Ignition Problem

blacksolbill

Jan 3, 2005
My B16A SiR recently has been encountering idling prob. I doubt it is the FICD prob but apparently when on a stand still, I rev it up and let it drop, the RPMs dip to around 600rpm and it feels asthough the engine is about to seize up (but it goes back to about 800rpm-900rpm in a blink of an eye) Had my plugs changed and noticed that all 4 new ones burned up quite black after using it not more than 30 clicks. My mechanic thinks that the plug cables are not efficient anymore (me using Cheetah Booster Cables for the past 5 years) but after trying a CF4 std cable, it still had the same symtoms. Anyone out there think its a Ignition Coil issue? The car starts up well at the twist of the key (normal cold start) but it doesn't start up too well after driving under hot cond. It hesitates during the 1st few cranks and eventually starts with a long crank up, struggling to bring the rpm to std idle. (Happens during a hot day only, wierd leh) After a few short rev ups and the car is back to normal. Could it be also that the fuel filter is clogged? Anyway, Is there anyone out there that could suggest me a reliable workshop which has the euipments to chk my ignition coil's working efficiency?

Desperado BlackSolBill

Jackie Leong

Dec 24, 2003
cooltechz.blogspot.com
my sohc vtec had the same problem.. rev it up then the needle just drops to around 500rpm almost shutting the engine off, then it goes back up to steady 900rpm.. went to an accesories shop (well, to change my light bulbs and stuff.. so i just ask them also what seems to be the problem).. the guy said the throttle body is dirty.. you might want to check on that?

i'm noob when it comes to cars, sorry if i'm wrong and couldn't help much :(

blacksolbill

Jan 3, 2005
Originally posted by Jackie Leong@Jan 23 2005, 12:31
my sohc vtec had the same problem.. rev it up then the needle just drops to around 500rpm almost shutting the engine off, then it goes back up to steady 900rpm.. went to an accesories shop (well, to change my light bulbs and stuff.. so i just ask them also what seems to be the problem).. the guy said the throttle body is dirty.. you might want to check on that?

i'm noob when it comes to cars, sorry if i'm wrong and couldn't help much :(
Thanks Jackie, no harm checking. Did the prob got rectified after cleaning the throttle body?

Jackie Leong

Dec 24, 2003
cooltechz.blogspot.com
well, i didn't really go clean up my throttle body cuz it only happens when i rev it during idle.. or when the car is at a standstill.. which i hardly do at all cuz petrol nowadays, mahal la :P :lol:

sorry about that :ph34r:

blacksolbill

Jan 3, 2005
Shud DIY coz in a long run, it might even damange further ur engine. And due to the inefficiency of ur throttle body, fuel consumption might be even higher.

mindef

Jan 21, 2005
Originally posted by Jackie Leong@Jan 23 2005, 12:31
rev it up then the needle just drops to around 500rpm almost shutting the engine off, then it goes back up to steady 900rpm..

hello guys...

i had this problem also untill now... when i pedal the throttle lets say 3000-4000rpm then release the throttle the rpm needle goes down 500rpm then rise back to normal 850rpm-900rpm.

What i did previously clean up the throttle body, change the throttle body with my friend, change new idling valve, change new plugs but it wont solve lah damn it. i donno what else to look for.

Anyone here had this problem b4 and solved this X-files problem mind to share with us :unsure:

greyrex

Mar 1, 2004
Georgetown
www.teamcrx.tk
For the fuel filter,you've got to get it changed about 50,000km if not mistaken unless you get a washable fuel filter.For your problems...looks like it's a couple of problem adds on together.Firstly,about the plugs,you mentioned that it were black in color for running your ride less than 30km...are you using the correct temp of plugs?Looks like you've got to get your injectors cleaned up and also the fuel filter changed.All this can be DIY and don't drop your injectors on the floor.Good luck bro and happy rexxing!

SiRCRX

Jan 18, 2004
Need a good mech to check this prob.
Possible cause :-
1. Sensors - one/some of them is/are about to kong
2. Butterfly - not so smooth anymore

I had this prob before long time ago , can't recall the actual culprit.

sleepy

Sep 7, 2004
distrubutor??
u have probs with this bugger here oso susah wanna start..
n its a famous honda prob.
mite wanna check it out..
just a thought.. mite be wrong.

blacksolbill

Jan 3, 2005
Damn its hard to solve....need Smoulder to check this out.

Greyrex,

my plug temps should be ok as I'm using NGK R BKN 6NII or something like that. Have been using the same plugs eversince. I'll try cleaning the injectors and replacing the fuel filter and will come back and advise. I think I'll DIY my Throttle also.

sirCRX,

Wat sensors were u referring to?

