for around RM100k.

or buy a NEW N1 block for RM 7k, Tomei 2.8 stroker - RM 18k,
Nismo engine bearings - Tomei complete headwork parts (cams, valve spring, metal gasket, etc) - Tomei oil pump RM 4k+, N1 water pump RM 1300,
Tomei Baffle plate new twin/triple plate clutch RM 5-6k, Tomei fuel rail - RM 900,
labour to build the engine ECU - Radiator - < RM 6k for ARC smc55, Turbo - price depending on model, spec.
and some other small things, etc. Still have plenty of change from Rm100k.

Gti88:
I haven't heard many good stories about local tuner rebuilding engines (stays reliable at the same time). Anyway I didn't meant 100k for the whole halfcut plus the luck I was referring to is practically on the owner, not the tuner (most will guarantee no problem, Malaysia Boleh). Your advice seem pretty good, end of the day it's the owner's decision and his money. At least I know where to put mine.

Khoyos: sorry to hear about your experienced on modded halfcut. Btw I used to drive a ceffie with a RB26GTR too long time ago. I know of one person who has bought a halfcut fully modded GTR with stroker kit and that engine has lasted quite awhile. The engine now is going for further mods&tune for Drag . Two different owners with different experiences.

Darkchild: No worries bro, 100k is really a lot...

Pimpin: I'll go for something that's close to the Z-Tune Nismo specs....

driftmeister: that's the exact problem with halfcut engines. we will never know when the engine is going to blow! we dont know what's the boost limit, tuning limit in terms of how far can we go on the ignition before knock etc etc...

i do agree with u that there are not many reputable engine builders around. a friend of mine (not using RB but locally famous inline 4 turbo engine) chose to use 100% stock internals while boosting up to more than 2 bar producing more than 500hp, just because he didnt trust malaysian machine shops. but now, even he is slowly moving into forgies... so i can say that malaysian machine shops are getting better and better. plus we dont see any thread titled "my engine jammed after a forged engine rebuild by xxxx workshop" so i think we can have our engines rebuilt in malaysia.

p/s z-tune spec may not be enough for PIMPIN, got around 500hp ONLY hehehehe

I think Russ did engine rebuild at Malaysia right ? By the way I think if we did not give some chance for the local tuner how are they going to improve eh ? Yeah i know it kind of like crap saying here but I think there are still have some RB specialist right in Malaysia one right ? =/

I am also waiting for Russ to give his verdict. Though the wait for the build has been very long. No doubt there are some RB specialist or else i wouldn't have bought one myself. Just when your goal to reach high HP, it's just inner instincts tells you to go elsewhere.

Anyway, my technical knowledge is only moderate though I would love to tune it myself.

man if you have the money just go for the mines stage 2 ...no regrets

http://www.kanzenperformance.com/

assuming that malaysian machine shops are as good as the ones overseas, i would definitely have the engine rebuilt to my specs.

i would love to have jun (by cosworth) pistons, carillo conrods and tomei full counter weight crank. every bolt ARP'ed, oiling mods done, with a fully built head with complete hks parts...

i can dream on hehehe

Gti88:
I haven't heard many good stories about local tuner rebuilding engines (stays reliable at the same time). Anyway I didn't meant 100k for the whole halfcut plus the luck I was referring to is practically on the owner, not the tuner (most will guarantee no problem, Malaysia Boleh). Your advice seem pretty good, end of the day it's the owner's decision and his money. At least I know where to put mine.

Jeffrey,

Maybe you haven't been hearing good enough.
This is one of the examples where when a person does 100 good deeds, they don't get a single compliment,
and when that person does 1 thing, just 1 thing wrong, the world would bitch about him.
I know that engine building in Malaysia is not on par yet with Australians, Japs and the states,
But we're getting there with more crazy rebuilds going on nowadays.

There are actually plenty of cars in Malaysia that have been build close to perfect.
You'd just have to stop assuming that Malaysia's engine builder are bad and
start to have a look around to see that they are real monsters out there.
And those monsters are build in Malaysia by Malaysians. Go to the next SDB.

Engine building in Malaysia has come a long way as compared to the past and its improving gradually.
We have to stop assuming that if the engine is build in Malaysia then it will go wrong.
Come on man, building an engine isn't rocket science.

And besides, trusting a mechanic who claims himself to be a DR.NISSAN is something.

:burnout: :burnout: :burnout:

Gti88

Everyone has their experiences of good & bad builders. What you say is true, we got to hv some trust in them somehow as we still need to rely on them to fix our cars. It's just a matter of time for my patience to see whether it's worth the time & money going in/out of workshops. I'll probably just sell it and buy another car.

Pimpin: sorry if this thread is going elsewhere...anyway hope you get your ride done up soon. The sky is the limit if budget is not a problem.

Sorry for lack of replies, things do get hectic at times especially this past week I've had quite a lot on my plate. Thanks in advance to all that have chosen to reply - I have to say you each have valid points/reasons based on past experiences, etc. And I also agree that when it comes to taking RB's up just one more notch then its a whole different ballgame - both local workmanship and the $$$ involved.

I'm leaning towards a local rebuild atm - not because of the price but due to the fact that the current relationship I have with my tuner/mechanic is at a point where I trust them to do the right thing should things go sour. This they have proven to be true beyond all doubt, and despite their relative lack of experience compared to the Japanese or some may argue other local mechanics - I guess the most important thing is who you are most comfortable with handing over your hand earned dollars to at the end of the day.

