Reply to thread
See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Main Forums
General Talk
Initial D - The Movie (How was it?)
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="AE80TypeD" data-source="post: 667982" data-attributes="member: 722"><p>damn nice way to end the movie! hahaha. the language is funny in terms of everyday concept, but does not do justice for the original anime's composed, calm and polite way of saying technical things. it did however, suit its purpose for the general public, bcoz not every average joe likes goofy nerd tech talk about driving techniques and cars.</p><p></p><p>edison chen held his own and was OK by my account on his portrayal as Ryosuke. i cant even remember how to spell his cantonese character's name hahaha. being an initial D original fan and from that point of view, i would really hate anthony wong's version of bunta (wen tai). but this does not mean that his acting sucks. all i would say is, he made the best of what he was given/demanded; a half assed, piss poor developed character (producer/scriptwriter's fault). the producers seemed to focus too much on takumi's (tok hoi) character.</p><p></p><p>the movie would have been more bearable (to me) if it hadn't overused the freeze scene transition so often. either that or my VCD copy was stuttering/pausing often without me noticing it hahahaha. i got tired of that effect halfway thru the 1st CD. i apologize to the cinematography backers if its my VCD's fault :p. the CG parts were shameless and sloppy, i'll admit to that... but understandable nonetheless. i'd forgive it more than the crappy transitions which always freezes the so called "KODAK moments" of every car and character. argh.</p><p></p><p>i wont comment on the performances of any other character bcoz i was busy waiting for the racing parts. i only car about the cars hahahaha. but i couldnt ignore the ending. i say again.. the ending is hou yeaahhh hahahaha. they couldnt have chosen a better part of the original i-D story as a movie ending. it gives takumi a motive to strive in team project-D.</p><p></p><p>LONELY DRIVER NEED NO GIRLS! USE THE ANGER! FOCUS IT INTO DETERMINATION TO BE THE BEST DRIVER!! (disclaimer - sentiments are mine, and mine alone. flames will be ignored.) </p><p></p><p>the lighting work during the kissing in AE86 scene and the drive by at the end of the movie is worth a praise. at least they know filmaking.</p><p></p><p>let me clarify that i AM an ardent (japanese) Initial D fan, and i hate the butchering. but i do not regret watching this movie, in fact im glad i watched it.. even if its just to know how bad it is. the story writers did try to squeeze in as much of the original plotlines as possible, albeit in different versions/order. i'll give them some credit for trying to bring the racing action into the live action realm, and i'd say they gave a good effort (except for the obvious CG crashes, and bunta's sloppy drifting :p)</p><p></p><p>maybe the filmakers were just trying to take advantage making easy money over an iconic japanese story, maybe not. we'll just have to surrender at the end of the day bcoz they did it, and they dared to. the consequences of this movie maybe dear, but if there's something i'm against most; its the effect on toyota cars and parts. poor man's car lah, dont go tipu ppl this car fast liao... hai lat oledy kekekekek</p><p></p><p>even as a fan (not as hardcore and sot2 like acbc), my 2 sen is; hate it for what it did to Initial D, but dont hate it as it is; just another movie. and dont worry, my 2 sens aint worth much.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="AE80TypeD, post: 667982, member: 722"] damn nice way to end the movie! hahaha. the language is funny in terms of everyday concept, but does not do justice for the original anime's composed, calm and polite way of saying technical things. it did however, suit its purpose for the general public, bcoz not every average joe likes goofy nerd tech talk about driving techniques and cars. edison chen held his own and was OK by my account on his portrayal as Ryosuke. i cant even remember how to spell his cantonese character's name hahaha. being an initial D original fan and from that point of view, i would really hate anthony wong's version of bunta (wen tai). but this does not mean that his acting sucks. all i would say is, he made the best of what he was given/demanded; a half assed, piss poor developed character (producer/scriptwriter's fault). the producers seemed to focus too much on takumi's (tok hoi) character. the movie would have been more bearable (to me) if it hadn't overused the freeze scene transition so often. either that or my VCD copy was stuttering/pausing often without me noticing it hahahaha. i got tired of that effect halfway thru the 1st CD. i apologize to the cinematography backers if its my VCD's fault :p. the CG parts were shameless and sloppy, i'll admit to that... but understandable nonetheless. i'd forgive it more than the crappy transitions which always freezes the so called "KODAK moments" of every car and character. argh. i wont comment on the performances of any other character bcoz i was busy waiting for the racing parts. i only car about the cars hahahaha. but i couldnt ignore the ending. i say again.. the ending is hou yeaahhh hahahaha. they couldnt have chosen a better part of the original i-D story as a movie ending. it gives takumi a motive to strive in team project-D. LONELY DRIVER NEED NO GIRLS! USE THE ANGER! FOCUS IT INTO DETERMINATION TO BE THE BEST DRIVER!! (disclaimer - sentiments are mine, and mine alone. flames will be ignored.) the lighting work during the kissing in AE86 scene and the drive by at the end of the movie is worth a praise. at least they know filmaking. let me clarify that i AM an ardent (japanese) Initial D fan, and i hate the butchering. but i do not regret watching this movie, in fact im glad i watched it.. even if its just to know how bad it is. the story writers did try to squeeze in as much of the original plotlines as possible, albeit in different versions/order. i'll give them some credit for trying to bring the racing action into the live action realm, and i'd say they gave a good effort (except for the obvious CG crashes, and bunta's sloppy drifting :p) maybe the filmakers were just trying to take advantage making easy money over an iconic japanese story, maybe not. we'll just have to surrender at the end of the day bcoz they did it, and they dared to. the consequences of this movie maybe dear, but if there's something i'm against most; its the effect on toyota cars and parts. poor man's car lah, dont go tipu ppl this car fast liao... hai lat oledy kekekekek even as a fan (not as hardcore and sot2 like acbc), my 2 sen is; hate it for what it did to Initial D, but dont hate it as it is; just another movie. and dont worry, my 2 sens aint worth much. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
Perodua Alza convert new facelift body parts
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW E60 Msport Body Kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 M3 mperformance front skirt lip
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda City 2014~19year Drive68 body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Perodua Alza gear up body kit / spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Proton Saga Mix body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Mitsubishi Lancer JS GTwing spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda Civic FD TypeR body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Proton Satria GTi body kit / Evo front bonnet hood
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 gts front bonnet hood with scoop
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Review: Michelin PS4 Tyre Comparison - Wet Braking & Slalom
So guys, here are my findings on the new MPS4 during a recent Michelin tyre comparison, i've compiled a review and a video for you, so please enjoy!
The Pilot Sport tyre range is undoubtedly one the most highly...
Sunday Video : Clarkson's Car Years - The Rise and Fall of the Supercar
https://www.zerotohundred.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/ferrarif40.jpg
Watch this video from almost a decade ago, outlining the rise and fall of the supercar era. Jeremy Clarkson carefully highlights what went...
"DON'T" on track day
Hi all track kakis,
Good day!
What do you think that really jump on your nerve when you are enjoying on/off the track?
What do you think about ppl who park their car at the pit door for showing off with picture...
Recent Posts
Performance Tire Prices(Pls Contribute The Price & Location to buy)
Started by
JINEIL2EN
Car Modification
Tire Price list Zth
Started by
xbalance2002
Wheel And Tyre
Paging for Hyundai Coupe owner, CCGT @ 28th May 2005
Started by
BlackSamurai
The Hyundai Coupe Club
New GR Yaris Automatic & GR Supra Track Edition Now in Malaysia