Sleepy,

I doubt its the distributor as it would be imposible to crank up the engine at 1 blow. I only have this problem when the engine is real hot.

Guess I'll go check with my old time Vtec Specialist (Sifu Basky) for his humble advice.

Rgds/blacksolbill

SiRCRX

Jan 18, 2004
BlackSol ,
I can't recall ..... bet might be those sensors related to Throttle / AF / idle / timing / thingy.
When I had the prob last time, my mech ( in Ktn ) solved it .
Rest assured, it has nothing to do with distributor, plug choice , plug cable
( as before this on the same set up you have no problem rite )
TQ

Note : a simple way for interim soln - adjust your timing a bit. It doesn't solve the problem, but gets the low rpm away .

greyrex

Mar 1, 2004
Georgetown
www.teamcrx.tk
Originally posted by blacksolbill@Jan 24 2005, 10:13
Damn its hard to solve....need Smoulder to check this out.

Greyrex,

my plug temps should be ok as I'm using NGK R BKN 6NII or something like that. Have been using the same plugs eversince. I'll try cleaning the injectors and replacing the fuel filter and will come back and advise. I think I'll DIY my Throttle also.

sirCRX,

Wat sensors were u referring to?

Sleepy,

I doubt its the distributor as it would be imposible to crank up the engine at 1 blow. I only have this problem when the engine is real hot.

Guess I'll go check with my old time Vtec Specialist (Sifu Basky) for his humble advice.

Rgds/blacksolbill
Good luck bro...keep us update.Cheers and happy rexxing! ;)

blacksolbill

Jan 3, 2005
Yeap...got it taken care off....the idle valve was the prob......juz need to get it cleaned. :D

blacksolbill

Jan 3, 2005
The only DIY-ing I did was bringin the car over to my Vtec surgeon, the rest was up to him. He took off the FICD...I think thats wat they call it.....and had it sprayed clean with his chemicals and air jet spray...nothing to it.....but I think the prob is still coming back.....experienced it last sat nite at the gathering.....(*&%$#&(^(*&^_#%^%#@!@) :angry:

ray6131

Jun 17, 2004
I hv the same prob as u guys mentioned,i did change 3 unit of throttle body,clean the injecter,change the plug cable n so on....but it seems solved after they did those thing that i mentioned above(only last for 1 or 2 weeks).i did noticed that is happend when u turn on the aircond....if the aircond is off...is look superb...

All the while i use to sent my car to Klang,so called Honda\Vtec Specialist (HH Auto),the guy damn gd in all kind of hondas...still not able to solve it...i also dont know where i should sent the next....

blacksolbill

Jan 3, 2005
Originally posted by ray6131@Jan 31 2005, 17:19
I hv the same prob as u guys mentioned,i did change 3 unit of throttle body,clean the injecter,change the plug cable n so on....but it seems solved after they did those thing that i mentioned above(only last for 1 or 2 weeks).i did noticed that is happend when u turn on the aircond....if the aircond is off...is look superb...

All the while i use to sent my car to Klang,so called Honda\Vtec Specialist (HH Auto),the guy damn gd in all kind of hondas...still not able to solve it...i also dont know where i should sent the next....
I'm not sure but this is just my theory....I started to have this prob since I last changed my aircond belt....as u mentioned, it only happens when the aircond unit is turned on....could it be that the belt is too tight? Is there a way to adjust the aircond belt tensioning? Opinions are welcomed!!

BTW, I take to this Vtec Specialist Surgeon in Old Klang Rd...if u want his contact, pm me.

Jackie Leong

Dec 24, 2003
cooltechz.blogspot.com
Originally posted by blacksolbill+Jan 31 2005, 20:35 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (blacksolbill @ Jan 31 2005, 20:35 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-ray6131@Jan 31 2005, 17:19

I'm not sure but this is just my theory....I started to have this prob since I last changed my aircond belt....as u mentioned, it only happens when the aircond unit is turned on....could it be that the belt is too tight? Is there a way to adjust the aircond belt tensioning? Opinions are welcomed!!

BTW, I take to this Vtec Specialist Surgeon in Old Klang Rd...if u want his contact, pm me. [/b][/quote]
i think you can adjust the tightness of the belt.. once saw the accessory shop that change my aircond compressor (not functioning well) loosen the belt and when installing it back, tell its worker to tighten/loosen it..

you can try it :)

hai ZTH...here I find de video how to rolling fender,I guess most people got problem wit de fender right...this de answer..

[youtube]DDTK9IjKIYU&mode=related&search=[/youtube]

if cannot play here de link...YouTube - diy fender rolling