Right now I'll most likely be going for a HKS 2.8 Step 3 kit. Currently, I have what you could consider quite a list of modifications except for aftermarket oil pump which I rather stupidly neglected the first time. The car has everything at the moment - HKS GT-RS turbos, HKS 1000cc injectors, HKS suction kit, HKS fuel pump, HKS fuel rail, HKS 264 cams, HKS cam gears, HKS oil and intercoolers, HKS twin plate clutch, Apexi Power-FC (D-Jetro) etc all of which was changed when the car arrived in Malaysia despite it having aftermarket turbos, etc.

So what I have decided is to go for the 2.8 stroker, get it tuned with the current turbos and run in the engine for a few months. If I'm happy and engine stays together then I'll swap in a triple plate clutch, upgrade fueling system and go for a single turbo set-up. Time will tell - for all I know, GT-RS with the extra displacement is the answer to all my needs.

Again, as mentioned, this being an online community with emphasis on knowledge sharing, I appreciate all replies and if time permits, I will create another thread focused on the rebuild and my experiences, expectations along the way.

Edit: Added photo - if you zoom you can see the hole in the side of the block. I'll get better pictures - this was just as we got it onto the tow truck.

http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/7207/blownrb26dettgs0.jpg

a complete stroker kit will eliminate the headache of piston/conrod/crank combo selection. dont forget ATI crank damper

anyway bro, at ur power level, please, please, please, regardless of what ur mechanic say, u MUST do all of these oiling mods:

1. sump baffle (tomei sells one)
2. aftermarket oil pump (tomei, hks, jun, trust)
3. oil restrictor to head (tomei too)
4. larger sump (minimum 6-8liters) (trust or custom from aus/nz)

most likely ur mechanic will say that an aftermarket oil pump will be enough but it is better to be safe than sorry. there are a few aussie and newzie sites that sell all of those oiling safety mods parts. i'm sure u know where to order. oil pump for sure can be purchased here.

good luck!

p/s power fc d-jetro still running airflow???

Now that you mention it bro, I've never realized the AFMs were still plugged in. :biggrin:

They still remain there cause it helps with air filter clearance or else the piping would be too short and the blow off valves are just below them (not visible in pic) - even now you can see where the two filters have been occasionally been rubbing against each other and the underside of the hood.

Anyways, car came from Japan with a regular PowerFC which I sold on these forums and got the D-Jetro instead.

PIMPIN: Theres someone selling his Tomei Derive RB28. white r34. i think with ax or ar60 twin turbo's. Engine shouldnt have high mileage. put in last yr by kee (links).

pm DeKay.

pimpin at our pg got 1 tomei rb28 want to sold super low millage and engine is buy from SS racing,,,

pimpin,

spoken to joe/ss racing today. he got a brand new tomei 2.8 n rb30 available. go check out b4 sourcing from overseas. mayb can get good deal.

he quoted the tomei 2.8 genesis rm95k. not sure whether is good deal.

i don't mean to be an asshole but i would think its wiser not to invest that much on a car.At the end of the day you don't have nothing for yourself, everyone needs to settle down somehow unless lah u don't plan to do that. I might not understand the true passion of a real car enthusiast, sometimes i just think they're sad.(food a problem, wife/kid suffers) Why torment others(just saying lah coz i've seen so many sad case) just to chase a momentary interest?

again, these postulation subject to my own opinion, i don't mean to piss anyone here. Just what i've seen too many people torturing themselves. =( but if ya got very rich parents that somehow u know that when you fall back you have them to carry you up that's a complete different story lah.

i make my own money, i make more than enough but still i wouldn't spend so much on a decremental asset like a car. I guess opinion differs.Others would think otherwise.

anyways to answer your question(lets imagine i am trully a car enthusiast)for a long term investment and ease of mind, my opinion would be to getting the new engine from jpn.

Sorry for lack of replies, my health hasn't been the best lately and my car has not progressed at all since I blew the engine. But now things are improving so I'm back in the car scene (for now!).

Thanks for all the opinions and suggestions, all of which I've carefully considered and very much appreciated. I've decided to rebuild the engine with HKS 2.8 using my current GT-RS set-up for now and once run-in I'll possibly upgrade turbos. I've since downgraded my power goals and instead of silly 750hp atw (I drive this car alot!), I'll settle for something in the 600hp range once completed. I think a T04Z will get me there easily.

Rych - I understand where you're coming from and I too make my own money but I guess I lack the responsibilites such as children, etc (for now!). But at the end of the day, I've modded three cars this past year alone all of which I own outright and have never owed any Bank so far. As for future planning, I was fortunate to have a small inheritence from my grandfather in the form of a tiny studio apartment the moment I turned 18; I know own several properties the most expensive of which is about 4mil. Granted, I had a helping hand at the start but I worked hard in investment banking and got lucky in the stock market and I guess I did not let it all get to my head. Russell knows me somewhat and he can vouch that I'm not some spoilt rich kid, just financially savvy from very young. Again, this is not meant to brag but just so that we're clear - I wouldn't be doing this if I could not afford to do so nor do I have to go to the Banks for any form of financing so its money I can afford to spend on myself (we're all young once!). So no hard feelings, just don't stereotype. :driver:

Peace out brothers:wavey: